Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Varsity Chili for Hot Dogs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Varsity Chili for Hot Dogs

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on July 17, 2006

      I have to second this -- I went to school at Georgia Tech, and I practically lived off the Varsity. All I need now is a recipe for Varsity Whipped Oranges!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2006

      Having moved away from Atlanta, I dearly miss the Varisty and all of the greasy wonderful food they serve up. This tasted exactly like the real deal!! Thanks so much for sharing!!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2014

      Ok I grew up in Athens and have eaten so many all the way dawgs, chili cheese steaks and rings I could fill a truck up with them but I am sorry this recipe is NOT Greasy V chili, now I like cumin but cant say I have tasted any at the V.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2014

      I also grew up in Atlanta. The first thing I want to do on return trips is go to the Varsity. Chili dogs, frosted orange drink and fried onion rings. All to die for.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2012

      Having grown up in Atlanta, a trip to the Varsity was almost a weekly occurrence. This recipe is amazingly like the chili I remember. We used ancho chili powder and a chili mix from Fresh Market because that's what we had on had. You can tinker with the types of chili powder and mix to get the flavor you like best. Also cooked on stove top to cut the time down some. Really great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2010

      Awesome hotdog chili! I used the "Hot" chili seasoning packet for a bit of a bite, it was excellent. Also, cooked it on top of the stove, (just for time sake) adding more water and simmered over med heat for about 1 hr. Turned out great - really is just like the Varsity chili!!! Thanks for a great recipe! BC - An Atlanta Native

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2009

      Having never eaten at the Varsity, I just wanted an easy chili for hot dogs. As stated, very easy to make. Added a bit more water when I mixed everything in the crockpot because everything looked kind of dry. Overall very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2009

      This is the very best chili recipe I have ever tried. It not only is fantastic with hot dogs but is great as a dip.we tried a little fiesta blend cheese,and tortillia chipe,and could not stop eating.also great over eggs and over french fries.I cannot thank you enough for this wonderfull recipe Lorene

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2006

      I had to double up on the recipe for a large work function. I thought the taste was a little bland, needed more tomato flavor. To me it tasted a little dry and chalky. For timing reasons I had to leave it on low overnight, perhaps that had an effect. Probably wouold try another recipe next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Varsity Chili for Hot Dogs

    Serving Size: 1 (120 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 18

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 188.6
     
    Calories from Fat 95
    50%
    Total Fat 10.6 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 4.1 g
    20%
    Cholesterol 65.5 mg
    21%
    Sodium 241.4 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 1.9 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 0.3 g
    1%
    Protein 20.6 g
    41%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    chili seasoning mix

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes