Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Vanilla Pound Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Vanilla Pound Cake

    Average Rating:

    74 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 74

    Sort by:

    • on May 26, 2008

      Easy. Very easy with perfect results. I sub'd almond milk for the milk. I am making it again today and subbing cream of coconut for the milk. I plan to serve it with pineapple topping. Thank you for an easy, reliable and flexible recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2008

      This was like heaven in our mouths. My dh and I LOVED this cake. It is so flavorful you can eat it alone, or with some fruit and ice cream. We actually enjoyed it all by itself, and it was tasty! Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2008

      Easy cake. A little too eggy for my tastes, but my husband loved it. I baked it in mini bundt pans, and it only took 25 minutes. TFS

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2008

      Very good! I dip it in my cappuccino... excellent for breakfast! Compliments from Italy! Sonia

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2007

      Although this cake is good, it's just not what I prefer in a pound cake. The eggy taste, as someone else mentioned, is very predominant and I like pound cake a little more dense and crusty than this one is. The recipe is very easy and the cake comes out looking very nice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2007

      Very nice pound cake--the taste is pretty eggy as another reviewer said, so you if don't like that, this may not be the cake for you. Next time I make this I will probably increase the vanilla a little bit. The end result was a delicious cake that drew good reviews; we served it with Kittencal's "Easy Lemon Curd" and a mix of fresh fruits.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2007

      This was nice and moist. I think is was more of a dense vanilla cake in taste than a pound cake. Next time I make this I will frost with a chocolate glaze. I am adding it to my "keepers" file. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2007

      So good I had to make two in one day. I brushed the second with a lemon-sugar wash and substituted lemon extract for the vanilla and iced it with a powder sugar glaze, gorgeous and summery.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2007

      Amazing texture and very polyvalent pound cake recipe. Tastes buttery and sweet just like you want it to taste. I didn't have a tube pan so I used a glass oval dish... not a good idea. Without the tube there was not enough heat circulation so the cake baked fine for most of it... except for a whole cup of the mix that stayed liquid at the top right in the center. Which I found out after trying to invert the cake on a rack and the whole steaming batter spilled on the counter. I couldn't have bakedt it longer anyways because it was golden brown and it would have burnt. Next time I try it if I still don't have a tube mold: lower the temperature of the oven to 325 instead of 340 like I did and bake for about 80 minutes instead of 65 minutes like I did.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2007

      Perfect! We had it with fresh strawberries and whipped cream. Thanks!-HK

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2007

      This is a 10 star recipe...came out wounderful...thank you very much....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2007

      Wonderful tasting cake! The DH loved it and so did I. We are trying to eat a lot heathier and so I had to adapt the recipe to my ingredients a little bit. I used Spelt flour and Rapadura (an organic sweetener) and the cake still turned out beautifully! Thanks for a great recipe MizzNezz!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2007

      This was an awsome pound cake, it is lovely with a cup of tea, after a meal. You don't need much it is very dense, its great the next day, or fresh, it taste great anytime!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2005

      I must agree with the last reviewer.... It was way too dry. The cake smelled so good but once it cooled and cut it.... very dry and it seemed to be missing something.. With all that butter you would think it would be moist... sorry to report i wouldn't make it again either....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2005

      Easy to make but VERY dry. I was a bit disappointed given that the other reviews were so good. Unfortunately I did not have the same experience. I do not plan to use this recipe again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2005

      Good cake, and I love the way this is put together - simple and quick! I used unsalted butter and added a dash of salt along with the flour mixture. Without any garnishes the cake was a bit on the bland side - I think I prefer a heavier cake with more butter for that - but with the suggested fresh berries and cream... wonderful!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2005

      P E R F E C T. With a lot of praise from family.It was very a dense moist pound cake.I had to make it after the wonderful reviews. I served it as tea cake too.Nothing to compliment it. It was excellent by itself though. Definitly a keeper!!! Thanx Nezz

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2005

      YUMMY!! This brings back childhood memories. This is what poundcake should taste like! I did add in butter and coconut extract, along with the vanilla, and turned out wonderfully!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2005

      Rich beautiful cake. Great flavor! Thanks MizzNezz!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2005

      A great recipe. Turned out wonderfully. The only complaint I have is that it tasted like eggs and I'm not sure I liked that very much! But that might just be my tastes. This is the first time I've made pound cake and I'm happy with the results. Everyone in my family loved it. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Vanilla Pound Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (94 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 317.5
     
    Calories from Fat 124
    39%
    Total Fat 13.7 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 8.1 g
    40%
    Cholesterol 90.7 mg
    30%
    Sodium 154.4 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 43.8 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 25.1 g
    100%
    Protein 5.0 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites