Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Vanilla Coconut Bars Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Vanilla Coconut Bars

    Average Rating:

    30 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 30

    Sort by:

    • on January 16, 2003

      As always, another wonderful recipe from Chef Inez! I could only find Duncan Hines French Vanilla and it turned out great, the mixture was thick and gooey so I had no idea if I was doing this right, but it turned out great. I think I prefer it w/o the melted chocolate...not as sweet. I just love the taste of coconut and that combined w/the vanilla is oh so YUMMY! I'm posting a pic, hope this is what your's look like lol

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2002

      Step 11 said it all. "Cool". I made this for guests at a Barbie, and "Whooshka" all gone in sixty seconds. I've got to make more so I can get my fair share next time. Simply brilliant! Try 'em you'll like 'em.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2002

      If you like coconut , this is as good as it gets !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2002

      These bars are wonderful!! (Since the dough is a little sticky, I buttered my fingers first - then spread the dough in the pan.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2002

      I love coconut, and these had a wonderful taste. I was a little leary about the cake mix though, it smelled so sweet, I couldn't imagine the bars not being too too sweet, but they were very moist, and flavorful, definitely for the coconut lover!!! P.S. I made these for the cookie-thon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2002

    • on February 24, 2003

      Very tasty and very easy to make. A little too "vanilla" sweet for me but company seemed to enjoy. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2009

      WOW! These are amazing! Instead of drizzling the chocolate on top, I stirred in chocolate chips before baking. Delicious!!! I'll be making these often.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2007

      Excellent bars! I also added 1 tsp of coconut extract and omitted the chocolate glaze in favor of mixing 1 cup white chips into the batter. I used my KitchenAid since everyone said how thick the dough was. That made it a SNAP! I will make these again but I think next time I will add chopped macadamias to the dough and I will use the chocolate drizzle as well. Think it will be a nice contrast. Great chewy texture and excellent flavor. A nice (easier & less expensive) alternative to macaroons.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2004

      very easy, and quick. i found these a bit sweet, but the kids loved them!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2003

      Excellent! These were easy to make and came out perfect. My boyfriend and grandpa both love coconut and really liked these. They came out almost the consistency of a brownie. I also could only find Duncan Hines french vanilla mix, but it worked fine. Instead of melting the chocolate chips, I just added them to the mix before baking and it turned out great! Next time I might use a full cup of chips. Two things that helped make this easier: 1 - I used a pastry blender to cut the butter in with the cake mix, and then again to mix in the coconut. 2 - I laid wax paper over the mixture after I put it in the pan and then pressed it into the edges with my hands.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2003

      We love coconut and chocolate and this is wonderful! So simple my 13 year old daughter made them, we are using them for our cookie swap thanks for sharing

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2011

      Im giving this 5 stars because I made this and took it to work. Poof, it was gone! The only thing I changed was to add glazed marachino cherries on top before I put on the chocolate. Had to give out the recipe to everyone. Even one of my single guys said he was making it for desert for Christmas! Can't argue with that!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2009

      These were great, family loved them! The dough was a bit hard to work with, but I bet a hand mixer with dough hooks would work great! Very chewy, moist (even though when you are mixing it is seems thick and a bit dry)....a successful surprise :) Thanks for quick and easy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2008

      easy to make and extremely tasty. would make these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2008

      Loved by all! I used peanut M&M's on top for Easter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2007

      YUM-YUM-YUM!!!!!!! These were so easy and so good!! Can't wait to bring them to my mother-in-laws for xmas eve! Thanks for the excellent recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2007

      Loved this recipe. I made a couple of changes, I added white chocolate chips to the batter and added a tsp. coconut extract with the vanilla and I did not drizzle any chocolate on top. A very sweet treat. A few words about the dough, the dough is sticky and hard to mix, a big blob of gooey sweetness, however, once blended and pressed into the baking pan everything comes out perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2007

      Yum. Made this for book club tonight and everyone loved it. I wasn't sure about the dough. I was worried I had made it wrong but, no fear, it was perfect. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2006

      Great cake - so soft and gooey and heaven for a coconut-lover. Perfect instructions and easy to make with minimum fuss.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Vanilla Coconut Bars

    Serving Size: 1 (37 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 24

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 172.5
     
    Calories from Fat 88
    51%
    Total Fat 9.7 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 5.7 g
    28%
    Cholesterol 14.9 mg
    4%
    Sodium 171.6 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.6 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 11.8 g
    47%
    Protein 1.7 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes