90 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is a perfect sugar cookie for holiday decorating...but make sure you don't cover up the taste of these delicious yummers. They can definitely stand on their own. The cookies aren't a flaky, more brittle sugar cookie. They hold up nicely under decorating conditions but without the bland, cardboard flavor you usually have to accept from a sturdier cookie. These will DEFINITELY be the cookies i make for my traditional Easter sugar cookie decorating.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
teachypeach December 08, 2003

This is now my go-to cut out cookie recipe. So easy to work with and holds the shape of any type of cookie cutter! I'm adding this to our family cookbook so that we can always find it easily. Thanks for sharing!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Allison K October 29, 2009

A great cookie! Just what I think of with a sugar cookie. I made half the recipe and mixed everything by hand, which worked our really well. I left the dough in the fridge for 2 days(didn't get to them when I thought I would), but did not notice any problems because of that. I rolled them out between two sheets of plastic wrap which helped when I had to flip the dough a few time to fix the cracking that was going on while rolling. They tasted wonderful too, everyone at work ate them up!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Jean March 16, 2009

Great Cookie- it does take a little luck to work with this dough though. I too substituted whole what flour and added a little almond extract. My advice: work slowly! Don't overbeat the ingredients, mix on your slowest speed, roll slowly and carefully with your rolling pin, etc. While it is a litte complicated to work with the dough, the results are AMAZING!!! Wow- what a cookie!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Super-Wife February 16, 2009

Fabulous cookie. Soft and delicious. I didnt have cookie cutters so I used a thin round glass to cut them. They came out just fine. They are beautiful cookies! These are definitely going to be on my yearly cookie list... Ive never made such delicious sugar cookies!!! Thanks! Family loves them too!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
love4culinary December 21, 2003

Excellent cookies. Great flavour. The dough is very easy to work with. Makes a lot of cookies. I used my small star-shaped cutter and got 86 cookies. Definitely a keeper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cuisinebymae December 21, 2003

These make some good sugar cookies. Soft, chewy and easy to decorate. Taste good, too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StacyMD187373 February 16, 2015

Amazingly simple, cooking time can vary drastically and won't have too much affect on the cookies! (i usually find myself in trouble when it comes to knowing when to take my baked goods out of the oven)
they tasted HEAVENLY, my dough came out rather short and i was slightly worried but they tasted sooo perfect, crumbling and melting in your mouth.
i used some royal icing with some silver balls on top to decorate.

everyone loved it. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
athenseoul December 20, 2012

i loved them sooooooooo good i brout some in to school there were gone before lunch

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugar quine September 23, 2010

This is a really excellent sugar cookie recipe, I'm sure I'll use it again and again! It came together quickly, it rolled out nicely (I refrigerated the dough overnight, and let it sit out for about 30 minutes before rolling), was easy to use with cookie cutters, and of course, it tasted delicious. If you are looking for an easy & tasty sugar cookie recipe, use this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
moonpoodle April 10, 2010
Vanilla Sugar Cookies