Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Vanilla Poached Pears Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Vanilla Poached Pears

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on October 13, 2011

      I tried it and it was superb!! So simple and easy yet rich and decadent. It tastes as if there was butter added and there's none! I didn't have vanilla bean so I used vanilla extract to taste. Thanks so much for sharing this gem of a recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2009

      Elegant, easy and delicious! I bought several fresh pears from a farm stand in NY while on vacation. Having never made poached pears before, I was happy to find this recipe. After the pears were tender, I removed them to a serving bowl and reduced the cider until almost syrupy and served that over the pears. My partner and I really liked these! Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2009

    • on March 26, 2009

      This is an elegant dessert suitable for dinner guests but simple enough for a weeknight meal. I used red pears and vanilla extract. After cooling the pears, I plated them and then reduced the liquid by half with some cinnamon added. Spoon the sauce and add a scoop of vanilla frozen yogurt to complete the presentation. Rave reviews from all and a house that smelled absolutely divine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2009

      This was very tasty and really hit the spot. I was looking for a way to use up my pears and this was it. I will be making this again for dinner parties. Thanks for the recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2008

      Loved it! I didn't have a vanilla bean, so I just used some vanilla extract to taste. This really hit the spot on a cool November night.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2008

      This was a simple and tasty dessert. It was just right on a cold fall evening! I added some grated nutmeg to the apple juice mixture. I used tiny honeysweet pears since they are in season here in Klamath Falls Oregon. Thank you for a delicious treat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2008

      What a wonderful light delicious dessert, I'd be proud to serve to guests! Mouthwatering flavour, great combination and so simple to make. Can you tell we loved them!! I will be making these again very soon, so good DH wants to go out and buy some more pears so he can have them again. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2008

      Perfect dessert. I served it at a dinner party with a diabetic friend...I used apple juice without added sugar. Everyone loved it. Thanks very much. I will definitely make it often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2008

    • on December 12, 2007

      These were really good, even though I didn't have the vanilla beans and had to go with just vanilla extract. Because of that, my version was probably only about 4 stars, but I'm giving 5 because I bet that would have made just enough difference to push it into that league. Still so good, and something a little fancy for dessert that I know I'll make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2006

      This is a great dessert and I love using vanilla beans. It was a hit with guests! Thanks. Inverchef.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2006

      These Poached Pears were good! Me and my sister ate them all up. We had them with some French Vanilla Ice Cream, which added more sweetness! LOL

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2006

      DH bought some pears that he wanted poached. I'd never had poached pears before but decided on this one because it didn't use red wine. They were very flavorful and delicious! We ate them with a scoop of vanilla ice cream and it was wonderful. I'd serve these to family and friends.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2005

      This was such a simple and yummy treat. I didn't wait for the pears to cool and instead sampled them while warm. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Vanilla Poached Pears

    Serving Size: 1 (115 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 66.7
     
    Calories from Fat 1
    88%
    Total Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1.1 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.7 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 3.5 g
    14%
    Sugars 11.2 g
    45%
    Protein 0.4 g
    0%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vanilla beans

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes