27 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

i made this today, and wow! it's amazing how much like bacon it tastes to me! i did have issues with the tofu going soft when i poured on the soy and smoke, and i started with cracker crisp strips of tofu. however, it did crisp back up again with a bit of cooking. i'm a reluctant vegetarian (dr's orders!) and bacon is the thing i miss the most. but boy, this is excellent! and totally satisfied my bacon craving!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
unrulyhedgehog June 10, 2010

Delicious. Just like bacon! I've made these twice. The first time I used plenty of oil to fry the tofu. The second time I didn't use hardly any. You need the oil to get the right texture. So easy to make. We ate them with BLT's and again with vegan mac n' cheese. I could have licked the pan I cooked them in. Thought about it for a second but realized that I would probably burn myself & decided to reserve a bit of dignity.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
megpell78 November 19, 2008

Excellent! I saw this and wanted to try right away even though I didn't have liquid smoke. I made only a couple of slices until I go to the store for the liquid smoke. I was shocked at how good it was and cooked a panful more. I think the nutritional yeast really adds to the bacon-y taste and I know the liquid smoke will make it even better. I didn't care for any tempeh bacon recipes I've tried and didn't think tofu bacon would work at all. I was so wrong. A great vegan recipe to keep!!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vegan Foodie December 22, 2012

Oh my goodness! I tried tofu on my husband about 16 years ago and he was so traumatized that the thought of it turns him green. I recently decided to go vegan and bring the family along for the ride and this was my first try at tofu as a main ingredient. hubby saw me making this and immediately wanted to go to the store for real bacon, but i told him how well it was rated on this site and convinced him to try it. he took his BLT into the dining room and a few minutes later came back with a clean plate asking for more! SUCCESS!!!! my 13 year old son ate two before i told him they were made with tofu. he was shocked! later, caught hubby eating the leftover "bacon" right out of the pan. The only thing i did different was use half of the liquid smoke that the recipe calls for. Thanks so much for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Lizzie February 11, 2013

Wonderful! The texture is exactly like the bacon I remember growing up! A few things I changed though. 2 tbsp was too salty for me! I only used half. I also tasted it just before adding the yeast and it still tasted great! You do lose a bit of flavour but it still tastes really great in case you can't get your hands on the yeast. Also, I cut my strips REALLY thin, and six minutes on each side was enough. You do want them crispy as possible (able to stand up straight with no wilting when held in the air.) One last thing; as with any tofu recipe it really helps the texture if you freeze and thaw the before cooking it. Great recipe! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amber E. January 22, 2014

So I ate some bacon today. For the first time in several years. Oh, I know it may have looked like fried tofu with some seasonings on it, but no, it was bacon. Seriously though, if you're a vegetarian, you know that there are NO good bacon substitutes. The texture, flavor, crispiness, none of it can be replicated. Although it turns out it CAN be! My girlfriend and I were stunned by this recipe. Stunned. I created my account simply to put in this review because it was so good I had to say something.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
snakewind August 12, 2013

Well, well, well...what a surprise! I just had the best blt ever, using your recipe. I'm not a vegetarian, but like to eat healthy food and bacon isn't really on the healthy list. I will make this again and again for sandwiches and as a mix-in in other recipes. Thanks for sharing this keeper recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview July 25, 2013

Delicious! Tried-n-true recipe I've been making for over 20 years. Some tips: use a cast iron pan and no oil. Trust- it won't stick.<br/><br/>Keep in mind that some people are a little... sensitive to nutritional yeast. Can produce the most powerful yet painless gas known to man.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MonAccount May 30, 2013

I love this! perfect for BLT's or anything that asks for bacon.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ldywryr September 22, 2012

Wow, amazing. I just cant believe how some people can put certain ingredients together to come up with stuff like this. But I am glad you do. It was so so very tasty. Will definitely make again and again. Hard to give up bacon but with a recipe like this, I can still have a BLT and a tasty breakfast sandwich. Hooray to the person who created this!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JeannieG June 30, 2012
Vegan Bacon