Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Vanilla Fudge Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Vanilla Fudge

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on December 16, 2010

      Mizz Nezz, this is truly da BOMB!! As said before, make ABSOLUTELY CERTAIN to bring it to 238 degrees, and do this very slowly. When you make fudge, patience is your friend. Have the butter and vanilla all ready to go in as soon as it comes off the heat. This step is called "seeding" the fudge. Don't mix those two things in. Just add them to your pan. Then let it sit completely undisturbed (and uncovered) until it reaches 110 degrees. This takes about an hour or so, depending on your room temperature. Have your final square pan all ready before you start beating the mixture. Then, I simply used my mixer to beat the cooked mixture until it started to get thick. Poured it into the square pan - I just lined the pan with overhanging foil, so that later all I had to do was lift the foil, reverse the fudge onto a cutting board, then peel away the foil - and it set up like a dream. Creamy as can be. I also made a lovely Christmas Candy Cane version, by using 1-1/2 tsp peppermint extract and 1/2 tsp vanilla. Then, I put red color on the top and swirled it quickly with a toothpick. Finally topped with 3 crushed candy canes. It was a huge hit, and has been specifically requested again this year. Taking the above measures, your fudge will have the perfect texture every time. Thank you, Miss Nezz!
      A note for those whose fudge never set properly, this is caused by not cooking the mixture to 238. If you're absolutely certain your thermometer read 238 degrees, then verify that it's properly calibrated. Put it in a pan of water and heat the water. When it comes to a boil, your thermometer must read 212 degrees. If not, then pitch it and buy another. There is no other reason for soupy fudge. Grainy fudge can be caused by too much humidity (or by getting even a drop of water into the cooked mixture as it cools,) which is why it's always recommended that you make fudge on dry days. Those are the two most common mistakes made by would-be fudge makers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2010

      I read the reviews and thought I might have found a recipe that I wanted to keep, but boy was I wrong!!! I've made many types of fudge over the years, and haven't found a "keeper" for vanilla fudge and this definately isn't a keeper! It's outcome was grainy and the vanilla tast was too strong! I definately wouldn't waste my time or money on this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2009

      I screwed up the recipe but it still came out good-- namely I made a mistake with the butter, I melted all of it first then added everything else heh. I agree with Yellow Lab Lover about the vanilla, it was a bit overpowering for my taste. Next time I'll halve the vanilla, and maybe the butter too. I just melted everything together then let it simmer on low heat til it thickened, poured it in the pie pan, and let it refridgerate overnight. (Cuz I am way too lazy to do all those steps, and did it without a candy thermometer I just used my instinct on the heat levels.) When I woke up, there was some awesome creamy fudge. :D

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2009

      I have to give this recipe 5 stars because even when i thought it was ruined last night as everything seized on me in the bowl, i put the blob in my pan, pressed it out with my hands covered it with plastic and this morning i have a super creamy rich fudge. The vanilla was a little over powering but that's a personal preference. i didn't add the nuts, will do next time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2009

      It has a wonderful taste, but I'm not waiting so long to stir it next time as it hardend so much I had to reheat it and I followed the directions exactly. But its definently a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2014

      AMAZING TASTE! But it did disapoint me because it had the consistency of sand :/ great taste thou!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2013

      BEST. FUDGE. EVER! I followed the recipe exactly... I stirred the whole time and made sure that all steps were completed (especially temperatures!!)... Also, I used baker's sugar. During the stirring phase before setting, I added my walnuts. The recipe came out better than expected and this was my first time ever making fudge. The constant stirring during heating was somewhat tedious but it was WELL worth it! I'll definitely be making this for gifts! xo<br/>Thank you MizzNezz!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2013

      i am NEVER making this fudge again, it barely made 4 pieces it burnt and stuck to everything, it is NO WHERE near creamy, it looks orange and like barf and burnt..... i didnt like this AT ALL.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2011

      The consistency was terrible! Hard as a rock and grainy to boot. The vanilla flavor is very strong, but I like that, which is why I gave it 2 stars instead of one. Definitely will not make this one again though, I like my fudges soft.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2010

      This came out like caramel consistancy...very disappointed in it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2009

      I tried this twice, and both times it set to the wrong consistency. :(

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2009

    • on April 04, 2009

      Sorry to be the only one who gives this less then 5 stars.. But it was terrible! My husband, who eats anything, didn't even like it. Way too much vanilla flavoring for us. I was looking for a recipe similar to the See's vanilla fudge I love..and this just wasn't it. I will keep looking, thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2008

      Excellent! Third attempt at fudge, and this is the first one that set! Even as pouring from the pan...I used condensed milk and added a 1/2cup more regular milk instead of the evaporated in the recipe. It seems fine though I'm waiting for it to cool impatiently! might be a little too close to tablet which would be the excessive beating I think... Thank you for a recipe that works!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2008

      Excellent fudge. Had to make a few batches before I could make a consistent product. Don't let it cllo below 110 degrees before mixing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2008

      I made this for Christmas and gave to my friends. Very easy to do even if you don't have a Thermometer. I beat this in the saucepan with an electric hand whisk until it became thick and lost it's gloss. This took the hard work out of it. I made double amount and put it into foil container to set as it's easier to remover once set. Much better than purchased Fudge. Thank you MizzNezz

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2007

      This fudge is awesome, smooth and creamy. I followed the directions to the tee right down to the "beat with a wooden spoon" part. That didn't go so well so I turned to my electric mixer and beat it on very low speed till it lost it's sheen. A wonderful recipe MizzNezz. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2007

      I have been looking intensely for a smooth fudge recipe. This is wonderful! I undercooked it a little bit because the mixture does turn brown by the time it reaches soft ball stage. Undercooking it made it too soft. I have been looking for a recipe for a smooth maple fudge, but haven't found one. I substituted pure maple syrup for the vanilla in this recipe and I was very happy with the flavor! Thank you MizzNezz!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2007

      Yummy delicious fudge! I made some with walnuts and some without. I'd never made fudge before and it turned out perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2007

      This makes awesome fudge! Advice for others, if your stove is gas (mine is LP gas) have your heat set a little lower than the recipe calls for. Very important not to stir or touch the fudge while it cools to 110. Thanks MizzNezz for the perfect fudge recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Vanilla Fudge

    Serving Size: 1 (30 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 24

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 94.5
     
    Calories from Fat 23
    24%
    Total Fat 2.5 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 1.6 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 7.5 mg
    2%
    Sodium 38.2 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.5 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 16.7 g
    66%
    Protein 0.6 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites