14 Reviews

I agree with some of users that these were initially VERY dry. After adding a tablespoon or so of soy milk and a little agave nectar, they turned out quite well though. They are very tasty and my kids loved them!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kristina_garo October 01, 2013

These were very yummy - not too sweet and all three of my children loved them! I used spelt flour and 1/3 cup cocoa and EnerG egg replacer. I baked for 10 minutes as per the directions and they turned out slightly crunch on the outside and chewy on the inside - the best of both cookie worlds! I'll definitely keep this recipe on hand as they made a quick and easy lunchtime snack. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eco-eater October 21, 2008

Unfortunately I have to agree with another reviewer. There was not enough liquid in this recipe and i had to add an extra 1/3 cup of yogurt in addition to the egg. It was still extremely dry and when cooked it tasted just like cocoa and flour, it didn't rise or anything. I cut the cocoa down to 1/3 cup as other reviewers suggested. I used splenda and sugar free maple syrup, not sure what happened.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Demandy March 30, 2008

These were very yummy! I used oat flour for the regular flour, Splenda, about 1/3 cup cocoa as suggested. I also used sugar free maple syrup & over-baked mine just a little bit so they weren't as soft as I like!-but I baked mine in my toaster oven so I should've adjusted accordingly :-). These were a sweet, guiltless treat & thank you for sharing them!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LUVMY2BOYS February 12, 2008

These are very yummy! I've made two batches now. The first time I used tofu as an egg substitute. As the dough was very dry I did have to add water. Also, I took the advice of the others and used only 3/4 a cup of cocoa. The second time I followed directions exactly but I used half a banana for the egg substitute and added about a half a cup of nuts and 1/3 a cup of orange juice-the additions make for a nice nutty and fruity snack for anytime.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WonderTasteBuds February 04, 2008

I'm not sure if I did something wrong, but these cookies were gross, I actually had to throw everything away. They definately were not sweet enough and basically just tasted like cocoa and flour. My advice would be to add more suger and lose some of the cocoa if you choose to attempt this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lexischmexi November 07, 2006

The cookies are great! I love the fact that they're so healthy as well! However, I added in some egg albumen as the wet ingredients were not sufficient to moisten all the dry ingredients. Perhaps vegans could include another egg substitute to make up for the lack of wet ingredients.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
foodiequeen October 11, 2006

These cookies were great. I used all whole wheat flour, and they turned out fine. The amount of cocoa might have been a bit much, but they still tasted fine. Thank you for this recipe. I love sweet things, but I only like to indulge if they're free of fatty things.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tehparrot June 17, 2006

I was not sure what to expect of these cookies or what vegan cookies would be like in terms of texture. I added some unsweetened coconut, and lessened the sugar as suggested by the other reviewers. Moist and soft, good chocolatey taste. No guilt eating these!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lil'PG June 08, 2006

These have an intense chocolate flavor which I loved. I like the crunch of the oats in these too. I used maple flavored pancakes syrup instead of maple syrup so they turned out just a little sweet which I acutally quite liked. I'll definitey be making these again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LUv 2 BaKE June 04, 2006
Vegan Brownie-Oat Cookies