16 Reviews

Quite the tasty recipe without having to use much salt- the sauce definitely carries the dish well. I did everything in a single wok so I could get the tasty brown bits from the chicken when I added the sauce ingredients- scrape the bottom a bit to get them into the sauce, its worth it. My wife is allergic to mushrooms so I halved the chicken and sauce before adding mushrooms- both portions turned out excellent. The non-mushroom portion reduced even more in the oven since it had less water content (because of the mushrooms), and was quite tasty too. I served it on a bed of egg noodles, rice would definitely mop up every last bit of juice too.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rätsel Feinschmecker July 08, 2012

We really enjoyed this thank you. I made a half recipe and chose to cook my mushrooms in the butter/oil mix after I took the chicken pieces out. I spooned it over the chicken then went on to step 5. I hate un-fried mushrooms as I think they are sort of spongy LOL. We ate this over polenta with a side salad of grilled fennel, baby leaves, red onion and parmesan. I wanted to photograph this but couldn't find my camera after a few days away and my dinner was getting cold!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JustJanS August 07, 2009

This was pretty tasty! I halved the recipe, used boneless skinless chicken breasts, left out the mushrooms, and used a can of diced tomatoes in place of the fresh ones. Served with buttered fettuccine noodles and roasted cauliflower. DH loved it and said he thought it tasted like the sauce on his father's stuffed cabbage recipe, and he specifically requested that we have this again. Thank you for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karabea November 06, 2009

Nice chicken recipe. I used drumsticks and omitted the salt and butter. Very nice flavor. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Starrynews March 18, 2009

This has a lovely flavor. I had some carrots to use up and put those in also. I did it in the crock pot and used 2 15-oz cans of diced tomatoes. Since I simmered it, I didn't use any of the olive oil or butter. Served with mashed potatoes with sour cream. Yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pattikay in L.A. November 17, 2008

Wonderful chicken recipe! We used boneless skinless chicken breasts and baby bella mushrooms since I prefer them. Instead of the sherry we substituted chicken broth and a large can of petite diced tomaotes for the fresh. The sauce was so good and the chicken very moist and tender. Served with brown rice and and steamed veggies. Thank you for posting hon! Made and reviewed for Adopt A TAg.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauralie41 September 16, 2008

This was a really mixed reaction, the sauce created was to die for, have lots of crusty bread to mop up, the chicken was moist and fell off the bone. I used a large whole chicken which I quartered and cooked for 1 1/2 hours (could possibly have done with 1 1/4 hours). After I cooked off the chicken quarters (put in casserole dish) and then cooked the onions (I had already mixed the minced garlic with the other sauce ingredients - my mistake) I felt there was far too much oil left and poured half out and then continued cooking as per recipe. I served the sauce over pasta and the DM was picking off the sauce and leaving the pasta, the DS ate the lot and was looking for extra bread, I was battling to get through my lot and the DH reconned it was pretty godod (high praise from him). Thank you Pneuma, made for Please Review My Recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat August 29, 2008

To quote my husband, "it's a keeper!". I used boneless, skinless chicken thighs and only had to bake for 30 minutes. I definitely will be making this again. Made for PRMR.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Claudia Dawn August 24, 2008

5 Stars, this goes into rotation, exactly our type of dish. Used boneless chicken breasts and baby bella mushrooms and 2 cans of diced tomatoes. Cheesecake Factory's Mashed Potatoes #183993 made a good side, as you can begin the potato recipe just after the chicken is placed in the oven. Made for Please Review My Recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KateL August 21, 2008

We really enjoyed this chicken dish! We halved the recipe with great results to suit 1.5 lb of chicken pieces. The dish comes together quickly and easily. I did all of the steps using my dutch oven. I used fresh tomatoes and shiitake mushrooms, and the sauce was very delicious. DH suggested that next time we make this that we season the chicken itself more heavily and I agree. I served this with Rita's Roasted Cauliflower & 16 Roasted Cloves of Garlic as a side as well as some garlic bread. We would definitely make this dish again. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dr. Jenny August 11, 2008
Varna-Style Braised Chicken (Bulgarian Dish)