Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Vanille Hoernchen (German Christmas Cookies) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Vanille Hoernchen (German Christmas Cookies)

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on December 19, 2010

      To me these were good, but not great. I also found that the recipe was hard to follow as the measurements were given in grams and ml and I am used to cups and tablespoons. I kneaded the dough for quite a while but it would not come together. In the end I added a tablespoon of egg substitute. After that the dough came together easily. I cooked them as the recipe indicated, adding the powdered sugar after they came out. They were ok tasting, but the measurement could have been more user-friendly. Thank you for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2008

      Note about powdered sugar: I just wanted to say these sound a lot like pecan crescents. You can make the sugar stick after they cool off. I bake crescents ahead of time, freeze them without sugar, and thaw them when ready to use. You need a clean new spray bottle. Fill it with water, mist the cookies on a cookie sheet, sift on the powdered sugar with a strainer and a spoon, and let dry. My family is mostly German descent and they rave about pecan crescents. If you try that with this recipe, try a SMALL BATCH first, before the holidays, to make sure it works the same on this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2008

      These have been a Christmas tradition in my family for years. I never knew they were of German origin what a happy surprise! We all love these they are gobbled up fast! Thanks so much for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2007

      Excellent biscuits, fantastic texture and flavour. Very easy to make, just mix all ingredients together and no rolling/cutting required. I have made a different version of this biscuit (lemon almond shortbread) omitting the vanilla and adding very finely grated lemon peel & juice of 1/2 a lemon, forming the biscuits into little disks instead of cresents. I think that this tastes better than the original, however it all depends on your personal taste! Thanks very much for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2004

      Just like I was back in Germany

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2004

      Excellent cookie! Very nice texture! Rich and tintilatlating. Very similar to Russian Tea Cakes. Must say I liked them! Far to much for my new figure I have worked so hard for!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2004

      I made these while my husband was hanging Christams lights. I went outside when they were finsihed and gave him a bite. Next thing I know he is in the kitchen asking where the cookies were!!! He even asked me to make some more to bring to work. Thank you for the great post!!! These will be an addition to our family! *\o/*

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2004

      One of my favorite Christmas cookies! Here in Germany I can buy vanilla flavoured sugar that I mix with the powdered sugar to dust the cookies. It adds a nice additional vanilla taste. You can make your own vanilla powdered sugar easily though by cutting open a vanilla pod lengthwise and putting it together with 2 cups powdered sugar in an airtight container. Let it sit for 2 weeks and use whenever you want to add a subtle vanilla flavour to desserts or cookies. I like to use blanched almonds for this recipe. The taste is finer and the vanilla more pronounced, but my mother prefers almonds ground with their skins on in Vanille Hoernchen because they give a more robust flavour. Thanks Steph Doll for posting this wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2004

      i made these for a german project and they were so good!! my teacher loved them!! and this senior in my class liked them so much he asked me to prom!! you saved my life from being a completly miserable experience!! i've got to go buy my prom dress!! i can't believe it, i'm a freshman going to prom!! i hope he asks me to marry him, so we can have a happy life together!! we can have 3 kids and i will be the mom who makes the worlds best cookies!! i will not drive a mini van, because i'm too good for that. i'm going to be a lawyer and my future husband will be a doctor. he will never lose his hair and he won't have a beer belly because i'm too good for that and i make good cookies. ok guys i have to go seach for my wedding dress and center pieces. FOR MY WEDDING...because i'm getting MARRIED (and going to prom). tee hee i'm cool.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2004

      Very easy and very good! I remember these from when I was a kid and the lady down the street made them year-round. I did everything according to the recipe and baked them for 9 1/2 minutes at 325 in a convection oven. These will be a wonderful addition to my Christmas cookie selection.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Vanille Hoernchen (German Christmas Cookies)

    Serving Size: 1 (633 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 105.3
     
    Calories from Fat 57
    54%
    Total Fat 6.4 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 3.1 g
    15%
    Cholesterol 12.8 mg
    4%
    Sodium 34.5 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.9 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 5.1 g
    20%
    Protein 1.4 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites