74 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made four loaves of this pound cake out of two batches of this recipe. My plan was to freeze some and use some for strawberry short cake. I changed the recipe a bit to accommodate what I had on hand. I used half and half in place of the milk with good results. I do not have a Bundt or Tube pan so I used (2) two 8 ½ x 4 ½ glass loaf pans. One batch fit just fine in the two loaf pans. I sprayed my pans with cooking spray and had no problem taking them out after they cooled. The first two I used the full amount of sugar and my tester husband thought they were a little sweet. For the next two loaves I cut back on the sugar by a half a cup. He liked the less sweet cake better. The next day the one that was too sweet didn't seem so sweet. The two loaves on which I cut the sugar back still tasted great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Yoster June 30, 2014

This is a delicious and super easy recipe. I made it exactly as directed, and it came out just as other reviewers indicated, nicely browned, dense and moist. It would get 5 stars if it had just a hint more butter flavor but with strawberries and whipped cream, it was really a great dessert.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Raquel L March 16, 2014

I followed recipe exact, the cooking time for me was 55 minuets. It is eggy and dense. Moist inside but very dark out side. Not a sweet cake, I am thinking of adding a lemon glaze.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RegenaG February 03, 2013

Very good pound cake, A tiny bit dry but heaven with fresh strawberries and cream.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
moabwards June 18, 2012

Not bad but there are better recipes on this site. My personal favorite is Amanda's Cheese Pound Cake Amanda's Cheese Pound Cake.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cuppycakes December 05, 2011

This was the first time I'd ever made a pound cake, and I have to say that this recipe turned out very well for me. Instead of cooking one cake however, I divided the batter into individual cake pans, which obviously lessened the cooking time, but it was still all good. My bf had never had pound cake before and he wolfed down one cake in one sitting- so I guess that's a good sign ;-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sable Venus December 28, 2010

I didn't have a tube pan, so used a regular loaf pan. This was a mistake. This turned out very hard on the top, and still googy in the centre. The flavour is very good, and went well with coffee and fruit.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lauren4372 February 19, 2010

This was a little eggy-tasting to me, but it was still good and quite moist. I may try this again with fewer eggs.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Raichka January 31, 2010

This cake is beautiful in presentation and easy to make. I am in search for THE pound cake, one that reminds me of my Grandma's country church potlucks. Unfortunately, this is not the flavor I am looking for. But, this is a very good cake, nothing is wrong with it! And until I find THE pound cake, I will make this one. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mamajama December 18, 2009

This cake is absolutely gorgeous to my tastebuds! And everyone elses :D I made it as a birthday cake for my DH. I had to search for a specific cake because I had limited ingredients, and this was just perfect. Thank you for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ByNDii September 17, 2009
Vanilla Pound Cake