Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Vanilla Pound Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Vanilla Pound Cake

    Average Rating:

    73 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 73

    Sort by:

    • on November 28, 2005

      Obviously in my last review, I had too much rum to spell correctly. It is WONDERFUL, not wonderfl. Do try this with sour cream in lieu of the milk. It is divine. Also, make sure to sift the flour before you mix. It makes all the difference.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2003

      I used this recipe for a 6 cup cake mold that had some very intricate details. I noticed that it had a fairly high amount of liquid in it compard to most pound cakes and I was hoping that it would pour. It did perfectly. As an added bonus, the dairy component made the cake brown quicly and perfectly, aiding in an EASY release from it's pan. The finished product was dense, but not overly so, and retained a buttery taste even though it contains about half as much as similar recipes. You have a real winner here! THANKS NEZZ

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2009

      Great recipe! I made it to serve with chocolate fondue. Cooked in a 9 x 13 pan and cut into fingers and toasted until brown in the oven. Nice texture and not too sweet. The only reason I gave 4 stars instead of 5 is I'd probably add another teaspoon of vanilla next time. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2004

      Excellent pound cake with moist, dense crumb. I served it with fresh strawberries, but this cake is so versatile it could be served with just about anything. It can even stand on it's own with that morning cup of coffee. A definite keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2012

      With just 4 eggs and light eggnog rather than milk, this is a Christmas favorite! LOTS of nutmeg and cinnamon make it perfect for our house. Thanks for an easy recipe. (dark bundt pan = 65 min @ 350)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2007

      The batter was finger licking good, even though I'm not much of a sweet tooth. This recipe made 4 lovely little loaves (2-cup) pans. Once cooled, I tried slicing one, and the top crumbled. I bagged it and the rest up in plastic. The next morning, it sliced much easier, as the crust moistened nicely. So keep that in mind.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2003

      Rich, dense, moist, yet not heavy. All those who tried this pound cake said "wow" and gave it five stars, including me. A wonderful, easy "keeper" recipe. This is a "little black dress" of cakes: it will go with anything and you can take it anywhere!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2003

      This recipe was excellent!! The texture of the cake was somewhat dense as a pound cake should be and it had a light buttery flavor. I used it to make a cherry trifle by layering the cake with vanilla pudding, cherry pie filling, and cool whip. Made a great light dessert and I froze the leftover cake for future use. Definitely a keeper recipe.!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2003

      This pound cake was perfection. The texture was slightly firm and the rich vanilla flavor was yummy. I made a fresh peach topping and then topped that with real sweetened whipped cream. I can think of so many ways to enjoy it. Thanks MizzNezz.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2003

      Recipe works perfect! Nice spongey with a tasty brown crust.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2011

      We are very pleased with the results of this recipe. I followed the ingredient list and directions as written. Perfect pound cake!!
      I served it with berries and cream. Thank you for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2008

      ooouuhh this was so good and easy to make. We especially loved the crumb and will definitely make this more frequently since it keeps well in the freezer for those unexpected guests. Although we have a sweet tooth around here, we're not sugarholics, so reducing the sugar by 1/2 cup might work better for us. Hopefully it won't affect the texture. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2008

      I've always had such a hard time successfully making cakes that I've resorted to cake mixes for the last several years. My cakes usually turn out flat and just kind of blah. But THIS cake came out wonderfully! Fluffy, high, with a lovely even, fine texture. And the flavor is to die for! A rich, buttery vanilla...not overly sweet. I served it tonight with sugared blueberries, strawberries, and red raspberries and whipped cream, and it was a huge hit. The cake is completely gone! Thank you, MizzNezz!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2008

      This was the perfect dessert-- everyone loved it, even those who don't normally like sweets. I reduced the sugar to 1 1/2 cups and made a lemon glaze that I poured on top while it was still warm. It's very rich, but completely worth it! We had it with a cup of coffee and fresh berries.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2007

      Broke out the hand-held rotary beaters for this one! Really great while still warm from the oven. It firmed up a bit more after cooling. Very sweet, I like a little lemon zest added to the batter for more flavour. I made strawbeery shortcake with it but it's also very good toasted and buttered for breakfast or late night snack!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2007

      This recipe ,ade the most beautiful cake appearance wise, but the taste of the cake was bland and flavorless. The texture was drym but with ice cream, it was better. I'll try it again, but I'll adda little more flavor to boost the taste.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2006

      I followed this recipe exactly and was disappointed by the blandness of the cake. It's an okay cake but not great. Sorry!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2004

      Wonderful Cake. I've made this thrice now and it's never failed me. The last time I made it was for my son's birthday and topped it with chocolate sauce!! Yummmmmm. Thank you MizzNezz :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2003

      This was a very light pound cake. Delicious, not too sweet. My suggestion is...get some heavy whipping cream...whip it till it's stiff, add sliced mangos or peaches, strawberries, bananas or fruit of your choice...mmmmmmm

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2014

      I made four loaves of this pound cake out of two batches of this recipe. My plan was to freeze some and use some for strawberry short cake. I changed the recipe a bit to accommodate what I had on hand. I used half and half in place of the milk with good results. I do not have a Bundt or Tube pan so I used (2) two 8 ½ x 4 ½ glass loaf pans. One batch fit just fine in the two loaf pans. I sprayed my pans with cooking spray and had no problem taking them out after they cooled. The first two I used the full amount of sugar and my tester husband thought they were a little sweet. For the next two loaves I cut back on the sugar by a half a cup. He liked the less sweet cake better. The next day the one that was too sweet didn't seem so sweet. The two loaves on which I cut the sugar back still tasted great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Vanilla Pound Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (94 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 317.5
     
    Calories from Fat 124
    39%
    Total Fat 13.7 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 8.1 g
    40%
    Cholesterol 90.7 mg
    30%
    Sodium 154.4 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 43.8 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 25.1 g
    100%
    Protein 5.0 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites