Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Vanilla Buttercream Frosting (From Sprinkles Cupcakes) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Vanilla Buttercream Frosting (From Sprinkles Cupcakes)

    Average Rating:

    245 Total Reviews

    Showing 81-100 of 245

    Sort by:

    • on October 30, 2012

      Many great reviews already. I used salted sweet cream butter, and omitted the salt. Melted a frozen stick of butter in the microwave, and then added the sugar and vanilla with electric mixer. I made half the recipe and frosted a pumpkin spice cake. Spectacular. I might never buy canned frosting again. Must admit, I licked the bowl. Should have let the frosting set longer on the counter to form up before I frosted the cake. Will definitely keep this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2012

      This is the easiest frosting recipe I've ever made and the absolute best. I love the salty, sweet combination. Like several people said, it's a bit thick. I had trouble squeezing it through my make shift frosting bag; a zip lock bag with a corner cut off to hold the tip. No way to spread the frosting over my cupcakes. So I added just enough milk to allow the frosting to squeeze through, but not enough to make it soft. It was great. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2012

      amazing recipe, got great reveiw from the family aswell, my new favorite recipe , Thank-You.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2012

      This frosting is pretty good- my husband loves it. I also added some Cream of Tartar. It seems to be a little gritty though. We like the saltiness to it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2012

      Very good. Made in my kitchenaid mixer tonight after a sudden sweet tooth had me craving cupcakes. I halved the recipe because I only made 6 cupcakes. I found that I had to add 3 times as much milk to get it to the right consistency.. no big deal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2012

      I have never been good at making frosting. My mom always made it, and it always looked so easy when she did it. Tried a bunch of recipes and the consistancy never turned out right, or it was too sweet. This had a perfect balance of flavor!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2012

      found this recipe looking for a quicker lighter buttercream but it didnt work. I followed the directions to a TEE and it came out like soup... I needed to frost 24 cupcakes... I figured with all of the rave reviews on it, it would be perfect but for me it wasnt....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2012

      I really liked this simple and easy frosting. Used it today on my sons birthday cupcakes and it was great. I halved the recipe and didn't use the salt, (as I used margarine, so didn't need the salt.) beat it up, then changed to the whip attachment. Turned out great! Will use again! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2012

      Yep, I agree with everybody else, this frosting is excellent. I did reduce the powdered sugar to 3 cups, as another reviewer suggested. I thought it was perfect this way (liquid content seemed fine). The slight saltiness is yummy. I used it to frost a two layer 8 inch vanilla fudge marble cake (BH&G recipe), and there was just enough for the job. I will double it in the future to make sure I have enough.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2012

      This is the recipe I have been searching for! Thank you so much for sharing! I have made cupcakes twice with it and everyone just loves it! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2012

      Yum. Great icing recipe. Used it on cookie cake. Delicious! :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2012

      This frosting is wonderful! I piped it on a batch of homemade cupcakes and was able to generously cover 18 cupcakes. I tinted it with 1 drop of red food coloring and it was a lovely shade of pink. Will definitely be my go-to frosting recipe from now on! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2012

      I don't like vanilla frosting...normally. This stuff is great! I do have to thin it a little more to get it to spread a little better but it has a good flavor and doesn't leave that "chap-stick" feel to your lips that frosting with shortening do. Thanks~!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2012

      I made this frosting for my sponge wafer cake , but i used only 1 and half cup of sugar and 3/4 cup butter and pinch salt and 1/4 cup cream and 1/8 tsp of cream of tarter and beat it till fluffy and it turned out too gud....because i dont like so much sweetness.thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2012

      Just made this recipe to frost some cupcakes. I followed the recipe but subsituted whipping cream in place of the milk (I had it and wanted to use it). Very smooth and creamy! The icing piped easily onto the cupcakes (something I've never done before) and looks nice too (if I do say so myself). Thank you for posting this recipe! I'm sure that I'll be using this as my "go to" icing recipe from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2012

      This frosting is way too sweet and thick! The confectioners suger does not dissolve in the mixture and that is all I tasted in the frosting. I was very upset that I wasted my ingredients. I don't think that this is the true recipe that Sprinkles uses, there is no way they would give out their secret recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2012

      This uses twice as much butter as my usually recipe - and it tasted so much better! I frosted 24 cupcakes and 12 cookies with a single batch. :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2012

      This is wonderfully sweet frosting! It was a little too thick to for me to pipe, so I added a bit more milk until it was the perfect consistency. This is a great recipe that I will use again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2012

      I just made this recipe. I found it in an online search after I was reading the ingredients on a canned frosting I had bought. So many preservatives and chemicals :( So I actually went out and bought the ingredients as I having had many baking ingredients in the house since Christmas. I used it to frost a 9 X 13 inch Duncan Hines Devil's Food cake (I will also have to try making my own cakes from scratch as well). I followed the recipe exactly, except that I left the salt out. I wanted to taste the frosting first without the salt and both myself and my husband liked it so much, we didn't want to add the salt the first time out. I will try it with the salt next time. So far, the frosting is delicious (from our scooping some out of the mixing bowl to sample it :) We will be trying it on the cake shortly and I will update. Really great flavor though on it's own and the consistency gets smoother the longer you whip the frosting (I used my Kitchen Aid mixer to make the frosting). I can see how it can rip up the top of the cake a little at first. One remedy for this is to put a thin layer down first to seal the cake and then put the remainder of the frosting on top of that thin layer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2012

      I love this recipe. I've made it twice and It is perfect both times. I even added vanilla beans in stead of the vanilla extract: AMAZING!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Vanilla Buttercream Frosting (From Sprinkles Cupcakes)

    Serving Size: 1 (657 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 273.0
     
    Calories from Fat 138
    50%
    Total Fat 15.3 g
    23%
    Saturated Fat 9.7 g
    48%
    Cholesterol 40.7 mg
    13%
    Sodium 160.2 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 34.9 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 34.2 g
    137%
    Protein 0.1 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes