Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Vanilla Buttercream Frosting (From Sprinkles Cupcakes) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Vanilla Buttercream Frosting (From Sprinkles Cupcakes)

    Average Rating:

    243 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 243

    Sort by:

    • on September 18, 2011

      I made this frosting last week when I was trying to duplicate CakeLove's 44 cupcake. It was delicious and I had rave reviews from my family. I just made the frosting again today and tweaked it to suit my own taste. I thought the frosting was too sweet and difficult to spread, so to fix that I only used 3 cups of powdered sugar, two TBS of half & half (instead of the milk), and I added 1/4 tsp of Cream of Tartar to help stabilize it. Otherwise I followed the directions. It turned out exactly as I wanted it to. I was able to spread it easily and it wasn't too sweet. It would be perfect for the 44 cupcake since that has caramel drizzled over the top. It was just too sweet for me in the original recipe. I love how easy this is to make!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2011

      Excellent!! I halved the recipe and frosted 17 cupcakes with it. I left out the salt and used salted butter. Worked great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2010

      Never had Sprinkles cupcakes but based on the reviews thought I'd give it a try. This is very yummy! I usually don't even eat frosting and I scrape it off anything that has it cause I don't like that thick greasy feel it leaves in your mouth. These don't do that, they are great texture and flavor - not to mention super easy! I made exactly as directed and added some food coloring to make them pink roses. Thanks for sharing!! UPDATE: Since my first review I've now made this to frost cupcakes several times and love it more each time! Everyone raves when I make these! I like sweet with a little salty taste to it so I use salted sweet cream butter, softened on the counter top, and I use kosher salt where it calls for salt. This pipes on beautifully and just looks great in any color - with or without sprinkles! Thanks again for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2011

      Put Sprinkles vanilla frosting against your standard buttercream and Sprinkles' recipe wins every taste test, hands down. It's addictive with the sweet/salty combination - you just want more and more, and I'm not usually a big frosting person. Add a little more milk to overcome any dryness you may experience. I have become the cupcake queen of my daughter's high school due to this recipe, as her friends clamor for more of Mrs. C's cupcakes they are actually willing to talk to me, a parent (not a bad way to keep in touch with your kid's high school peers!).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2011

      Made this to frost cupcakes using a Wilton 1M tip and it worked great. (Following the directions on their website for the spiral.) I only got to 18 cupcakes with 1 batch so next time will make 1.5 batches.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2011

      Yum! This is a very good buttercream! I used salted butter & 3 cups of powdered sugar, and it came out excellent. I spread it over The Only Chocolate Cake Recipe You'll Ever Need! (Devil's Food) (chocolate cake) that I made in an 9x13 pan, then sprinkled on some mini chocolate chips. :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2010

      This is very good. I did make a few changes. I used one tablespoon of vanilla, one tablespoon of heavy whipping cream, and one tablespoon of Bailey's Irish Cream.
      *YUM*

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2010

      I just have to say thank you, thank you, THANK YOU for posting this recipe. I have been looking for a buttercream recipe for a couple of years now, and they have all failed in some way. They either tasted too much like milk, or were not thick enough, or just blah.. THIS recipe is IT! It is absolutely perfect. Perfect texture, perfect sweetness, and I really like the flavor that the salt adds. I'm so happy my search for a good frosting recipe is over :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2009

      This is a quick, easy and delicious recipe! I decorated 200 vanilla, devil's food and strawberry cupcakes for a cupcake wedding cake, and the guests all raved! I did make several small changes: I only used 3 cups of confectioners' sugar and increased the vanilla extract to 1 1/2 teaspoons. I also used unsalted butter. This made the icing less sweet and more buttery. Also, if you want white icing, use clear vanilla extract. YUMMY!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2010

      started making cakes for all the birthdays i go to and i love using this frosting (can't help but give the spoon a lick..), the little bit of salt makes it a little different than the rest. way better than store bought frosting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2010

      This frosting does taste good but with the low liquid content another reviewer mentioned, it was not a very spreadable frosting. I tried to ice my Quick Yellow Cake (38966) and it tore the cake. I needed to soften it up a bit. I think this recipe is perfect for cupcakes or piping.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2012

      The clouds have parted and the angels are singing. This recipe is such a great jumping point if you are looking for a buttercream recipe you can make tour own. I tweaked it a tiny bit as follows: I only used 3 cups xxx sugar, 2T milk, 1t clear vanilla (Wilton), and I added 1/4t meringue powder (Wilton). Same butter and salt ratio as recipe. It was DELICIOUS. The PERFECT buttercream for cupcakes. I was able to frost 22 cupcakes using a 1M tip. I would probably make a 1&1/2 batch next time and use more frosting on each cupcake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2010

      i LOVED it the salty after taste is different but i liked, a lot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2010

      Light, fluffy and so easy to make. A little sweet for me but honestly most frosting is. Everyone else loved it. I frosted 19 cupcakes generously (about 1/4 cup or more per cupcake) and still had some left over. thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2010

      I halved this recipe and still had enough to frost 20 cupcakes. Everyone LOVED the frosting -and for those who have had Sprinkles cupcakes/frosting - said this was BETTER!!! I will definitely make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2010

      My daughter used this recipe to frost funfetti cupcakes for her High School graduation party. It was very easy to work with, and we found that one batch frosted about 18 cupcakes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2010

      amazaing amazing!! just when you think it's too dry, keep whipping! turns out perfect!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2010

      Very good, I needed to add TONS more vanilla though. Then it was perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2013

      This icing is perfect whether you're simply spreading it onto a cake or piping it. It holds its shape very well and tastes amazing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2012

      It was weird. like bread haha. very good though! but i used regular flour. that might have made a difference.... hahah

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 13

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Vanilla Buttercream Frosting (From Sprinkles Cupcakes)

    Serving Size: 1 (657 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 273.0
     
    Calories from Fat 138
    50%
    Total Fat 15.3 g
    23%
    Saturated Fat 9.7 g
    48%
    Cholesterol 40.7 mg
    13%
    Sodium 160.2 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 34.9 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 34.2 g
    137%
    Protein 0.1 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites