Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Vegan Almond Biscotti Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Vegan Almond Biscotti

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on August 19, 2014

      I was pleasantly surprised at how wonderful this recipe was. I thought for sure with the applesauce that they would have some sort of funny texture. But no. The texture was very traditional for biscotti- perfect. The only thing that I did differently was use just 1 cup of toasted, chopped almonds. I found 1 1/2 cups to be too much for the dough to hold together well. 1 cup was perfect. GREAT vegan biscotti recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2011

      A perfect recipe! I needed biscotti (as normal biscuits would not work) because a friend of mine had given me a bottle of Italian liqueur-wine. I made the biscuits to dip in the wine. Absolute heaven!

      I followed the recipes quite closely, except I used less sugar. I didn't have any all purpose flour either, but it worked well with plain flour and baking powder.

      The result was a genuine authentic Italian biscotti. To my mind, a very well developed effective recipe. Why would anyone want to add egg to it (:

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2011

      Awesome recipe! This whips up a lot quicker than the tradition egg biscotti with the same flavor and texture. I used 1 cup sugar 1/2 cup Stevia in the Raw, and I added 1 cup chocolate chips instead of almonds. I will definitely be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2011

      Made these last night and they were amazing! The dough was very sticky and I was somewhat skeptical, but they turned out great. I did have to put the pans in one at a time because they were baking unevenly, but other that the recipe was spot on. Also, I'm watching my calories so I cut out 1/2 of the sugar and added a bit more almond extract - still sweet and delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2011

      Just made my first batch of biscottis!! This recipe is fairly easy to follow and I also checked on "Youtube" to see how the Italians chefs shape and cut the loaves. No veggie oil in the cupboards so I used 3 tbs of olive oil instead. These vegan biscottis turned out wonderfully and are so tasty!!! I will make them again very soon and experiment with variations such as: spelt or kamut flour, cranberries, raisins, reduce the amount of sugar, cut them diagonally and use only 1 tbs of oil. Thank you for posting this wonderful recipe - Gracias!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2011

      These are wonderful. I made them for a party (so that I knew there was a desert for me!). Everyone enjoyed them. My one friend said they were the best biscotti she ever had. I used my chinese cooking knife to slice. Any knife that is sharp and bigger than the logs will do. You want to make a clean cut straight down. Don't try to slice you'll end up in trouble. I made the basic recipe this time. I can't wait to start making variations. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2010

      I have made this recipe about a dozen times and it's very difficult to perfect. The only change I made was to use white unbleached spelt flour.. for me it is quite doughy and I always have trouble. They crack when I slice them, I've found using my bread knife lightly is best. Next time I make this I will use slightly less applesauce, only as much as is needed to make it into a dry dough. I may even try missing out the oil. I have made chocolate and hazelnut, and pistachio and lemon. with success. The cocoa in particular improves the texture, giving it more lightness. I have also sliced them very thin and that made a crispy hard biscuit. Too thick and they were too doughy. Making a thin log about 10-15 cm was best for me. I tried long ones but they remained doughy in the middle regardless of cook time and heat. Thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2009

      These were delicious. Perfect texture, hold up to coffee dunking, and tasted great. Will expirement with flavors using this base!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2009

      These worked out great! I used hazelnuts instead of almonds, used 2t of vanilla, 1t of orange zest and 1t of anise seeds. My DH, who does not like most biscotti, loves these. I plan to make them for Christmas gifts this year.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2008

      Easy recipe, will make again by using different nuts and maybe adding raisins or cranberries too! I used 1 cup AP flour, 1 cup whole wheat flour and 1 cup hazelnut meal. Reduced sugar to 3/4 cup. Left out vanilla and almond extract. And it still turned out fab!! Nutty flavour for a nut lover like me :) Thanks for sharing this great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2007

      These are fantastic! I will definitely make them again. If you like the flavour of the orange zest addition, try substituting Cointreau or Grand Marnier (orange liqueur) for the almond extract -- heavenly!! Also, if you don't have whole wheat pastry flour, you can use regular whole wheat flour with white pastry flour, and it will still work!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2007

      Very Good! I like to make these with the zest of one orange and only 1 cup of almonds! Great with tea!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2007

      I've always wanted to try biscotti but never did (because of the egg content). These were exactly how I'd imagined them to be--and better! My husband loved these and was overwhelmed because he ordinarily doesn't enjoy biscotti. The whole wheat flour is a must in this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2007

      These are really good and subtle. They are perfect with tea/coffee and would be great dipped in chocolate. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2007

      I was never a big Biscotti fan until i made these for some friends. I ate so many of them it was crazy. Now I make at least once a month.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2007

      I made these and everyone who has eaten them love them. How nice to see a Vegan Biscotti recipe. I used sunflower oil instead of veggie oil, and they turned out delicious. Great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2007

      This is great! Silly me, I forgot to put the extracts in, and the biscotti were still great, and very almondy. My husband has been missing some of his favorite "before" foods--like biscotti. He raved about these!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2006

      WOW! Vegan or not...just plain good. I added dried friut and chocolate. Then almonds and anise extract. Easy to manipulate. I did one large log for bigger biscotti. WONDERFUL!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2006

      Awesome taste and loved by the whole family

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2005

      This recipe is fantastic. I already had "Nonna's Italian cookbook", but had never tried this recipe and am so happy to have discovered it. My friends could not believe I had made those biscottis myself, the result looked so professional!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Vegan Almond Biscotti

    Serving Size: 1 (1097 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 97.8
     
    Calories from Fat 28
    29%
    Total Fat 3.2 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 74.2 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.0 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    4%
    Sugars 8.2 g
    32%
    Protein 2.1 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes