Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Vanilla Custard Ice Cream Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Vanilla Custard Ice Cream

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on February 20, 2013

      Amazingly creamy and delish! I couldn't stop "taste testing" out of the ice cream maker!! This was exactly the flavor I was looking for. I followed the recipe exactly and chilled over night. Forgot to strain it when pouring into the ice cream maker, but it didn't need to be. Was delish and kept its softness even after frozen for a few days. But was definitely the tastiest right out of the maker! Can't wait to make this again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2011

      I give this a 5-star rating for flavor and texture right out of the ice cream maker. It is delicious. Wish I had a piece of chocolate cake or some apple crisp to go with it now. This is a keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2010

      I have tried numerous custard recipes, and this one exceeds them all. I like it because it's traditional - no flour, evaporated milk, etc. It was creamy and delicious. I doubled the recipe and still it only half filled our 2 qt ice cream freezer. I didnt think it needed to be strained, and it was very smooth. Whole milk worked great.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2009

      I'm not going to give a star value because I think this recipe turned out the way it was supposed to. I was really looking for a different flavor and I thought this was too eggy. I think I had McDonald's soft serve in mind :) Thanks for the recipe, but I'll keep searching for the "right" one for me.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2012

      Fantastic recipe. Very creamy and smooth. Easy to make and I will definitely make it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2008

      Wow is this Ice Cream so Good! Loved eating this right out of the ice cream maker. Would not change a thing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2007

      I too used half and half instead of the whole milk and this turned out great. It was very creamy and smooth. It was fast too and I liked the fact that this is one recipe that does not require so many eggs. Jane

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2005

      This ice cream was really tasty. My husband loves it too. I made it with half and half instead of the whole milk, and heated the cream right along with it. Turned out great! Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2004

      This is the second ice cream recipe submitted by SueL that my husband and I have made, and both have been wonderful. We searched for an egg based recipe that wasn\\\'t too complicated or didn\\\'t require too many eggs (most seem to require 6+ = extra calories which I don\\\'t need). This recipe was perfect for us....it was simple to follow, only called for two egg yolks and gave a fantastic creamy flavor without it being too rich. We followed the recipe very closely (except for the fact that I accidentally grabbed a carton of half and half at the grocery store, instead of the full fat milk the recipe called for.) and it still turned out being delicious. The directions were very easy to follow, and the whole process took us about 40 minutes( 20 minutes to get the custard base, and 20 minutes in the ice cream machine(Cuisinart). It yielded the perfect amount for our ice cream machine. We froze it for about 4 hrs, and the consistency was perfect by then. This recipe was simply fantastic!!!! Creamy, rich, smooth texture, but not overly sweet or rich in flavour. Try it! Thanks for the submission SueL. We really enjoyed this ice cream, and will be making it very often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Vanilla Custard Ice Cream

    Serving Size: 1 (107 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 287.6
     
    Calories from Fat 216
    75%
    Total Fat 24.0 g
    36%
    Saturated Fat 14.6 g
    73%
    Cholesterol 126.0 mg
    42%
    Sodium 57.1 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.8 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 14.2 g
    56%
    Protein 2.7 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes