27 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Great tasting and easy to prepare. Even those who don't like sweet potatoes seem to enjoy these.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SailorDave December 02, 2002

Super sweet potatoes! The vanilla is a wonderful addition. How come I never thought of it before?! I used butter buds sprinkles instead of the butter and it turned out perfectly.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yogi November 14, 2002

Excellent. This one is going to be on my table at Thanksgiving. Thanks for sharing!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carolina October 25, 2002

This is a fantastic lighter version of a sweet potato casserole. The vanilla was potent, but really a tasty pairing. (I baked mine while the turkey finished, about 30 mins at 325, and they were yummy. I did start them in the microwave just as the directions stated & that was a clever alternative to boiling to preserve the nutritional value.)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amylyle February 20, 2010

This was good but a little too sweet for my taste. I cut the milk to 1/4 C. as other reviewers mentioned and the consistency was perfect. If I make it again I think I'll cut back on the sugar a little.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
choco chip December 17, 2011

These were great! They were SO easy (and fast) to make, and the sweetness was just right. I liked the light vanilla flavor as opposed to the super-sweetness of candied sweet potatoes. Plus, they're so quicka nd easy you can make them as a side dish for any meal. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
grungezombie December 10, 2009

I halved this recipe and used 1 16oz can of drained sweet potatoes. Also, since I had the oven on anyway, I didn't use the microwave. I baked them at 325F for about 20 minutes. My husband who's not a big fan of sweet potatoes was surprised that he actually liked this! Thanks for such an easy recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lilchris October 20, 2009

This was soooo good!! I had a bag of frozen sweet potatoes that I didn't know what to do with, and following this recipe, they were superb! It's hard to believe that this is light because it tastes like dessert. Since I already had the oven heated to 325 F for a different dish, I stuck this in there for about 20 minutes instead of microwaving. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pheebess September 29, 2009

This was not loved by my family. We don't like overly sweet recipes and it was good in that respect. Way too much vanilla, I could actually taste the alcohol after baking. It needed salt and maybe some nutmeg?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarylandMomof3 September 14, 2009

This was soooooo good! It reminded my mother and me of a sweet potato pone recipe she made years ago, which used a lot of heavy cream. She never made the recipe again because of that, and then lost the recipe. This is certainly a healthy version and soooo easy. I think the vanilla is what makes it taste like it has the extra creaminess. Thank you so much for posting, this is definitely a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CraftScout April 13, 2009
Vanilla Sweet Potatoes