Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Vanilla Rum Balls Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Vanilla Rum Balls

    Average Rating:

    39 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 39

    Sort by:

    • on December 17, 2002

      You are right Charishma...these balls are very addicting! I made them for a Christmas party and my roomate snuck off into her room with the container. Between the two of us, ther was none left for the party! I will make these again next year. They were also super easy to make and I liked the fact that I didn't have to bake. Thanks for a great new recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2004

      O.k, Gang - listen very carefully - if you eat these in less than a week after they are made, they will taste very "rummy". Maybe, even too rummy. Rummy enough to make you whine, "Wellll....they're good, but....ya' know...they're a little strong. Maybe we shouldn't keep this recipe." Oh, ye of little faith. Allow them to sit in an airtight container in a cool place for at least a week as recommended by the recipe poster with the really long name. (Our garage in the dead of Michigan winter served just dandy.) Then, carefully take one out of the container, close your eyes and place it on your tongue, closing your mouth ever so gently. The wonderful smooth chocolate rum flavor will slowly and seductively roll its way over the entire surface of your tongue while your brain sees visions of Carribean beaches and swaying palm trees. Oh, heavenly diversion!!!! Oh, bliss on earth!!!! Trust me. Go on. Try it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2002

      Charishma, these rum balls are FANTASTIC! Very easy to put together. I rolled half in powdered sugar and half in the crushed cookie crumbs. Didn't have enough vanilla wafers to make three cups, so crushed chocolate graham crackers, and mixed the two together! Only had Light Rum, and next batch, I'll use a little less than called for. It was just a tad too "Rummy"! Great recipe, and I thank you for sharing. Definitely a nice addition for the Christmas season. LC

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2008

      Well my kids got into the nilla wafers before I started, so I did not have enough... then I used the normal amount of ingredients other than the wafers... I tried to roll a ball... too sticky, so licked it off my hands( I could not see washing that goodness down the sink) mixed in more sugar, tried again same problem, about 30 tries later I got the right consistancy, but had to sit down awhile... I only got 2 rum balls, but boy the process of getting there was great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2008

      These should be called chocolate rum balls instead of vanilla (even though they're made with Nilla wafers). Strong cocoa flavor and dark brown. Note that the 3 cups of vanilla wafers is measured after crushing. Need a whole box of wafers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2003

      Charishma, j'accuse! These balls ruined my diet!! They are absolutely fabulous! Definitely try and let them sit in the frigde for a week, it really makes them even better. I know this as I did empirical research - I kept eating a ball a day, every day, the rum balls kept getting better and better, and 7 days later I couldn't control myself anymore. My fiancé had 3 (which is a lot for him as he doesn't care for sweets, the odd man) and I gobbled up the rest. Yup, all by myself in a single day. So, my idea of servings: two. Three for my fiancé and 32 for me. :-) I made 35 rum balls and by my calculations they were 1,5 WW points per ball. Ouch, but so, so worth it. I rolled half of the balls in cocoa powder and half in chocolate milk powder, and I can't really decide which I like better. I think I'll stick to my 50/50 approach. I'll be making these again soon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2010

      I make these for the holidays almost every year. I've made this exactly as directed but now I add 1 Tbs of good vanilla extract and 1 Tbs of cacao liquor. These really do need to sit for a week. Resist the temptation to eat them before that!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2002

      I just finished making a batch of these for our cookie exchange tomorrow. I hope I can stay away from them tonight! The only change I made is that I used brandy instead of rum and I cut the amount back to just under half a cup. Some I rolled in chocolate sprinkles, some in chopped nuts and some in coloured candy sprinkles. They look impressive and taste awesome. It is like having a nip of brandy! Definitely will add this to my list of favourites!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2014

      These are easy and excellent provided that you make them ahead of time. YOU MUST MAKE THESE AT LEAST 3 DAYS AHEAD, preferably more. I made them 5 days ahead and tasted them right after I made them. They lacked flavor. So I put them away and took them out for new years eve, and they were great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2011

      These are good, but almost no one liked the batch I made with the full 1/2 cup of rum. The ones that ate them were doing it for dares (and these are avid drinkers). I made another batch with a liiiiittle less rum and people seemed to like those better. Overall great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2010

      MMMM! I made these with Hershy's Special Dark Cocoa powder (that's what i had in the pantry) and Vanilla Rum (hey, they're called Vanilla Rum balls!). The recipe took an entire box of dusted Nilla wafers and a little extra powder sugar to reach the right consistency. I was a little worried when I was rolling them that they were TOO sticky, but I rolled them in extra cocoa powder and let them sit on a baking tray on the counter overnight, and they turned out perfectly. As other reviewers have stated, they DO get better the longer you let them sit (we're on day 3 and have 1 or 2 a day to sample). This recipe is easy to make (messy, but easy) and we'll DEFINITELY make this again and again and again! Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2009

    • on December 20, 2009

      These are so good, and super easy, too! Per other reviewers, I made ahead and I'm on day 5 of waiting...but I've been sampling one or two every day and they really do get better and better! I used coconut rum that I just brought back from the Cayman Islands and it is spectacular. I let the mixture refrigerate overnight before making into balls using a 1" melon scoop. The yield was 30 uniformly sized rum balls.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2009

      Well, I did mess up a bit and used an extra 1/2 cup of the icing sugar/cocoa mixture. I had started with another recipe, but then realized I had 3 cups of crumbs. So, they did come out a bit dense and more fudgey. I used some Cuban rum we just brought back from a trip. Everyone loved them! I will definitely make these again, but use the right amount of icing sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2008

      These definitely added a kick to the holiday cookie tray this year!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2008

      Made this recipe last week and have had some "samples" and the verdict being "addictive". These Rum Balls are delicious. We did not find them to rummy. Easy to make and easier to eat. Great recipe. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2008

      My husband loved them! I thought they were too strong, even at 7 days.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2007

      these were wonderful, liked very much by all who tasted them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2007

      Best the week be up soon..I tste tested three times now...can'y hold out much longer...they're already yummy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2007

      I augmented this recipe to include 16 oz of broken pecans, soaked for 12 hours in rum before crushing them up and adding them to the recipe. With the pecans, the recipe yields about 60 1" balls and has made me the favorite of my boss because I used his fave Rum, Bacardi! YAY ME!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Vanilla Rum Balls

    Serving Size: 1 (327 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 32.9
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    91%
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 4.3 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 6.3 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 4.6 g
    18%
    Protein 0.1 g
    0%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vanilla wafers

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites