29 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

HOLY CREAM PUFFS!~~~ These are THE BEST cream puffs we have ever had---and my husband is Italian! A few things....the recipe calls for 1 5._ oz box of van pudding....Realized this after I added 1 3._ box (standard size)....had already folded in the whipped cream, but added it anyway...so two boxes of standard size pudding mix. Also, didnt do the chocolate on top, just plain and were great!...I used parchment paper.....Also, I didn't have to scoop anything out when done and they were perfect. I used a melon ball scoop and got about 20 with a lot of filling left over, so will be making another dough batch tonight. I used a pastry bag to fill and made it really easy.... This is 10 stars!!!!!!!!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luv2cookinpa March 14, 2011

Wow Robin, easily the most decadent treat I have made too date, here on Zaar. My personal favorite. It was so quick and easy to make, I'm scared. My head is telling me what I can add to it the next time, I make these, they are simply too good, I'm going to gain too much weight, but I can't help myself. The filling is perfection. Light, creamy and delicious. The puffs were crisp and tender...ohhh sooo good. I served mine garnished with a little icing sugar, so that the filling could shine...and shine it did. Thank you so much for sharing your recipe. It was my first time making puff pastry, but now, it will not be my last. I made 8 large puffs....Kudos...Baby Kato :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato February 22, 2010

These were awesome. I made 3 dozen mini cream puffs and used cool whip instead of whipped cream. I've been making cream puffs for a number of years and would use either pudding or cool whip for the filling. I never thought of mixing the two together and with the addition of almond extract, they were incredible. I take cream puffs to the family reunion every year so need to freeze them in advance. These froze and thawed out beautifully. Thanks so much for the great recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Connie Lea July 08, 2009

I can't believe I actually made cream puffs and they came out PERFECT! I made these about two weeks ago, but forgot to post my review. I did have to make the puffs twice because the first batch produced softball sized puffs that collapsed when they came out of oven. I remade the puff dough (which is simple to make) and used a small ice cream scooper to pour the puff batter onto the baking sheet. this batch came out perfect and were easy to open and fill once cooled. I got about 28 puffs the second time around and they lasted less than 1 day in my house. I will make this over and over, I felt like a professional baker when i was done! DELICIOUS! thanks again! Italianmomof2

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ItalianMomof2 June 16, 2009

wonderful wonderful! A fool can make these. Doubled the recipe. Started out brought the water, butter, and salt to boil, removed from heat, beat in the flour, got distracted, ccame back, spooned unto cookie sheet, put in oven. Daughter in-law walks in, asks if I wanted her to put the eggs away, OMG! I FORGOT THE EGGS! I whipped those puppies out of the oven and dumped them back into the saucepan, quickly beat them (they'd only been in for 30 sec. or less) I then proceeded to add the eggs, following directions very closely. Turned out so beautiful, high and puffy. Thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
L DJ March 17, 2007

This is pretty much the same way I make my cream puffs, except I never, NEVER thought to add the almond extract to the vanilla cream. It takes it to a completely different dimension! I also added a bit of the almond extract to the chocolate glaze, left out the cinnamon, and then sprinkled chopped sugared almonds on top. Totally TDF!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mirj May 26, 2003

I thought for sure I was going to mess this recipe up somehow, but it's so simple. I found this recipe because for the past couple of days my hubby had been requesting cream puffs. I actually just used the pastry recipe and then topped it with ice cream, chocolate syrup, cinnamon, honey, and a little whipped cream. It made a BEAUTIFUL presentation that looked like it came from a restaurant. Definitely try this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Oatmeal Doctor January 19, 2013

Made these for Easter dessert and brought them to share with family. Everyone loved them! The puffs baked wonderfully, and it was easy to remove the soft dough. I put the melted chocolate glaze into a sandwich baggie and clipped the corner to create a piping bag to drizzle it onto the puffs. Worked great! I'll definitey be making these again, but I may try using just fresh whipped cream for the filling just to lighten it up even more for summertime. Great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Archie's Little Cookie April 09, 2012

I always thought cream puffs were difficult to make. Who knew they were so easy! I made the cream puffs and then piped pumpkin fluff in them for the filling and drizzled with chocolate. They were to die for! Thanks for sharing such an easy and delicious recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
theragsdale3 October 11, 2011

It has been years since I have made cream puffs. DD was asking for them and I found your recipe. They are really easy to prepare and they tasted wonderful. I too only used a 3 OZ pkg of pudding but not matter, it still tasted great. I loved the hint of cinnamon in the chocolate drizzle. Thank you for sharing this yummy recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour August 22, 2011
Vanilla Cream Puffs