Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Vanilla Extract (Cooks Illustrated) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Vanilla Extract (Cooks Illustrated)

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on May 03, 2011

      I chose this recipe because it was from Cook's Illustrated- and these people know what they are doing! I noticed that of the few similar recipes on 'zaar, this is the only one that requires you to scrape out the vanilla bean. While this step might seem tedious, it makes all the difference with regards to a faster maturation date. As an experiment I made two jars simultaneously- one with a scraped bean and one with an unscraped bean cut into 1" pieces. The first is much darker than the 2nd already with a much stronger aroma! Very happy to find such an economical recipe for Vanilla extract as I do a lot of baking. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2012

      I love to save money, and this recipe appeals to my saver instincts! I used Smirnoff, and after heating and mixing, decided to add the scraped bean pod in too. I can just pull it out, as need be, and it isn't wasted. Thanks for sharing a satisfactory, homemade, staple recipe, duonyte!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2011

      This is a simple and inexpensive way to make a good quality vanilla extract! It was ready to use after a week and had the same delightful effect as store-bought extract. Thanks for sharing the recipe! Made for the Best of 2010 Event (recommended by mersaydees)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2012

      What a wonderful recipe! I've been making homemade vanilla extract for years, but this beats all. Heating the vodka and scraping out the seeds makes all the difference in the world, for a quick maturation time (mine was ready in just one week, and it just gets better). Be sure to heat the vodka until very hot, but do not boil. And, don't strain out the seeds, they are packed with the most delicious vanilla flavor. Thanks, Duonyte!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2011

      I used the cheapest vodka at the liquor store. The seeds are the black goo in the bean, there are no big things in there. The better you scrape the less you have to strain, and the faster your vanilla will mature. I heated the vodka on low just until the first bubbles started to rise from the bottom of the pan. I used jelly jars to store mine. You can get the beans fairly cheap for 10 online, but even the more expensive ones make cheaper vanilla than store bought.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2011

      This is just so simple to make. Why pay those high prices for commercial vanilla extract! This would be a great gift idea, perhaps as part of a basket of goodies. Thanks for sharing, duonyte. Made for Newest Zaar Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2011

      I have been wanting to try this recipe for a long time and I am glad I finally did. It smells wonderful! I used some in our french toast this morning and have added it to smoothies but have not yet baked with it, although I am sure it will be wonderful. The flavor continues to intensify the longer it sits. Made for Zaar Stars tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2010

      What a cool, simple way of making your own vanilla extract! Who would have thought it could be this simple. From now on I will alternate two bottles of extract - one to be used and one 'in the making'

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2010

      WOW!! This was so easy to make and much better than store bought. Used it for chocolate chip cookies, and some pancakes. Many good uses for this too. Made for 1-2-3 hits.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2010

      Great stuff! And so easy to make! I'll have to invest in some cheaper Smirnoff next time! Meanwhile, Finlandia rules! I'll have to make some cardamom cookies with this and ship it overseas to my Finnish relations! :) Thanks, duonyte, for a staple recipe. Going into my Best of 2010 cookbook. Made for 123 Hit Wonders tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2009

      So economical and fun to watch the vodka changing color (darkening) as time passes and the vanilla infuses into the vodka. Thank you so much for posting this! It really is as good if not better than storebought.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Vanilla Extract (Cooks Illustrated)

    Serving Size: 1 (167 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 513.7
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 2.2 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vanilla beans

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes