137 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Man Oh Man!! This is so good! Can't wait to use it as a topping on vanilla yogurt. Could not have been any easier.I substituted pecans for almonds and added some sunflower seeds. I used about a 1/3 cup of brown sugar and used 3 Tblsp. each of butter and oil, didn't stir, rotated the pan every 10 mins. in the beginning, then every 3 mins. till it was golden brown. I was able to gently break in to nice pieces. I was going to try adding craisins and coconut, but changed my mind. I'm glad I did because it may have been too much. Thank you, thank you for this great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview July 27, 2011

Granola doesn't get any better than this! Made to sprinkle over yogurt, but am eatting it by the handful!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MaMere July 26, 2011

I just made this recipe this morning and it's very good. I even messed up by not boiling the sugars first and it still came out great. I threw everything in a bowl and then realized my mistake. I also ran out of brown sugar, so just threw in some regular sugar and a touch of molasses. Delicious!! Now the problem is that I can't keep my fingers out of it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
merchris July 09, 2011

The best ever granola!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosslare June 11, 2011

I've never made granola before but decided to give this one a try. Boy am I glad I chose this one. It's AWESOME, so much better than any I've ever bought. The taste is just right - not to sweet, good crunch (we like the chunks) and has so many possibilities. The only change I made was to use chopped walnuts. Think I might add coconut next time. I made this with the intention of serving with my morning yogurt but the whole family have been snacking on it all day so it may not last - even my picky DGS who says he doesn't like granola. Made for Photo forums 2010 Holiday

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie G #2 February 12, 2011

I figured that I should finally leave a review since I make this ALL THE TIME! This stuff is delicious. I like the fact that it's simple. We eat it more as cereal than anything. I use pecans instead of walnuts, and sometimes I don't have vanilla, so I add just a little bit of maple flavoring, and it's still wonderful!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jmjohnson65 October 05, 2010

This is so good! My children have never liked to snack on granola before (and I have tried) but they love this! This has become their new favorite snack. They have begged me to make this over and over. We love having large chunks verses small bits of granola. This has been the best granola recipe I have tried. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
5hungrykids September 08, 2010

I have been searching for a low fat granola recipe which is consistent batch after batch but most importantly produces big clusters that hold together for snacking and that don't disintegrate in the container. After baking many, many batches, some chewy if baked for 30 minutes, some over done after 30 minutes, this granola mostly falls apart, making it a messy snack. It is also too sweet and has too much oil. I will try Joy of Baking, Alton Brown, Barefoot Contessa, Pam Anderson granola recipes, all more highly rated.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bpaleos May 29, 2010

I'm adding my five stars to all the rest. This was excellent granola....I mixed up the nuts and used cashews, pecans and walnuts and added coconut and some dried mixed berries after the granola had cooled. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mary winecoff May 26, 2010

Oh my, this is really good! Made it as posted. It took 30 minutes cooking time. It's great with vanilla yogurt and strawberries. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
texaschic May 06, 2010
Vanilla-Scented Granola