Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Vegan Banana Muffins Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Vegan Banana Muffins

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on May 22, 2012

      These were fantastic! I altered the recipe a bit, reducing the flour to 2 cups (all white, didn't have whole wheat on hand) and adding some quick-cook oatmeal and flaxseed to equal approx a 1/2 cup, and added about 1.5 cups of frozen blueberries. I also increased the baking soda and powder a bit, so about 1.5 tsp of each. It ended up making 24 muffins. They came out very moist, not dry AT ALL, and pretty dense, which I don't mind. They're delicious and filling. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2011

      I made these this morning for a play group. One of the girls has food allergies and I do not like baking things I know she can't have. I was very skeptical before baking them, as the batter was very thick. I used all whole wheat pastry flour and added some applesauce as I was a short a banana. They were delicious. The best vegan bread item I've ever had. (I have not had many but, still.) Everyone liked them, kids and adults. I sprinkled them w/ some organic sugar when they came out of the oven.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2011

      I subbed the cardamom for 1/2 teaspoon each of nutmeg and cloves. The dough was a bit thick, so I was worried they'd come out dry and heavy, but they were perfect! Thanks so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2010

      I have made this 3 times in the past week and these muffins are good!! I had to make a few substitutes because I didn't have ww flour and once only had 3 bananas (just used a bit more sugar and oil) I am not vegan and was a little skeptical and prepared for dry muffins but these were super moist (just don't overcook them like i did the first time!) and they were good for days after. i also added fresh strawberries (local and in season) and this made them even more amazing!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2010

      Love these! I use 3 bananas instead of 4, turbinado sugar, and whole wheat pastry flour instead of the white. I also add a couple of handfuls of walnuts and chocolate chips, drop them by tablespoonfuls onto a cookie sheet, sprinkle with flaxseed and bake for about 15-17 minutes. So they're more like muffin tops or cookies than muffins. Delish! Never fail to please! Actually, they're pretty addictive!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2009

      I really like this recipe. It's easy and most people will have everything on hand. These muffins are light and remind me of a good loaf of banana bread. The cardamom may be a little strong for some -- but we had no problem with it at our house (including my 3 year old). I think it adds to the overall flavor -- but you could easily cut it back. Great recipe -- thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2009

      These muffins are terrific. They were simple enough to make with my children! I did take a little creative license and added earth balance stick margarine instead of oil (which reduced the salt to 1/4 t), I added applesauce because I only had 3 bananas, added allspice instead of suggested spices, and used all sifted whole wheat flour. They were fun and VERY tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2009

      Very easy, delicious, and vegan!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2009

      These were very easy and good! I added 2 ounces of leftover chocolate chips, and the muffins taste like candy bars. Super good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2009

      I just made these (I'm eating one warm as I type!) They are lovely, just perfect in every way. The texture is lovely, a little cakey but not at all too dense. I didn't find them too "baking soda-ey" tasting as another chef had mentioned. I think they would be delicious with a little jam or something sweet spread on them, and they could definetly handle having some walnuts added for extra crunch. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2009

      Great! Made them this morning.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2008

      These were very good, light and delicious. I substituted 1/2 cup of natural unsweetened applesauce and 1.5 tablespoons of vegetable oil for the oil. I didn't have cardamom so I just added some more cinnamon. I also added carob chips. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2008

    • on February 08, 2008

    • on October 07, 2007

      I love this recipe! These muffins make an awesome grab-on-the-go hearty breakfast. I made this last batch substituting the 1/2 c oil for 1/2 c unsweetened applesauce plus 1 T canola oil to make them lower in fat but still a nice texture. I also added in some ginger powder and used 1/2 T of each spice. I used oat flour instead of white because I happened to have some on hand. I also use maple syrup as the sweetener. The extra liquid seems to help with stirring. I did add 1/2 cup of chopped raw walnuts- so much for my low fat idea! But, really, what's a banana muffin without its walnuts!? Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2007

      At work today my boss was complaining that I hadn't baked anything in awhile. I didn't have much on hand but I had just bought 4 bananas that afternoon. I did a search for vegan banana muffins (because I knew I had no milk, eggs or butter at work)and found this recipe. I subbed applesauce for most of the oil (used only 2 Tbsp oil) and used all whole wheat pastry flour, and 1/3 cup of fructose because I had no brown sugar or syrup. I added 1/3 cup of Eat Well, Be Well brand sugar free chocolate chips. I wasn't expecting much, since I had only whole wheat flour (even though it was pastry flour) and I subbed out most of the oil. I was extremely surprised to see how light & fluffy they came out! They were fantastic, especially since I was just using up odds & ends that I had on hand. I only got 9 muffins because I baked them in a Muffin Magic muffin maker, which makes 3 at a time and also bakes them in 1/2 the time of a regular oven. They were HUGE! I definitely could have gotten 12 from the recipe but I was expecting them to be denser and not rise the way they did. Next time I make them I won't change anything I did, except make them slightly smaller. With my substitutions, each muffin came out to only 224 calories and about 5g of fat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2006

      I made this recipe using canola oil instead of veg. I also replaced the cardamom with more cinnamon and added a little vanilla. The texture is wonderful-especially for a vegan baked good,-very tender and light. The only negative was that they have a bit of an unpleasant baking soda-y taste, especially if eaten warm. When allowed to cool it mostly goes away. I will definitely use this recipe again but will try it with a touch less baking soda next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2006

      this recipe is great. the only thing i did different was 1 c white & 1 1/2 cups whole wheat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2006

      these muffins were delicious! I needed a recipe for a friend with an egg allergy and these couldn't have been any better. I baked them at 400 degrees for the first 10 minutes, so that the tops would get a nice dome; then I lowered the oven to 350 and continued to cook them until done. I will be making these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2006

      Loved the blender idea!!! This went together lovely!! I have not ate any yet as these are for work. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Vegan Banana Muffins

    Serving Size: 1 (84 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 242.2
     
    Calories from Fat 86
    35%
    Total Fat 9.6 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 1.2 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 284.0 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.4 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 13.7 g
    55%
    Protein 3.4 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes