137 Reviews

The kids loved it, and so did I. We ate it by the handful, in yogurt and with milk. Made as directed except used pecans instead of almonds.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bstgirl May 01, 2010

Excellent! This is the first time I have made granola and I was very pleased with the results. We took some on our Spring Break trip and enjoyed it as a snack. I'm sure I will make again. Perfect sweetness and crunch!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chris from Kansas March 22, 2010

This is absolutely fantastic!! My kids, husband, and I all love it! I used slivered almonds, as that's what I had on hand. It's delicious and makes me feel good to know exactly what my kids are eating. Thanks for the wonderful recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diva Sarah March 21, 2010

I had 3 kids that couldn't get enough (and one of those doesn't like rolled oats!) I didn't have any honey and used golden syrup instead. Thank you for a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Petes girl March 06, 2010

This is by far the best homemade granola I've ever tasted! Better than any store bought I've tasted for that matter! Growing up my mom tried dozens of recipes but never did she come up with one this good! I followed the recipe exactly, except for the addition of a scant 1/4 cup coconut. As suggested by another, I toasted the oats, almonds, and coconut first for about 20 minutes. I did not stir. When cooled, it broke up into glorious clumps and I think I stood and ate half the batch before I could get it into to storage container! I will be quadrupling this recipe the next time as my 4 kids LOVE granola! Thanks, Bev, for a wonderful recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vondab64 March 01, 2010

Pretty awesome. did it a little different though and made a caramel sauce with all the sugars and the cinnamon and the fats ( used half butter and half oil ) and tossed that with the oats and almonds. only stirred once 2/3 through cooking and let rest until completely cool. resulting chunks are heavenly on ice cream and yogurt. WE LIKE!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chefbeezle February 23, 2010

I'm going to state the obvious. This is soooooo sooo good!! I was heavy handed with the cinnamon and vanilla and it was heavenly. I did half almonds and half pecans. After it baked I added raisins and cherry cranberries.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Plumshadow February 16, 2010

This recipe is perfect just as written. I always make a double batch and it disapears as quick as I can make it. We love to put it on yogurt.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mega February 06, 2010

Almost 4 1/2 stars. I had to cook it about 22 minutes only as ours was starting to get to dark but it may be my poor oven. I used a little less sliced almonds based on other reviews. I used sea salt and canola oil for the cooking spray and vegetable oil as we are soy free. I used a local honey and white sugar in the oil mixture. The vanilla I used was alcohol free and I used more of it, 2 tsp more also based on a review and that I feel the alcohol free version I use is less potent. I let mine clump which I love. This was pretty good but I will try another granola recipe next time. Made for Heart Healthy Tag - February 2010.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat February 06, 2010

Yum! I can't stop snacking on this. This is the crunchiest granola I've made, which may be because it uses more oil than other recipes. I added coconut to mine and used whole chopped almonds. I thought 1 cup of almonds was a bit much, so I will also reduce this. I also tried to cut corners (and save $$) on the vanilla, but I do think it needs the 4 tsp. I will definitely make variations of this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ATouchofZing February 05, 2010
Vanilla-Scented Granola