Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Vanilla Ice Cream (Basic Custard Style) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Vanilla Ice Cream (Basic Custard Style)

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on April 02, 2010

      Perfect amount of sweetness - this will now be my standard vanilla ice cream recipe - even Haagen Dazs doesn't compare. Of course you can substitute other sweeteners such as honey or maple syrup for the sugar, but whatever you do, you must cook on the stove, never microwave or it will curdle.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2013

      i must say it, this recipe was delicious, i added my own twist to it by infusing lavender into the whole milk in the beginning, and then cooling that. Once i had my eggs and sugar combined i added the whole milk in and heated it and stirred more dried lavender in for appearance and texture. Then when i got everything mixed and out of the ice cream maker (in soft serve consistency) and swirled in some home made black berry sauce, and froze it over night... It was to die for!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2011

      Wonderful recipe. I only got one scoop of this before my family wolfed the rest.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2007

      A double batch came out to about 24 oz. So we tried making another double batch. I used skim milk with both bcz that's all I had. The first batch came out great and froze just like storebought. The 2nd batch didn't freeze in the ice cream maker, so we put it in the freezer and froze it, but it got a little icy. Not sure what happened the 2nd time, although the first time, I forgot to add the sugar until after I added the whipping cream. Used 1 T vanilla (homemade) for a double batch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2007

      I made this using a no machine technique and it came out wonderfully. I added a teaspoon of almond extract because I like that flavor. Otherwise made as a double batch so it would be a full quart.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2007

      Very good ice cream. Only problem was I doubled the recipe, and didn't even get 1 quart! Amounts are off. I doubled it and added 2 extra cups of whole milk. Now I have a quart!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2007

      Let me begin by saying I have never been a real fan of homemade ice cream, but this was AWESOME!!!!!!! This was the recipe we chose to make for our Memorial Day guests and they were also HUGE fans. My husband was the one who prepared it and he said it was pretty easy to prepare. We all agreed that is was thick, creamy and decadent. I also added fresh strawberries to some of it for those of us that wanted them. This will definately be our go to vanilla ice cream recipe from now on. Thanks for posting Dee514.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2007

      I have an excellent recipe for ice cream that uses raw eggs and, anymore, that just scares me! I made this recipe and, not only was it easy, it tasted just like my recipe with the raw eggs. Now I don't have to worry anymore! I always shyed away from the cooked custard recipes; they sounded too hard. But that is not the case and this is quite easy to whip up! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2006

      This recipe is almost exactly like mine. The only differences are that I use 1/2 cup sugar and 1 Tbsp vanilla extract. And I heat the cream along with the milk, eggs and sugar. The perfect vanilla ice cream for me, not too eggy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2003

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Vanilla Ice Cream (Basic Custard Style)

    Serving Size: 1 (292 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 669.1
     
    Calories from Fat 468
    70%
    Total Fat 52.0 g
    80%
    Saturated Fat 31.1 g
    155%
    Cholesterol 341.2 mg
    113%
    Sodium 105.5 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 43.2 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 39.8 g
    159%
    Protein 8.7 g
    17%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes