15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I tried it and it was superb!! So simple and easy yet rich and decadent. It tastes as if there was butter added and there's none! I didn't have vanilla bean so I used vanilla extract to taste. Thanks so much for sharing this gem of a recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ITRIEDIT October 13, 2011

Elegant, easy and delicious! I bought several fresh pears from a farm stand in NY while on vacation. Having never made poached pears before, I was happy to find this recipe. After the pears were tender, I removed them to a serving bowl and reduced the cider until almost syrupy and served that over the pears. My partner and I really liked these! Thank you for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef-Boy-I-Be Illinois November 02, 2009

This is an elegant dessert suitable for dinner guests but simple enough for a weeknight meal. I used red pears and vanilla extract. After cooling the pears, I plated them and then reduced the liquid by half with some cinnamon added. Spoon the sauce and add a scoop of vanilla frozen yogurt to complete the presentation. Rave reviews from all and a house that smelled absolutely divine.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
smellicious March 26, 2009

This was very tasty and really hit the spot. I was looking for a way to use up my pears and this was it. I will be making this again for dinner parties. Thanks for the recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Irishrvt February 15, 2009

Loved it! I didn't have a vanilla bean, so I just used some vanilla extract to taste. This really hit the spot on a cool November night.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miu December 07, 2008

This was a simple and tasty dessert. It was just right on a cold fall evening! I added some grated nutmeg to the apple juice mixture. I used tiny honeysweet pears since they are in season here in Klamath Falls Oregon. Thank you for a delicious treat!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelelyl October 13, 2008

What a wonderful light delicious dessert, I'd be proud to serve to guests! Mouthwatering flavour, great combination and so simple to make. Can you tell we loved them!! I will be making these again very soon, so good DH wants to go out and buy some more pears so he can have them again. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Derf September 24, 2008

Perfect dessert. I served it at a dinner party with a diabetic friend...I used apple juice without added sugar. Everyone loved it. Thanks very much. I will definitely make it often.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Yaffa June 04, 2008
Vanilla Poached Pears