Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Vanilla Cream Puffs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Vanilla Cream Puffs

    Average Rating:

    29 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 29

    Sort by:

    • on March 14, 2011

      HOLY CREAM PUFFS!~~~ These are THE BEST cream puffs we have ever had---and my husband is Italian! A few things....the recipe calls for 1 5._ oz box of van pudding....Realized this after I added 1 3._ box (standard size)....had already folded in the whipped cream, but added it anyway...so two boxes of standard size pudding mix. Also, didnt do the chocolate on top, just plain and were great!...I used parchment paper.....Also, I didn't have to scoop anything out when done and they were perfect. I used a melon ball scoop and got about 20 with a lot of filling left over, so will be making another dough batch tonight. I used a pastry bag to fill and made it really easy.... This is 10 stars!!!!!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2010

      Wow Robin, easily the most decadent treat I have made too date, here on Zaar. My personal favorite. It was so quick and easy to make, I'm scared. My head is telling me what I can add to it the next time, I make these, they are simply too good, I'm going to gain too much weight, but I can't help myself. The filling is perfection. Light, creamy and delicious. The puffs were crisp and tender...ohhh sooo good. I served mine garnished with a little icing sugar, so that the filling could shine...and shine it did. Thank you so much for sharing your recipe. It was my first time making puff pastry, but now, it will not be my last. I made 8 large puffs....Kudos...Baby Kato :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2009

      These were awesome. I made 3 dozen mini cream puffs and used cool whip instead of whipped cream. I've been making cream puffs for a number of years and would use either pudding or cool whip for the filling. I never thought of mixing the two together and with the addition of almond extract, they were incredible. I take cream puffs to the family reunion every year so need to freeze them in advance. These froze and thawed out beautifully. Thanks so much for the great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2009

      I can't believe I actually made cream puffs and they came out PERFECT! I made these about two weeks ago, but forgot to post my review. I did have to make the puffs twice because the first batch produced softball sized puffs that collapsed when they came out of oven. I remade the puff dough (which is simple to make) and used a small ice cream scooper to pour the puff batter onto the baking sheet. this batch came out perfect and were easy to open and fill once cooled. I got about 28 puffs the second time around and they lasted less than 1 day in my house. I will make this over and over, I felt like a professional baker when i was done! DELICIOUS! thanks again! Italianmomof2

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2007

      wonderful wonderful! A fool can make these. Doubled the recipe. Started out brought the water, butter, and salt to boil, removed from heat, beat in the flour, got distracted, ccame back, spooned unto cookie sheet, put in oven. Daughter in-law walks in, asks if I wanted her to put the eggs away, OMG! I FORGOT THE EGGS! I whipped those puppies out of the oven and dumped them back into the saucepan, quickly beat them (they'd only been in for 30 sec. or less) I then proceeded to add the eggs, following directions very closely. Turned out so beautiful, high and puffy. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2003

      This is pretty much the same way I make my cream puffs, except I never, NEVER thought to add the almond extract to the vanilla cream. It takes it to a completely different dimension! I also added a bit of the almond extract to the chocolate glaze, left out the cinnamon, and then sprinkled chopped sugared almonds on top. Totally TDF!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2013

      I thought for sure I was going to mess this recipe up somehow, but it's so simple. I found this recipe because for the past couple of days my hubby had been requesting cream puffs. I actually just used the pastry recipe and then topped it with ice cream, chocolate syrup, cinnamon, honey, and a little whipped cream. It made a BEAUTIFUL presentation that looked like it came from a restaurant. Definitely try this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2012

      Made these for Easter dessert and brought them to share with family. Everyone loved them! The puffs baked wonderfully, and it was easy to remove the soft dough. I put the melted chocolate glaze into a sandwich baggie and clipped the corner to create a piping bag to drizzle it onto the puffs. Worked great! I'll definitey be making these again, but I may try using just fresh whipped cream for the filling just to lighten it up even more for summertime. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2011

      I always thought cream puffs were difficult to make. Who knew they were so easy! I made the cream puffs and then piped pumpkin fluff in them for the filling and drizzled with chocolate. They were to die for! Thanks for sharing such an easy and delicious recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2011

      It has been years since I have made cream puffs. DD was asking for them and I found your recipe. They are really easy to prepare and they tasted wonderful. I too only used a 3 OZ pkg of pudding but not matter, it still tasted great. I loved the hint of cinnamon in the chocolate drizzle. Thank you for sharing this yummy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2011

      I had half a box of Trader Joes' brand instant vanilla pudding to use up in the pantry and this recipe made good use of it. I forget how easy cream puffs are to make! One problem I encountered at the end was once the chocolate sauce started to melt it quickly started to harden and I had to skip the sauce. In its place to add color and contrast for taking a picture, I threw a few mini chocolate chips on top of each cream puff. Reviewed for Best of 2010.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2009

      fabulous. tripled the batch & used my med pampered chef scooper to give me 75 small-med puffs. used pure cream for half & the other half I used your recipe, but used chocolate instead of vanilla pudding. love this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2009

      I made these tonight and took them to my hubby at work. He said they were the best thing I've ever cooked. I didn't put the chocolate glaze on I just dusted it with powdered sugar because I was afraid of it being to rich. Hubby said he was glad I did. This was an easy recipe and I will be making it again soon. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2009

      I made this with my friend and I, and it came out gorgeous! We both made four huge cream puffs with all the batter. It was pretty burnt on top but we covered it with chocolate. After the puffs were finished baking and we opened it, it was completely hollow inside. We didn't even need to remove any soft dough. I'm very happy about that. However the glaze was not as liquid-y as I expected to be. It was too thick to drizzle over the cream puffs and we ended up scooping it up with a spoon and plopping it on top. Everything was good expect for the glaze. I think it would have been nice if the puffs were not refrigerated but the filling was. I felt that I missed out on the "crispiness" right after it was finished baking before putting it in the refrigerator.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2009

      These are so easy to make and pretty much foolproof. They are much easier to make than one would expect them to be. The dough is easy to work with. I used a previous reviewer's suggestion to use a cookie dough scoop. I got 12 modestly sized puffs - just the right size in my opinion. I also like the filling. My daughter - whom I was making these for, didn't like the almond extract flavor, but I thought it was nice. She also wanted them "plain" without the glaze. Silly girl! This is a go-to recipe when you want a beautiful dessert that is sure to impress.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2009

      WOW!! These were easy to prepare and the finished product was spectacular. I made the puffs the first night, sliced them and then sealed in a container. The second night I did the filling. I was not able to find the pudding in the size specified but subbed 2 smaller boxes of the instant white chocolate. I piped in the filling and had very little leftover. I was afraid that making them ahead of time would result in a mushy puff but they turned out great. This is definitely a keeper and I will be making them again. I used a small cookie dough scoop and they still came out just a little smaller than a tennis ball. Next time I will try my smallest scoop as I would like to make them bite size. I could eat a tray of these myself! Thanks for the recipe Robin.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2009

      These were awesome! I made them for Valentine's Day and tinted the filling pink. I'm not a big fan of almond flavoring but I'm glad I added it because it really did do something for the finished product. For the glaze I used the Baker's chocolate dark chocolate melts and added the cinnamon. I used the leftover melted chocolate to dip some strawberries and arranged them on a platter with the puffs. Fantastic!! Next time I may go with another reviewer's suggestion and try the white chocolate pudding instead of vanilla, but these were so easy and so pretty-I loved making and eating them! For some reason I thought I could never make cream puffs but now thanks to Robin I can!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2008

      I had never made cream puffs before even though my mother and grandmother have always made them. These were really good. The only thing I did different was made my own chocolate sauce and dusted them with powdered sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2008

      Cream puffs turned out just like the pictures. I also got way more filling than necessary, so I will halve the recipe next time and use unsalted butter. Also, found cream puffs were a little large, so made them 1.5-2 inches in diameter to make them bite-sized. Skipped the chocolate and dusted with powdered sugar. Good reviews from several couples.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2007

    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Vanilla Cream Puffs

    Serving Size: 1 (174 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 544.8
     
    Calories from Fat 369
    67%
    Total Fat 41.0 g
    63%
    Saturated Fat 24.5 g
    122%
    Cholesterol 211.4 mg
    70%
    Sodium 516.7 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 38.2 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 21.4 g
    85%
    Protein 7.9 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites