74 Reviews

Obviously in my last review, I had too much rum to spell correctly. It is WONDERFUL, not wonderfl. Do try this with sour cream in lieu of the milk. It is divine. Also, make sure to sift the flour before you mix. It makes all the difference.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tampa Red November 28, 2005

I used this recipe for a 6 cup cake mold that had some very intricate details. I noticed that it had a fairly high amount of liquid in it compard to most pound cakes and I was hoping that it would pour. It did perfectly. As an added bonus, the dairy component made the cake brown quicly and perfectly, aiding in an EASY release from it's pan. The finished product was dense, but not overly so, and retained a buttery taste even though it contains about half as much as similar recipes. You have a real winner here! THANKS NEZZ

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Steve_G October 03, 2003

Great recipe! I made it to serve with chocolate fondue. Cooked in a 9 x 13 pan and cut into fingers and toasted until brown in the oven. Nice texture and not too sweet. The only reason I gave 4 stars instead of 5 is I'd probably add another teaspoon of vanilla next time. Thanks!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
andrea185 August 28, 2009

Excellent pound cake with moist, dense crumb. I served it with fresh strawberries, but this cake is so versatile it could be served with just about anything. It can even stand on it's own with that morning cup of coffee. A definite keeper!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ken Wood March 14, 2004

With just 4 eggs and light eggnog rather than milk, this is a Christmas favorite! LOTS of nutmeg and cinnamon make it perfect for our house. Thanks for an easy recipe. (dark bundt pan = 65 min @ 350)

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tia Mouse December 02, 2012

The batter was finger licking good, even though I'm not much of a sweet tooth. This recipe made 4 lovely little loaves (2-cup) pans. Once cooled, I tried slicing one, and the top crumbled. I bagged it and the rest up in plastic. The next morning, it sliced much easier, as the crust moistened nicely. So keep that in mind.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon Anne August 30, 2007

Rich, dense, moist, yet not heavy. All those who tried this pound cake said "wow" and gave it five stars, including me. A wonderful, easy "keeper" recipe. This is a "little black dress" of cakes: it will go with anything and you can take it anywhere!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boxerwing November 29, 2003

This recipe was excellent!! The texture of the cake was somewhat dense as a pound cake should be and it had a light buttery flavor. I used it to make a cherry trifle by layering the cake with vanilla pudding, cherry pie filling, and cool whip. Made a great light dessert and I froze the leftover cake for future use. Definitely a keeper recipe.!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Evans89 September 13, 2003

This pound cake was perfection. The texture was slightly firm and the rich vanilla flavor was yummy. I made a fresh peach topping and then topped that with real sweetened whipped cream. I can think of so many ways to enjoy it. Thanks MizzNezz.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PixieDust August 17, 2003

Recipe works perfect! Nice spongey with a tasty brown crust.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kohmatsu May 12, 2003
Vanilla Pound Cake