17 Reviews

This is a great cake and I made it for many of years now. It is my families favorite cake.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Ri November 11, 2002

This cake was a disaster for me....and i bake every week. 2/3 cup choc syrup in two cups of batter??? I followed recipe to a t and I ended up with a spongy chocolate cake..that cake was all lite chocolate...what a waste and disappointment for a marble cake. I have made others and loved them...sorry

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef 298200 February 08, 2009

This was delcious!! It was also quite simple for the beauitful presentation!! I baked mine in a cross shaped pan instead of a fluted pan and the cooking time was the same! Thanks for this awsome recipe Charlotte J!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BestTeenChef May 31, 2006

Most amazing cake ever! Absolutely perfect with the icing recommended.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Harmoni July 30, 2013

I know this is odd but I would give the vanilla section 5 stars and the chocolate section 4 stars because the vanilla portion of the cake came out so moist, tender, fluffy and light and not too sweet. The chocolate portion is good but the texture is more on the spongy side. In edit: This cake tastes wonderful the 2nd day.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
YungB June 07, 2012

Good cake, nice and moist. As Pink Kitchenaid Lover mentioned, it looks like more work than it is. I made the suggested topping, which worked great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Southern Transplant January 23, 2012

This cake was very moist and incredibly rich. I made it in a dozen mini bundt pans and they turned out marble swirled and just beautiful. Used a different glaze than the one suggested, though I'm not sure it needed one. All around this was a very tasty recipe indeed.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ktenille June 26, 2010

Nice and flavorful! Preference for something other than Hershey's syrup led me to try Starbucks Mocha Powder (made into syrup) instead and it substitued beautifully! This is cake is beautiful AND delicious!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wedrinktea'ere June 17, 2010

This cake is awesome and easy to make. This is one of our favorites now.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Silvano October 03, 2009

We really enjoyed this recipe. It was so easy to make with such great results. It's got a great texture, flavor and is so moist. This is definately a keeper!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Upthecreek Paddles November 14, 2008
Vanilla-Fudge Marble Cake