22 Reviews

Delicious - was looking for something vegan for a bake sale, but these are good by any standard. I added a cup of chopped pecans which made it taste just like banana nut bread and gave it some nice texture.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Erin M. April 12, 2014

This are delicious! To make them gluten free, we substituted Chickpea flower and it worked well. We added Trader Joe's vegan chocolate chips too and they added a nice flavor.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
acdmix March 08, 2013

love this recipe to use up one remaining banana and always have oats on hand, so thanks emerald. I reduced amount of sugar to one cup and used coconut oil. taste great. will try with applesauce too.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
itsvegan February 02, 2013

If you do two small bananas instead of 1 banana you will have a better result. Terrific cookies!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aroberts318 July 02, 2010

Wonderful cookies! Even better that they're healthy. My 4 year old even likes these treats and she's a tough sell :-) I made the recipe with 2 bananas and 1 cup brown sugar and added 1/2 cup raisins. I didn't flatten before baking and they turned out very moist and chewy. Thanks for sharing these great treats.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sarabelle May 27, 2010

Very good, healthy cookie. Cut sugars back to 1 cup. Very good almost overcooked, I like the brown crispy edges.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MelNTex April 25, 2010

I didn't taste the banana very much but they were delish. Next time I'll add another banana and cut down on the sugar & oatmeal by a bit. I didn't flatten them (kept them in balls) so they were crispy on the outside and moist on the inside

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kayterada October 05, 2009

This is my favorite cookie now! I love the taste and that they were going so fast. I like them for being moist and having oatmeal in them. I added one extra banana and cut down the sugar to one cup.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
littlemafia July 21, 2009

These were delicious! I made some small changes to make them healthier but they still tasted great. I used applesauce instead of oil and I cut the sugar down to 1 cup. My kids loved them. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim G. May 18, 2009

For such simple ingredients I'm amazed how good these are, and how quick. As one reviewer already said, vegan or not, these are great oatmeal cookies. For this review I made them exactly as per the recipe. They are tasty little gems. The dough was pretty sticky, I did flatten the mounds out on the baking sheet before they went in. Next time I'd roll into balls and then flatten out. I did manage to get 36 as the recipe indicates, pretty good considering how tasty the dough was :) . Next time round I would try to cut out that 1/2 cup of sugar and reduce the oil, maybe adding another banana as replacement. I will also try this with kamut or spelt flour. There is no end to the optional ingredients you could add. Thanks Esmerelda...they just came out of the oven and they're going fast!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
magpie diner April 02, 2009
Vegan Banana Oat Cookies