9 Reviews

How can you use poultry seasoning in a vegan recipe?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cydonia June 26, 2010

These are nice - I wanted something different to do with tofu. I like the crisp breading. Even DH liked them. I only made one package of tofu, so I cut the recipe down. I did run out of bread crumbs - maybe I didn't measure right. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ranch-girl June 07, 2009

Surprisingly enough, I didn't really like these. I'm not going to give them any stars this time and try to tinker with the recipe. I think the biggest thing is that I should have frozen and thawed the tofu first. I thought the poultry seasoning was overpowering, too. I think next time I'll skip the cornstarch and just marinade the thawed tofu in the broth.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VegeTara May 13, 2009

These were good, but not fantastic--just my personal taste preference. I would like to try some different variations on the marinade flavoring. Thickening it made it stick nicely to the strips. It was very easy to make. It took 20-25 minutes of resting in the oven for the strips to crisp up, but they did crisp to a nice fish-stick-like texture.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jujubegirl May 12, 2009

These were pretty good. The soy sauce/balsamic "marinade" was really good though it didn't really come out when I ate the strips. I enjoyed these a lot but not a standout in our house.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EmilyStrikesAgain February 10, 2009

i made this recipe for thanksgiving for my tofu-hating meat-eating family and they really liked it! i only wish that i had given it more time to let it "tuffin' up" a little more than i did, i will know that for future makes of this recipe... very good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Inklefritz19 December 08, 2008

These were great. Well seasoned and can be eaten alone. Or dipped in ketchup if you are like me. Very quick and easy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vigilant20 February 15, 2008

I slightly pressed the drained tofu a bit and rubbed a little extra poultry seasoning onto the tofu strips before dipping and breading (so the tofu would bake to be a little firmer). Wonderful results in such a short amount of time!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~DiZzY~ February 22, 2007

Am rating this on the technique rather than the marinade as I used my own (with vinegar, garlic, dill and cayenne pepper from some pickled green beans that I really enjoyed). I also let the tofu marinate for about 1 hour before I added the cornstarch and cooked the wet coating and omitted the poultry seasoning (didn't have any) from the panko. I used the wet/dry hand method which worked quite well. Although I thought the dill was kind of weird, BF and I both liked the texture of this tofu. It was crispier on the bottom, though, so you might want to turn them at least once during cooking. Next time I try this I will use the recommended marinade. Any dipping sauce would work very well with this tofu. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kumquat the Cat's friend December 28, 2006
Vegan Baked Tofu Strips