137 Reviews

Wonderful!!! I subbed molasses for the sugar ( to add iron), and I added some wheat germ. It smells heavenly, and is delicious! I can't wait to play with the add-ins.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Retro Kali February 16, 2010

This is awesome! I combined a few recommendations by other reviewers and used butter and oil, instead of all oil. I added almond extract in place of almonds and added raises the last 5 mins. Love it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
smlusk February 10, 2010

Very, very yummy! I do suggest, however, that you use organic coconut oil, which is SO much healthier than vegetable oil, and tastes excellent in granola. Great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AngelinaA July 31, 2009

Absolutely wonderful! I did use the butter/oil combination as suggested by other reviewers - and added some coconut and dried fruit after baking. I didn't stir during baking so that I had lots of big clumps when it cooled.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bee January 17, 2009

Fantastic! Made this with a previous reviewer comments and made with half butter and half oil. Wonderful! I did add some coconut, sunflower seeds, some sesame seeds and wheat germ. I added some dried cranberries and raisins after the cereal cooled.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mama smurf December 14, 2008

Wish I could give this more than 5 stars as I have made this countless times with great success. Rapid release foil works great. I do not stir or rotate the pan and the end result is large pieces that I break up into small chunks. I slightly chop the almonds so the kids won't notice them and I also add about a 1/4 cup of ground flax for the health benifits. We LOVE it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Curlee August 26, 2008

yum. i used 1/2 tsp almond extract instead of the almonds. my toddler isn't up to eating nuts yet. we'll be making this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gourmetmomma July 20, 2007

Wonderful granola! Very quick and easy to make too. I did make a few minor adjustments...instead of using all of the oil, I used half and substituted butter in for the remaining half. I would highly recommend this. It adds great flavor. I added a cup of craisins in at the end. However, I honestly think it would be better without. Also, I agree with Kimberli about not stirring the mixture. I rotated my pan, but didn't touch the granola. It turned out filled with tons of tasty clusters! This is great served with vanilla yogurt! Thanks for posting Bev!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SweetJ July 14, 2005

Ok, I'm shovelling this into my face as I type. It's still a little warm and it's SO good! My dad decided to do that Atkins thing and gave me 2 boxes of Silver Palette Rough Cut Oats. I don't like oatmeal and I don't like oatmeal cookies, so I looked for a granola recipe that used stuff I normally keep in the house. The only thing I did outside of the way the recipe was written was add some cherry flavored craisins I had to the mix. Perfection in granola form. It's way too good to pour milk over.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Avarah August 02, 2003

Super simple and super yummy! I made a few additions/changes, substituting coconut oil for vegetable oil, and adding 1/4 cup each of flax seed and chia seed and a 1/2 cup of walnuts. Great recipe, my kids were eating it right off the cookie sheet!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
veganmeister August 11, 2014
Vanilla-Scented Granola