59 Reviews

This was excellent pudding. I don't have a dbl boiler, but constant stirring over medium heat was fine. If I made it again, I would leave out or reduce salt and reduce sugar to 1/2 cup. It was a bit sweet and I could taste the salt. My personal preferences, so I still gave 5 stars. The pudding is creamy and smooth. I used it to fill my cream puffs and they were excellent!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wyojess March 07, 2011

Superb! Took other reviewers advice and reduce the sugar to 1/2 cup and egg yolks to 2. I also used 1 1/2 teaspoon vanilla. I didn't use a double boiler either. So, so good! And super easy. Can't believe I've never made homemade pudding before. Thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
armymomx2 April 22, 2011

Super-dooper pudding. I mix the sugar (1/3 cup) with the salt and cornstarch till blended. Then add a little of the milk to make a smooth mixture. Proceed with the rest of the milk, and stir with a spatula to cover more area while stirring. After the mixture thickens, temper the egg yolks with a little of the hot milk mixture. Add tempered yolks back into the pot, Stir like crazy, letting the pudding boil for at least a minute to cook the eats and prevent it from breaking down. Enjoy. Thanks for a great pudding recipe :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
emical March 14, 2010

This is so awesome, the only thing I did differently (I don't have a boiler) so I put water in a pan and a bowl on top, I added 1/2 cup sugar as suggested in other reviews and 2 egg yokes. when I got done mixing everything together, it seemed really loose (not like a pudding) so I added 2 more table spoons of corn starch and put it in a normal pan, and boiled till it thickened then I took it off and added the butter and vanilla. This was so good my husband asked me to make it twice! Once as a pudding which my family ate right away, and then as a rice pudding I don't expect it to be here long either LOL... Good thing this is easy to make :) -------------------------------------------- I made this tonight as a rice pudding and it's still the best rice pudding my husband loves it! I quit using the boiler and just mixed everything in a bowl, then cooked in a sauce pan till thick (cook rice as directed) add 2 cups of rice to this (if you double double this recipe) 1 cup if you dont double it :) YUM!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dollarstitch.com January 14, 2010

I use this for all my pudding recipes from banana to chocolate. I triple the recipe. For chocolate add either one melted oz of bittersweet chocolate or 3tblspn of cocoa blended with 3 tblspn of melted butter. For coconut add 1/2 cup of toasted coconut and exchange 1/2 the vanilla for almond extract. For banana simply use and layer bananas, vanilla wafers, and pudding.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maeven6 November 18, 2008

A great recipe! I only used 1 whole egg (not 3 yolks) and no butter at the end. Used 1/2 a vanilla bean (scraped the seeds and simmered the pod with the milk) and a little bit of vanilla (about 1/2 tsp). It was delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jayaymeye November 09, 2008

This is quite delicious and easy to prepare. I followed the ingredient list but only had fat free milk and heavy cream, so I did a mixture of both and it turned out perfectly (I did a mixture because I was concerned about the lack of fat in the fat free milk changing the recipe). I did not use a double boiler, but instead a heavy-bottom pan on medium heat and stirred constantly with a whisk. I served this topped with blueberries and fresh nectarines.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
djhsolara August 13, 2015

I should have read the reviews prior to starting this recipe because I too found the sugar to be a bit too much. I did find it extremely easy, creamy, and better than store bought boxed mixes. I used whole vanilla beans , softening them while the mixture was ththickening and then sliced them, scraping the vanilla into the mixture with the butter at the end. I'm adding to my recipe box! Thanks!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Miserable Gourmet February 06, 2015

I made this as the reciep stated and it was lovely. I have a major sweet tooth, so it wasn't too sweet for me! I cooked it in a bowl over a simmering pan of water as I don't have a double boiler, and it turned out great. It reminds me a little of rice pudding, I may actually have to make this again with rice. This time round I just sprinkled some chocolate chips on top - it was divine!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anniesnomsblog January 12, 2015

Made this on the stove without a double boiler. Stirred constantly. Cooked on medium heat and it didn't take long at all for it to thicken up. Very easy, quick pantry recipe with outstanding creamy flavor. Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TheHouseCafe March 31, 2013
Vanilla Pudding