12 Reviews

this cake was alright, but i found it very dry, and flavourless [i even added a little extra vanilla]. i dont know if i'll make it again.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jesse&Rayye August 29, 2006

I'm giving this recipe five stars because it was easily made vegan. While it didn't have a lot of flavor (I'll make a note to use more vanilla next time), the batter was a wonderful consistency and it baked and rose nicely. I made cupcakes and they turned out moist and fluffy. The icing I made was sweet and flavorful, so that made up for the miminal flavor in the cupcakes themselves.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
serazenasweetie August 30, 2009

I substituted the shortening for margarine.....awesome recipe I used it to make cup cakes they came out awesome!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tasha_alexander0102 August 04, 2007

every time I made this cake the center wouldn't get cooked at ALL!!!!! :[

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
littlemisszoechef August 31, 2013

I've made this twice and got very good results each time for an easy, moist and delicately flavored cake. I don't like using shortening so 1/2 cup canola oil was substituted. The first time I made the recipe, I didn't have enough milk so I used powdered buttermilk with 1 cup water and adjusted the leavening just in case to 1 1/2 tsp baking powder and 1 1/2 tsp baking soda. We actually liked that version even better. Both times I baked them in a greased 8 X 8 pan for 40-45 minutes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Spotz August 22, 2013

I made this for my dad's birthday and was told it was amazing.... and it was! It wasn't too sweet or too moist, but it wasn't dry either. Oh so yummy. This is going to be my new go-to recipe for vanilla cake.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Culinary Creationist June 20, 2011

Excellent cake. Made it for my son-in-laws birthday. Very moist & delicious. Big hit! Served with strawberries & the chocolate sauce. Didn't last long :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JYS May 12, 2011

Very good cupcakes. i used margarine and added 1/2 tsp salt as some reviewers found it bland. I will make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Yellow Lab Lover January 24, 2011

Thought this made a great cake. I made cream cheese icing and added a little cherries jubilee on top but otherwise, tasted great even with 1/2 wheat flour.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dkyper October 18, 2010

this is great

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hafsknasidi12 January 17, 2010
Vanilla Cake