Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Vanilla Syrup for Coffee Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Vanilla Syrup for Coffee

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on June 09, 2012

      The longer you boil sugar, the thicker and harder it gets. This is how candy is made. To prevent the syrup from getting to thick, I didn't boil it at all. I just heated it until the liquid was clear instead of cloudy, which indicated that all the sugar was dissolved. Let it cool then added the vanilla. It was delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2013

      My only complaint is the lack of info on serving size. Otherwise, this worked wonderfully. For others' info: Boiling for 10 minutes yielded about 3 cups for me, which makes each serving about a tablespoon and a half.

      Also for others' info re: boiling sugar, the reason why it gets thicker and harder is that the water is being evaporated from it as it boils. Starting with nearly-equal portions of water and sugar and boiling for ten minutes should not put you anywhere near the candy zone; it'll just get you a slightly thickened syrup, not even as thick as honey for example. You should be careful if you try a half-batch or boil it longer to make it thicker, though, as that will affect how likely your syrup is to over-thicken.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2008

      Worked pretty well, I used more brown sugar. Also, I added a dash of salt (a tiny pinch) and that really livened it up.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2008

      Very good copycat of the Davinci that I buy at the store. I often get the sugar free, so next time I'll try making it with Spenda. Anyone know how to make hazelnut?

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2014

      Didn't boil it for too long as I used a sucralose based sweetener in place of the regular sugar (used real brown sugar though as didn't know if there was a substitute for that), I think it was always going to be a little more watery with a sugar substitute but still ended up with a very sweet vanilla flavoured syrup that adds a lovely sweetness to my morning brew - especially the milder "Lazy Sunday" beans I sometimes use. Great cheap alternative to syrup, that will last a good while. Especially convenient as I can't seem to easily find them in the UK.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2014

      My go to recipe. I LOVE vanilla in my daily coffee. This has taken the place of several expensive store bought brands for me. I bring to a boil and then lower the temp to LO for 10-15 minutes and stir every few minutes until it starts to thicken. I even prefer this vanilla to *$ and that's saying something for me :) Enjoy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2013

      So Yummy and easy to make! I love the convience of making this syrup and my coffee shop will probably be missing me soon now that i can make this at home

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2012

      Amazing recipe, the only problem that I have is that I'm making twice as much coffee because of it. I hope you dont mind, but I added a link for your recipe to my blog.

      Thanks a million again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2010

      I make this one all the time and actually just put it right into an old Torani bottle with a quick pour spout. It's fantastic thrown over some apples just before you add crumble crust for an awesome apple crisp! Don't forget to actually let it boil for a while.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2010

      I think it's a good recipe, but it doesn't work for iced coffee. I'm going to try it again this weekend, but not boil it for as long. It becomes candy-like when you add cold milk to it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2009

      This entire week I've used this as a bargaining tool. Clean up of dinner dishes swapped for using my morning coffee sweetener. I'm not my father's daughter for nothing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2009

    • on August 28, 2008

      Very good! The key to perfect flavor is adding the vanilla after the sugar water is cooled down. Thank you for the great addition to my morning coffee!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2008

      Thanks! Needed this for Iced Cappuccino. Used splenda for the white sugar and added extra vanilla. Turned out great! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2007

      I liked this syrup but I had some issues with it. It is not very strong and I'm not sure how much a serving is, but we definitely won't get 32 out of it. It's totally not healthy for you either, but that's not really the point is it :) I will make this again, but maybe use Splenda and make it extra strong so I don't have to use so much. I think it's very close to the Torani brand though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Vanilla Syrup for Coffee

    Serving Size: 1 (37 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 32

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 72.6
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 2.2 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.7 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 17.6 g
    70%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites