Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Vanilla Pudding Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Vanilla Pudding

    Average Rating:

    56 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 56

    Sort by:

    • on March 07, 2011

      This was excellent pudding. I don't have a dbl boiler, but constant stirring over medium heat was fine. If I made it again, I would leave out or reduce salt and reduce sugar to 1/2 cup. It was a bit sweet and I could taste the salt. My personal preferences, so I still gave 5 stars. The pudding is creamy and smooth. I used it to fill my cream puffs and they were excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2011

      Superb! Took other reviewers advice and reduce the sugar to 1/2 cup and egg yolks to 2. I also used 1 1/2 teaspoon vanilla. I didn't use a double boiler either. So, so good! And super easy. Can't believe I've never made homemade pudding before. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2010

      This is so awesome, the only thing I did differently (I don't have a boiler) so I put water in a pan and a bowl on top, I added 1/2 cup sugar as suggested in other reviews and 2 egg yokes. when I got done mixing everything together, it seemed really loose (not like a pudding) so I added 2 more table spoons of corn starch and put it in a normal pan, and boiled till it thickened then I took it off and added the butter and vanilla. This was so good my husband asked me to make it twice! Once as a pudding which my family ate right away, and then as a rice pudding I don't expect it to be here long either LOL... Good thing this is easy to make :) -------------------------------------------- I made this tonight as a rice pudding and it's still the best rice pudding my husband loves it! I quit using the boiler and just mixed everything in a bowl, then cooked in a sauce pan till thick (cook rice as directed) add 2 cups of rice to this (if you double double this recipe) 1 cup if you dont double it :) YUM!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2008

      I use this for all my pudding recipes from banana to chocolate. I triple the recipe. For chocolate add either one melted oz of bittersweet chocolate or 3tblspn of cocoa blended with 3 tblspn of melted butter. For coconut add 1/2 cup of toasted coconut and exchange 1/2 the vanilla for almond extract. For banana simply use and layer bananas, vanilla wafers, and pudding.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2013

      Made this on the stove without a double boiler. Stirred constantly. Cooked on medium heat and it didn't take long at all for it to thicken up. Very easy, quick pantry recipe with outstanding creamy flavor. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2012

      A bit of bourbon makes this even better (although it's been my experience a bit of bourbon makes a great deal many things even better). I've also made it using powdered skim milk when I was moving and wanted to empty the pantry as much as possible. A little rich, but maybe next time I'll stir in a 1/4 of sour cream or plain yogurt, or maybe a bit of lemon zest to brighten it up.

      Thanks for a great recipe Tonkats!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2011

      Hooray! Loved this pudding. I was craving vanilla pudding with whipped cream and I'm so glad I found your recipe. I took the advice of other reviewers and used only 1/2 cup of sugar, 2 egg yolks and 1/4 tsp. of salt. I didn't use a double boiler but stirred constantly. It came out perfect. Thanks for posting. I'll be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2011

      Great pudding! Quite easy and fairly fast to make as well. I had 3 egg yolks leftover from another recipe and some whole milk laying around, so decided to make this today. I did use 1/2 cup sugar--definitely think 3/4 woud be too sweet! (Might cut back a little more next time) This was quite rich and now I'm wishing I had bought some cool whip at the store this morning---think it would be better with something to cut the richness a bit. I made the vanilla today, but will likely make the other variations. Homemade pudding is quite easy to make! Thanks for posting Tonkcats.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2010

      Really good and fast to make. I made some modifications to lower the fat content. I added splenda sugar and used lowfat milk and no butter. I also added a vanilla been while it was on the stove and then sliced it open to get all the yummy seeds out. Since lm on a diet l could hace this without feeling guilty

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2010

      it was good, but still a little on the sweet side even after reducing the sugar to 1/2 c.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2010

      Super-dooper pudding. I mix the sugar (1/3 cup) with the salt and cornstarch till blended. Then add a little of the milk to make a smooth mixture. Proceed with the rest of the milk, and stir with a spatula to cover more area while stirring. After the mixture thickens, temper the egg yolks with a little of the hot milk mixture. Add tempered yolks back into the pot, Stir like crazy, letting the pudding boil for at least a minute to cook the eats and prevent it from breaking down. Enjoy. Thanks for a great pudding recipe :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2009

      My husband liked the taste of this better than I did...next time perhaps I will use only 2 yolks. As others have done, I only used 1/2 c. sugar and it was sweet enough for us. Thanks for sharing a good recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2009

      The was my first attempt at homemade pudding. My fiancee and I thought it was perfect. We did,however, use only 1/3cup of sugar as per suggested. Anymore sugar would have been way too much for us. We stirred pureed banana through the pudding to serve! Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2009

      This made a great pudding to layer with my stewed rhubarb, pound cake, and whipped cream. Layerd in a trifle bowl , it was just perfect !!! I did NOT find the pudding too sweet at all !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2009

      whoops, forgot that this recipe uses a lot of sugar. gotta remember to cut it down to 1/2. so that's why it was so sweet. i can't even take more than 2 spoonfuls. contemplating making a second portion to mix in with the first to cut the sweetness...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2009

      had to add a little more cornstarch - could also be that we are at below sea level - went great in my triffle for labor day 2009!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2009

      I think that this is so good. The thing is you only have to put in a half cup of sugar and 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla. This is good but try my changes you will like them>

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2009

      It was good! I have made it several times now. I think next time I will cut down on the cornstarch however, the pudding set up thicker then I like it. I added raspberry flavored syrup to it to make raspberry pudding and it turned out good. If you want to jazz up the vanilla a bit, don't add the vanilla extract. Bring the milk to a simmer and steep a vanilla bean (split and scraped) in it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2009

      Mine turned out very sweet but delicious. My husband made this recipe. I think he didnt get all the egg whites out because there was some bits of fried egg... kind of creepy! So make sure to get all the whites out! We will use less sugar next time but it may be due to us using vanilla sugar instead of vanilla extract.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2009

      Mmm, this was great!!! I don't own a double-boiler, so I made it right in a saucepan and that worked just fine. I forgot to add the butter but I would never miss it! I read other reviews beforehand and used only 1/2 cup of sugar, which turned out to be perfect for my taste. Used all 3 eggs and didn't find it "eggy" at all - it was just right. Thanks for sharing this easy recipe! I will definitely be making it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Vanilla Pudding

    Serving Size: 1 (859 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 5

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 270.9
     
    Calories from Fat 82
    30%
    Total Fat 9.2 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 5.1 g
    25%
    Cholesterol 122.7 mg
    40%
    Sodium 317.9 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 41.9 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 30.1 g
    120%
    Protein 5.5 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites