Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Vanilla Sweet Potatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Vanilla Sweet Potatoes

    Average Rating:

    27 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 27

    Sort by:

    • on December 02, 2002

      Great tasting and easy to prepare. Even those who don't like sweet potatoes seem to enjoy these.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2002

      Super sweet potatoes! The vanilla is a wonderful addition. How come I never thought of it before?! I used butter buds sprinkles instead of the butter and it turned out perfectly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2002

      Excellent. This one is going to be on my table at Thanksgiving. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2010

      This is a fantastic lighter version of a sweet potato casserole. The vanilla was potent, but really a tasty pairing. (I baked mine while the turkey finished, about 30 mins at 325, and they were yummy. I did start them in the microwave just as the directions stated & that was a clever alternative to boiling to preserve the nutritional value.)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2011

      This was good but a little too sweet for my taste. I cut the milk to 1/4 C. as other reviewers mentioned and the consistency was perfect. If I make it again I think I'll cut back on the sugar a little.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2009

      These were great! They were SO easy (and fast) to make, and the sweetness was just right. I liked the light vanilla flavor as opposed to the super-sweetness of candied sweet potatoes. Plus, they're so quicka nd easy you can make them as a side dish for any meal. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2009

      I halved this recipe and used 1 16oz can of drained sweet potatoes. Also, since I had the oven on anyway, I didn't use the microwave. I baked them at 325F for about 20 minutes. My husband who's not a big fan of sweet potatoes was surprised that he actually liked this! Thanks for such an easy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2009

      This was soooo good!! I had a bag of frozen sweet potatoes that I didn't know what to do with, and following this recipe, they were superb! It's hard to believe that this is light because it tastes like dessert. Since I already had the oven heated to 325 F for a different dish, I stuck this in there for about 20 minutes instead of microwaving. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2009

      This was not loved by my family. We don't like overly sweet recipes and it was good in that respect. Way too much vanilla, I could actually taste the alcohol after baking. It needed salt and maybe some nutmeg?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2009

      This was soooooo good! It reminded my mother and me of a sweet potato pone recipe she made years ago, which used a lot of heavy cream. She never made the recipe again because of that, and then lost the recipe. This is certainly a healthy version and soooo easy. I think the vanilla is what makes it taste like it has the extra creaminess. Thank you so much for posting, this is definitely a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2008

      I enjoyed this recipe. I can find canned mashed sweet potatoes here in 1 lb cans. I just microwaved the mashed sweet potatoes until hot and added half the other ingredients as directed. After a couple more minutes in the microwave (on high), it was great! Very good, easy, and healthy. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2007

      Healthy, easy, delicious and easy to cut in half. I thought the vanilla sounded like a lot but found it to be the perfect amount of flavoring. I served these along side Chicken Diane and there was a great balance of tangy/sweet flavors.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2007

      Very tasty and very easy! I used a lowfat vanilla soy milk instead of 1% and splenda brown sugar blend in place of regular brown sugar, but it still turned out great! I'll definitely be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2007

      To be fair, I can't rate this with stars because my hubby and I don't like mashed sweet potatoes anyway. But I thought this sounded different enough to try. The finished product smelled good! But even though it did taste like vanilla and wasn't too sweet, we still didn't care for it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2007

      My kids and I love sweet potatoes. But most sweet potato casseroles are sugary and dessert-like. This was very good and a refreshing change from what I am used to. The vanilla flavor was nice and the texture was smooth and creamy. I love that this is made in the microwave--so quick and easy. Thanks for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2006

      Very nice, I had 1lb of sweet potatoes, so I scaled everything down. Didn't add butter or margarine, they were great without!!!! Thanx for a quick and easy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2006

      Hey, this was nice and different! You really have to use all that vanilla to aquire the flavor, though. I only used 1/4 cup milk, any more would have made it too runny. Used only 3 tbs sugar, but added salt. That is just about how we liked it. Also, I boiled the potatoes in water and reheated in oven.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2006

      This were very good! I loved the vanilla flavor and the sweetness of this tasty side, and making it in the microwave freed up my oven for other things! Though the potatoes were a bit wet, as other reviewers have stated, I didn't find that they were excessively so - it didn't bother us at all.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2006

      Very good and easy. I used skim milk and half the margarine to lower the fat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2005

      I thought this dish was too wet, and a bit too sweet. I had to bake my potatoes because I don't have a microwave, but my friend followed the microwave instructions and also said they were too wet (plus he said they made a mess in the microwave). If your butter is not salted they'll need salt as well. If I was to make these again, I'd use only 1/4 cup milk, 2 Tbs. sugar, and would add some orange zest or spices for flavor, as well as salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Vanilla Sweet Potatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (200 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 224.2
     
    Calories from Fat 37
    16%
    Total Fat 4.2 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 2.6 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 11.7 mg
    3%
    Sodium 133.4 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 41.5 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 4.5 g
    18%
    Sugars 17.3 g
    69%
    Protein 3.4 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes