Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Veg-Head Three-Bean Chili Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Veg-Head Three-Bean Chili

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on March 24, 2013

      Just started getting into beans...what a great intro! This one is a winner! Loved the refried beans addition. I added a whole can and made it with black beans as I don't like kidney. I also added 3/4 tbsp cayenne pepper instead of a full tbsp. For the beer, I used a whole bottle of Sam Adams Boston Lager. Delish! I let it cook for about an hour. It was equally delicious the next day-if not better! So easy to make as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2010

      I've made this 3 times and will make it frequently because it's a favorite of my daughter, who doesn't even like chili! I think the refried beans adds to the texture. I preferred the taste using fire roasted tomatoes (pureed) instead of crushed. I used 1 tbs. of Penzey's Bold Taco Seasoning and beer for the liquid. Thanks so much for posting.
      Roxygirl

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2009

      Really nice flavors. I omitted the salt and added some cayenne pepper too - nice bite! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2009

      A nice take on chili...I have been trying all different (all vegetarian) potions these past few winters and this caught my attention with the addition of refried...oh -boyo; :) a great twist...adds a ton of creaminess...I doctored a can of veg-refried that hubby brought home added some hot diced peppers, homemade salsa...gosh whateverall to it (brought me back to my college apartment living days when that kind of a can of beans would be a meal for days) so my re-fries were good enough to eat and enjoy by them selves (i never put anything in a big pot that does not taste good alone) I played with the proportions...used the whole doctored can, doubled on veggies using both red and green pepper, extra garlic, two kinds of hot pepper (jalapeno and ??? {{can never keep names straight}} ) :)...used spicy homemade vegetable stock (alcohol free house right now) and about two cups of that and a bunch of my own hot pepper flacks and dried bits in addition to the suggested spices....super good; & as good chili should be IMO, better the next day after the flavors had married overnite :) - had a real nice kick to it:)...served it with savory scones (Very Tasty Cheesy Cheddar and Oat Scones) and over a nutty couscous... so chunky and creamy it need no toppings at all- thanks for the recipe share!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2009

      Very nice veggie chili! I had to make a few subs, based on what I had: 1) two 14. oz cans of diced tomatoes instead of the 32 oz. crushed, 2) chicken broth (I know it's not veggie, but I had no veggie sock and am allergic to alcohol), and 3) half as much chili powder. I also omitted the salt, as I need to watch my sodium intake, used twice the amount of (non-spicy) refried beans since we like our chili really thick. and didn't seed the jalapeno since it was on the small side and we like the heat. Even with all these changes, it was wonderful!! Thanks for sharing! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2008

      Yum! Loved the addition of the refried beans which made this creamy and filling. Left out the jalapeno, and reduced the hot chili powder to 1 T. Still very spicy. Next time I'd double the kidney beans because I like chunkier chili and this "gravy" could definitely handle some more beans. Flavorful & filling.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2008

      This is a Rachel Rae 30-Minute Meals recipe, and it's so good! Even my omnivorous roommates love it. I skip the jalapeno because I think it's spicy enough as it is, and I put hot sauce on the table for those who want more kick. It's great for a crowd and freezes brilliantly. It's one of my favorite fall/winter recipes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2008

      very good! I used fire roasted crushed tomatoes for a deeper flavor. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2002

      I've tried other vegetarian chilis and they never had the filling that this one did. Very tasty! And will satisfy the urge for some chili without having to worry about the meat. Very good meal:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Veg-Head Three-Bean Chili

    Serving Size: 1 (406 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 422.5
     
    Calories from Fat 164
    38%
    Total Fat 18.2 g
    28%
    Saturated Fat 8.5 g
    42%
    Cholesterol 35.6 mg
    11%
    Sodium 1020.3 mg
    42%
    Total Carbohydrate 43.6 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 13.0 g
    52%
    Sugars 8.2 g
    32%
    Protein 22.2 g
    44%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetarian refried beans

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites