Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Veal Osso Buco Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Veal Osso Buco

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on February 17, 2004

      My husband loves Osso Bucco but it is something neither of us has ever made before. I promised him we would try this out for Valentine's Day, so this was our romantic meal ;) The only alteration made was to decrease the olive oil to about 1 1/2 tablespoons. That was enough to cook the mirepoix and not leave an overly greasy taste. I cooked in the oven for 2 1/2 hours. The meat was wonderfully tender and words aren't sufficient to describe the delicious flavor. Served over rice with salad, bread and a bottle of wine at a candlelight table. Better than any restaurant could offer. Thanks Rita L. Way beyond 5-stars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2006

      I tried this in an Italian Resturant year ago. They specialize in Osso Bucco and is one of my favorite dishes. This is the best receipe yet.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2003

      This is a great recipe.Very tender and full of flavor. I used beef shank in place of the veal shank and added two fresh Italian tomatoes chopped to the recipe.Served it with mashed potatoes on the side. My family loved it. Thanks for the great recipe. JJ

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2003

      Outstanding! Rates 6 stars! Very tender and a wonderful flavor. The only thing I'd change next time is to saute the mirepoix in 1 tbs olive oil rather than 1/4 cup (4 tbs.) as the dish was greasier than necessary. After about 2 hours cooking time, I added 2 large potatoes, quartered, on top of the veal shanks, and they were done and delicious, after a total cooking time of 3 hours. Because this is a rich dish, a light salad and bread would complete the meal. This is a winner. Thanks for sharing, Rita!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2012

      My husband loved this. It took three hours. I used bacon as I don't have pancetta. The anchovies and olives make it! We took out the bones after three hours, and cleaned the gristle off the meat, and ran the gristle through the hand blender, and put the creamed gristle back in to thicken the stock.

      Read more at: http://www.food.com/recipe/veal-osso-buco-54107?oc=linkback

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2010

      forgot one thing. only use a touch of olive oil. u only need when sauteeing veggies- 1/4 c way too much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2009

      Perfection!!! This was the first time I had ever had Osso Buco and I served it to my friend the butcher (how is that for intimidation!!) After reading the other suggestions, I only used about 2 T of the olive oil. I did use the white wine and I thought it made the dish. I cooked my dish for 2-1/2 hours and had to add a bit more wine, but that was because of the size of my roaster. I took the roaster out and let it sit on the counter for about 10 minutes with the meat still surrounded by the veggies. The slurry was not needed, as far as I was concerned...but, the Germolata is a must!! I served this with Buttermilk Baked Tomatoes, Risotto and grilled bell peppers. Comfort food as its best!!! The table was pretty quiet as we all enjoyed the rich goodness...yummers!!! Rita...kudos on you for finding this wonderful keeper!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2008

      This is an absolutely divine recipe. I did have to make a few changes to the recipe due to a recent heart attack and being on a strict Low Fat cardiac diet, so this was my treat. I did not add any pork or pork fat to the dish and used very little salt and used low sodium low fat stock, but other than that I kept the rest of the recipe as written. I was empted to use a leaner cut of veal but that would not be Osso Buco and I kept all other meals for the day to a minimum of fat to compensate for the extra fat in the dish. I cooked it for 3 hours and the meat was so tender that it literally fell away from the bone and melts in your mouth and the flavor imparted by the anchovies and Chardonnay to the mirepoix is indescribable. I added polenta and fresh vegetables and served with a small glass of Pomegranate Blueberry juice. Thanks for sharing this keeper recipe that I will be making again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2008

      A bit of effort, but more than worth it - an excellent recipe. Couple it with a wild mushroom risotto and it is an incredible dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2005

      This was delicious! Followed the recipe exactly except I subbed bacon for pancetta, since I didn't have any. This is definitely a keeper. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2005

      This was certainly very tasty and made a wonderful meal with Mashed Potatoes with Proscuitto and Parmesan Cheese #24554. My DH who cooked it, though, ranks it 4 stars because the recipe doesn't stipulate when to add the pancetta, and he feels that less experienced cooks might not realise that 'mirepoix' is a culinary term for "a mixture of equal amounts of finely diced carrot, onion, and celery". Nevertheless, it is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2004

      Oh my... I wasn't sure what to expect as my only experience with veal wasn't pleasant. This was incredible! Extremely flavorful and the meat was very tender. I added quite a bit more thyme, (probably doubled), and due to an oven mishap, (don't ask...), I ended up simmering it on the stove for about 3 hours. Exquisite.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2004

      ok husband loved it! Rare lol so its a def 5 star - served it with fresh asparagus and risotto #37801. Its amazing together, however stay clear of adding to much salt to either one as together its very salty ( but I would lick a salt block so I loved it too ) :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2004

      woohoo this was excellent. followed recipe exactly except recipe didnt say what to do with the cooked pancetta so I just tossed it into the pot before I put in the oven. Doing low/no carbs so just ate the veal shanks in a pasta bowl and slurped up the rich tasty gravy. Had a side of sauteed spinach with garlic but sure would have loved a side of jersey beefstakes out of RitaL garden to make this meal complete. Cooked the shanks in the oven for almost 3 hrs. Fork tender and delicous. A definite keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Veal Osso Buco

    Serving Size: 1 (356 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 527.2
     
    Calories from Fat 237
    45%
    Total Fat 26.3 g
    40%
    Saturated Fat 5.4 g
    27%
    Cholesterol 216.9 mg
    72%
    Sodium 720.8 mg
    30%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.4 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 2.7 g
    10%
    Sugars 4.4 g
    17%
    Protein 58.1 g
    116%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    pancetta

    fresh thyme

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites