9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

WHOOOOOeee great recipe -easy and so good - I was lucky to find some lovely veal chops. Could not find cremini mushrooms so I used Portobello mushrooms sliced in apprx 1/2" slices. Absolutely great, The touch of nutmeg is important. Thanks Chai for a great easy tasty recipe!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bergy April 08, 2003

Oh Boy Chia!! I seem to be making more and more of your recipes, you have some great ones, as is this one! Fairly simple and such tastey results. I hunted and just could not find veal chops for this, so I used some beautiful Lamb chops, nice thick ones, because I used lamb I did not use the tarragon and nutmeg, I used some lamb spices. A mix of rosemary, garlic,margoram,thyme, oragano, mint and sweet basil. I thought the lamb needed something stronger. I will be looking for some veal chops to make this as instructed. In any case the mushroom sauce was outstanding!! This recipe is definately going into my hard copy, thanks for sharing.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Derf April 06, 2003

Delicious recipe!! My husband really enjoyed it! I used veal cutlets and veal chops but found that the recipe worked better with the cutlets. The sauce was fantastic as well. I did not have heavy cream so I just left it out. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alove4food November 08, 2011

My husband likes evertything plain but he said that this one was a keeper!! Yeah

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
weezie015 September 08, 2011

Fantastic! Thank you Chia! I didn't have veal chops and used blade steaks (TasteTaster - thanks for the suggestion). Otherwise, I followed the recipe to the letter (except begin more generous on tarragon). The mushroom sauce was very smooth, had great color, and TASTE. The nutmeg gave it a kick. I will try it with veal chops for sure.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rpmazur September 07, 2010

This is truly awesome and such an easy and quick dish. I had some beautiful loin chops and baby bella mushrooms that were used for the recipe. The mushroom sauce is to die for. This was served with a green salad and Asparagus, Oven-Roasted for a wonderful Valentine dinner.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG February 14, 2010

I made this using 2 veal chops but made almost the same amount of sauce & only regular mushrooms sliced. Tarragon from my windowsill. This was really easy & quick with wonderful results. I had a "This is really good" twice! equivalent of 10 stars. I will certainly make this again and I am sure I could adapt it to work with veal steak. Thanks Chia.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elkaybee November 14, 2009

This recipe was simply delicious! I didn't have any regular veal chops, only veal blade steaks, but I braised them for an hour in chicken stock, and then followed your recipe for the mushroom sauce. I used some regular mushrooms and they worked out well. We all loved the sauce -- next time I'll double it to pour over some rice. In fact, it was so good I'm going to put veal chops on my shopping list this week so we can have it again in the next few days! Thanks for sharing this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TasteTester September 30, 2007

I knew this was a winner and saved it up for a great moment. Not a bit disappointed! I got the double-thick veal chops and broke out the hoarded, frozen chanterelles I'd found during the rare wet summer. Served it with creamed spinach and polenta. My husband said, licking his chops (literally), that this would easily be $25.00 per order in a fine restaurant. Thanks, Chia!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marietta Mary Lou December 23, 2004
veal chops with mushrooms