24 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Nice, smooth, mild tasting sauce that complimented bread pudding very nicely.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JoAnn February 11, 2002

I loved your bread pudding that this went with rhonda(seriously folks, check it out!), but I thought this sauce lacked oomph!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Joygi February 16, 2003

Great flavor for the sauce to go with the bread pudding.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound April 25, 2011

This was perfect on bread pudding. :-)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AngiR September 28, 2011

I made this to go with the bread pudding Rhonda posted (which is yummy). I substituted 1/4 of the cup of water with 1/4 cup of the spiced rum I soaked my cranberries in (instead of raisins and brandy), and it gave it a nice "punch."

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Connie Davis December 28, 2007

Loved both the flavor and the consistency. After making it I removed half from the pot and added brandy (leftover from soaking the raisins and then reduced) to half. Both the original recipe and the brandy version were delicious! Please see my rating system as I rate tougher than most.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
puppitypup October 29, 2011

Oh wow this is sooo good. I made to go with your bread pudding Rhonda. I've made this before but forgot to review the vanilla sauce. Thanks for great recipes. These two will be my only bread pudding and vanilla sauce recipe from now on.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Connie Lea April 06, 2010

Very good sauce. I did as someone suggested and added a little extra cornstarch. I also placed a vanilla bean in the liquid as it cooked, to add a deeper vanilla flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KansasChef January 22, 2009

I made this sauce to go with a crock pot bread pudding I found on here (Crock Pot Bread Pudding) and this was absolutely divine. Thanks. Everyone loved it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Srb~ December 27, 2008

This is great sauce, used it tonight with bread pudding and also with blonde brownies. I followed the other ladies and cut sugar to 3/4 cup...I also divided and put dark rum in 1/2...excellent.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FrannieJ August 31, 2008
Vanilla Sauce