Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Vanilla Soy Ice Cream Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Vanilla Soy Ice Cream

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on May 08, 2012

      I've made this ice cream many times and really like it. After experimenting, I have settled on these changes: I use 1 cup white granulated sugar and I don't boil the soymilk. The ice cream comes out exactly the same as the original recipe, but it's easier and quicker (no 3-4 hour wait time).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2009

      I made this for my diabetic, lactose intolerant mother and she really loved it. I only had granulated splenda so I heated it gently with the soymilk to make sure it dissolved (this may have been unnecessary). I used the egg beaters because she has high cholesterol and unsweetened soymilk because of the diabetes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2009

      I use this recipe as a base for every flavor,so far i have made butterscotch,peach, strawberry and chocolate all with great results,only takes 25 minutes to make with my cuisinart ice cream maker.Thank you so very much for this recipe. Rita

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2007

      This was by far the best soy ice cream I've ever had!!! It tasted closer to the real thing than any other I've tried. I had a root beer float for the first time in years...and it was DELICIOUS!!! Thanks A MILLION for posting and keep posting any other dairy-free gems you have! Note: I have experimented with this some now, and have used Vitasoy's Rich Chocolate soy milk and added 2 Tbsp of cocoa powder for a chocolate ice cream you could swear was a Wendy's frosty :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2007

      Truly outstanding and EASY! Also, we've done some variations using this recipe as a base (banana, peanut butter, carmel, strawberry, etc.) and they have all been fantastic - even according to the one member of our family who DOES eat dairy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2013

      It tasted really nice, however I felt like adding more to it. I mixed everything together minus the vanilla, and brought the mixture up to 160 degrees, stirring constantly. This recipe does not need to be THICK, it just needs to be COOKED. I took the pot off the heat, and transferred the mixture to a separate container to cool. Then, I added *one* drop of red food coloring, and the vanilla. I did not chill the mixture, I just waited until it wasn't hot. It took about 30 minutes to chill in my ice cream maker to a soft serve consistency. Lastly, I squeezed the juice from two oranges, and added this to the mixture. The ending result? A delicious orange creamsicle soy ice cream. Wonderful!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2011

      This has a very nice texture and is quite tasty. It's so nice to have finally found an ice cream recipe that is well suited to soy milk. I'm eager to try it with almond milk. Thanks so much.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2010

      Both of us are lactose intolerant so I hunted for an ice cream recipe and here it is!! My husband has made both vanilla and chocolate many times. Oh my! The chocolate reminds me of my favorite cold treat, fudgesicles! He uses three tablespoons dark cocoa. We have served this for company and they cannot believe that it is soy based. Thank you Kree!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2008

      This was AMAZING! It makes about 1 pint. We added dairy free chocolate chips and it was fantastic. I am so happy that I can finally make ice cream for my dairy allergic son. Thank you, Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2007

      This ice cream is wonderful! I used the egg beaters and 1/2 splenda, 1/2 powdered sugar. It was great in my smoothies. Really a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2007

      It was thick and rich. My husband, who normally turns his nose up to anything soy, keeps eating it. It took a long time to get the mixture thickened into a nice custard, but was well worth the time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2005

      "This tastes like the old-fashioned ice cream that you get from the crank freezer." Those were DH's words as he ate the ice cream. He never saw your intro. It isn't super creamy due to the soy milk and low fat content; however, whatever if anything, that is lost due to creaminess is made up in taste. It is very good! I used a vanilla soy milk which just added to the flavor. Kree thanks, I will be making this one again for sure. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2014

      this was the very first recipe i made with my new ice cream maker. i'm allergic to cow's milk, but soy/other nondairy ice creams are too expensive. this ice cream was excellent! next time i'm making a double batch. thanks also to other reviewers who gave me ideas on shortcuts and variations.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2013

      I ran out of white sugar so I used sucanat instead, simmering it with the soymilk to ensure solvation. I found the end result to be tasty. However, it was too eggy for my liking, though I imagine that my use of egg substitute may have played a role in that.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2012

      My DD is lactose intolerant and I was making ice cream for a party so decided to make this one for her. Well, it was a success - so much so that everyone else ate it too. Creamy, rich vanilla flavor and I feel it's healthier as no heavy cream - but the taste is just as good - I'll be making this often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2012

      Lovely and creamy, reminded me of a custard, it was that thick! Delicious, thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2011

      Sorry but this turned out horrible. The taste wasn't an issue, though it didn't really resemble old fashioned or even vanilla ice cream to me or my mom.. The problem was the powdered sugar. 1 cup is FAR too much, and turned out an overly sweet ice cream. Texture was great, even creamy, however my stomach the following morning was not. If you have an issue with high sugar content foods don't even bother with this. Perhaps a substitute of honey, or a reduced amount of sugar would have produced something that didn't hurt so much, but I will never know, as I wont be making this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2009

    • on August 23, 2009

      I followed the recipe to the letter and it turned out very well. I will definetly try other variations in the future.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2008

      This is a great recipe for my daughter who is dairy and gluten intolerant as well as having Candida, so there is quite a lot she can't have! She loves the taste and is rapt that she can have icecream again! I used Stevia instead of sugar and not having an icecream maker put the mix in the freezer and whisked it up well when it was partly frozen, then repeated this several times. Thankyou!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Vanilla Soy Ice Cream

    Serving Size: 1 (168 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 237.1
     
    Calories from Fat 55
    23%
    Total Fat 6.1 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 1.7 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 166.0 mg
    55%
    Sodium 70.0 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 38.8 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    2%
    Sugars 34.4 g
    137%
    Protein 6.4 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites