20 Reviews

This was fabulous! I was unable to get veal, but subbed turkey breast cutlets pounded thinly and they worked out very well indeed. The sauce is really the key - it is so tasty and decadent - and very lemony. Perfect - just as scrumptious as I have been served in my favorite Italian restaurant. Sometimes it is these simpler recipes that are simply the best. Thanks!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeatherFeather March 21, 2003

EXCELLANT!!! Better than our local restaurants serve here in my town. I used the Francaise recipe, served it with linguine and also added capers suggested by other reviews. I think next time I will try it with mushrooms and dry wine as one reviewer did. My husband really enjoyed it and I can't believe it was so easy. I think I will also double the ingredients for the sauce since it was so delicious with the pasta.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
colleenannford December 21, 2009

I made this dish for me and my dad. We loved it. We ate the whole thing and he's 87 yrs old! It was that good. thank you Chia for an easy and delicious recipe, we will have this again soon.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
casey 56 December 28, 2003

This a wonderful dish! I used veal and made the picata exactly as Chia wrote the recipe. It turned out so nice and my whole family loved it. I served the picata with penne pasta and steamed green beans. Thanks Chia!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hey Jude May 01, 2003

This is so good and so easy. I dredged my veal in a mixture of parmesan cheese and Italian bread crumbs. Delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mpumphrey1 October 31, 2014

Just made it tonight for my son and my husband. It was excellent and I didn't change a thing. It was so easy to make! The lemon sauce was great! I will definitely put it in my favorites list!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Margy923 December 18, 2013

Made this (mostly) with wonderful veal cutlets. Didn't have fresh parsley (mine had gone south). But did everything else, and added capers and just a touch of heavy cream to the sauce. Neither of us could stop eating this until it was all gone!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dijimbiggs December 10, 2010

I made this tonight and my husband and little girl loved it! I loved it and it was so easy too. I used the piccata recipe and just added about a tbsp of capers as someone else recommended. I served it with angel hair with butter and parmesan cheese, salad and steamed broccoli. It was delicious, pretty and easy! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
babytoothdoc October 21, 2009

excellent, I added mushrooms to the pan of veal initially and a little dry white wine when reducing

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
glennandcarol2 September 28, 2009

This is a wonderful recipe and I love the fact that you can play around with it. Although you would not want to do too much, as the beauty of the dish is its simplicity with a wonderful end result. I made with all the ingredients chia listed and just added some cayenne to the flour mix, about 4 tablespoons of dry white wine to the sauce along with 1 tablespoon of chopped capers as had other reviewers used. This got an oh my god from my hubby, who just kept saying how this meal, was just what he felt like. I think it is a perfect sauce and a great way to cook veal. I served it over fresh vegetables sauteed in a little butter and garlic. This is a simple meal with a fantastic end result that makes a great mid week meal, but would also impress any dinner guest who would think a lot more time had gone into it. Thanks chia for another great one!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Flying Chef October 27, 2008
Veal Piccata//Veal Francaise