Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Vanilla Milk Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Vanilla Milk

    Average Rating:

    29 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 29

    Sort by:

    • on February 03, 2010

      We can't seem to find the vanilla milk that Horizon makes anymore (and that my daughter loves), so we found this recipe. Good advice about the alcohol level of real vanilla extract, it's pretty significant. I found Pure Vanilla Flavor Alcohol Free from Trader Joe's. We put 2 teaspoons in, not one. Good!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2009

      Simply deelicious. I used soy milk with just a touch of sugar since it was already pretty sweet on its own. I also had this hot! It's wonderful as a hot drink. Mmm! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2009

      This was very good! I did use 1/2 tsp. imitation vanilla because thats all I had and i boiled the milk and it was great. Tasted exactly like starbucks steamed milk!! Will make again!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2008

      My 5 year old just thought this milk was strange tasting. My husband thought it was ok. I thought it had potential to taste like snow cream! I would make this for myself but next time I will put it in my magic bullet with a little more splenda (about 1/2 tbs. more) with some ice. Good flavor to me...just would like a little sweeter with some ice to make like snow crea (one of my childhood favs)!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2008

      My son has loved this for a long time, but I always use imitation vanilla for him (and a little nutmeg too) He likes it warm before bedtime.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2008

      I have been doing this for years but have never added sugar. My kids also like coconut extract in place of the vanilla - yum!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2007

      wow! I have hated plain milk pretty much my entire life and could never drink a glass by itself. this recipe changes that! I can drink this whole glass and actually LOVE it! tastes like a vanilla milk shake. great stuff! thanks for a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2007

      This is great hot, it's like a steamer. Not just for kids!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2007

      Pretty good stuff. I just made this for myself to try. I'll stick to the sugar free chocolate milk mix for my kids, and I doubt I'll make this again. But it was worth trying!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2006

      Made this milk to use in Peachy Peach smoothie #134652. My husband and granddaughter both had a glass of this milk and really liked it. Thanks Pantry Chef Starkey. Bullwinkle.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2006

      BE VERY CAREFUL WITH THIS RECIPE!!! On average, natural vanilla extract is 72 proof, or 36% alcohol. 1 teaspoon of this concoction to a 30lb. 2-year-old is the same as 2-1/3 shots of booze to a 200lb. adult! Or, a sing;e shot to a 65lb kid... Of course they are gonna be happy, they'll be looped!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2012

      This recipe is good, but I changed it up. I add a very little bit of cinnamon, a dash of salt (don't knock it till u try it), and I substituted regular sugar for half the amount of brown sugar. The cinnamon gave it a little kick, and the salt made it so it wouldn't be to sweet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2012

      the note about getting kids drunk on vanilla extract is entirely inaccurate. 1 tsp of vanilla is 1/9th of a shot of alcohol, and vanilla extract is less alcohol by volume than a shot of vodka for instance. 1 teaspoons of alcohol to a 35lb kid is about the equivalent of 1/2 a shot of alcohol to a 150lb person (which is then diluted in a quart of milk).

      Even two teaspoons in this quantity of milk might just make your kid a little sleepy, if that.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2011

      This is soooo yummy! I love vanilla milk and this is just perfect. I used an alcohol free vanilla extract (not imitation) and a packet of Truvia.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2006

      I was not too crazy about this, even my three year old was like -"un uhh, just give me my reg milk". Most of all, I really did't like the after taste. Over all the drink wasn't gross, just not real good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2006

      This was great! I usally have Hot Vanilla Hot Vanilla so when I found this recipe I knew I would like it! Thanks so much for it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2006

      I doubled this recipe and put it in the blender with a little ice to make it extra frothy! Very good! Kids drank it right up! YUM! Thank you for posting this idea!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2006

      This is really good. I'm not much of a milk drinker, but I drank a cup of this and enjoyed it very much. I think it tastes very similar to a vanilla shake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2005

      Yummy...this is better than chocolate milk.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2005

      Something fun the kids enjoyed. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Vanilla Milk

    Serving Size: 1 (261 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 217.0
     
    Calories from Fat 80
    37%
    Total Fat 8.9 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 5.5 g
    27%
    Cholesterol 34.1 mg
    11%
    Sodium 120.0 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.4 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 13.1 g
    52%
    Protein 8.0 g
    16%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes