15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

My only complaint is the lack of info on serving size. Otherwise, this worked wonderfully. For others' info: Boiling for 10 minutes yielded about 3 cups for me, which makes each serving about a tablespoon and a half.

Also for others' info re: boiling sugar, the reason why it gets thicker and harder is that the water is being evaporated from it as it boils. Starting with nearly-equal portions of water and sugar and boiling for ten minutes should not put you anywhere near the candy zone; it'll just get you a slightly thickened syrup, not even as thick as honey for example. You should be careful if you try a half-batch or boil it longer to make it thicker, though, as that will affect how likely your syrup is to over-thicken.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SaraStar February 12, 2013

The longer you boil sugar, the thicker and harder it gets. This is how candy is made. To prevent the syrup from getting to thick, I didn't boil it at all. I just heated it until the liquid was clear instead of cloudy, which indicated that all the sugar was dissolved. Let it cool then added the vanilla. It was delicious.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deesquared2 June 09, 2012

Worked pretty well, I used more brown sugar. Also, I added a dash of salt (a tiny pinch) and that really livened it up.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
d_inkubus November 02, 2008

Very good copycat of the Davinci that I buy at the store. I often get the sugar free, so next time I'll try making it with Spenda. Anyone know how to make hazelnut?

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dianaswisher73 February 04, 2008

Didn't boil it for too long as I used a sucralose based sweetener in place of the regular sugar (used real brown sugar though as didn't know if there was a substitute for that), I think it was always going to be a little more watery with a sugar substitute but still ended up with a very sweet vanilla flavoured syrup that adds a lovely sweetness to my morning brew - especially the milder "Lazy Sunday" beans I sometimes use. Great cheap alternative to syrup, that will last a good while. Especially convenient as I can't seem to easily find them in the UK.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bullyrammer October 09, 2014

My go to recipe. I LOVE vanilla in my daily coffee. This has taken the place of several expensive store bought brands for me. I bring to a boil and then lower the temp to LO for 10-15 minutes and stir every few minutes until it starts to thicken. I even prefer this vanilla to *$ and that's saying something for me :) Enjoy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
angeliquenicole_7528690 February 15, 2014

So Yummy and easy to make! I love the convience of making this syrup and my coffee shop will probably be missing me soon now that i can make this at home

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ashleychamalian February 21, 2013

Amazing recipe, the only problem that I have is that I'm making twice as much coffee because of it. I hope you dont mind, but I added a link for your recipe to my blog.

Thanks a million again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kenoscully January 09, 2012

I make this one all the time and actually just put it right into an old Torani bottle with a quick pour spout. It's fantastic thrown over some apples just before you add crumble crust for an awesome apple crisp! Don't forget to actually let it boil for a while.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chaz.thompson March 14, 2010

I think it's a good recipe, but it doesn't work for iced coffee. I'm going to try it again this weekend, but not boil it for as long. It becomes candy-like when you add cold milk to it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ch_elmore January 27, 2010
Vanilla Syrup for Coffee