258 Reviews

I made this frosting last week when I was trying to duplicate CakeLove's 44 cupcake. It was delicious and I had rave reviews from my family. I just made the frosting again today and tweaked it to suit my own taste. I thought the frosting was too sweet and difficult to spread, so to fix that I only used 3 cups of powdered sugar, two TBS of half & half (instead of the milk), and I added 1/4 tsp of Cream of Tartar to help stabilize it. Otherwise I followed the directions. It turned out exactly as I wanted it to. I was able to spread it easily and it wasn't too sweet. It would be perfect for the 44 cupcake since that has caramel drizzled over the top. It was just too sweet for me in the original recipe. I love how easy this is to make!

29 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
3tmom3t September 18, 2011

Excellent!! I halved the recipe and frosted 17 cupcakes with it. I left out the salt and used salted butter. Worked great.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HawaiianBaker May 19, 2011

Never had Sprinkles cupcakes but based on the reviews thought I'd give it a try. This is very yummy! I usually don't even eat frosting and I scrape it off anything that has it cause I don't like that thick greasy feel it leaves in your mouth. These don't do that, they are great texture and flavor - not to mention super easy! I made exactly as directed and added some food coloring to make them pink roses. Thanks for sharing!! UPDATE: Since my first review I've now made this to frost cupcakes several times and love it more each time! Everyone raves when I make these! I like sweet with a little salty taste to it so I use salted sweet cream butter, softened on the counter top, and I use kosher salt where it calls for salt. This pipes on beautifully and just looks great in any color - with or without sprinkles! Thanks again for sharing!

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef DNA1611 July 16, 2010

Put Sprinkles vanilla frosting against your standard buttercream and Sprinkles' recipe wins every taste test, hands down. It's addictive with the sweet/salty combination - you just want more and more, and I'm not usually a big frosting person. Add a little more milk to overcome any dryness you may experience. I have become the cupcake queen of my daughter's high school due to this recipe, as her friends clamor for more of Mrs. C's cupcakes they are actually willing to talk to me, a parent (not a bad way to keep in touch with your kid's high school peers!).

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tanky26 January 10, 2011

This is very good. I did make a few changes. I used one tablespoon of vanilla, one tablespoon of heavy whipping cream, and one tablespoon of Bailey's Irish Cream.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mmmagique September 05, 2010

This is a quick, easy and delicious recipe! I decorated 200 vanilla, devil's food and strawberry cupcakes for a cupcake wedding cake, and the guests all raved! I did make several small changes: I only used 3 cups of confectioners' sugar and increased the vanilla extract to 1 1/2 teaspoons. I also used unsalted butter. This made the icing less sweet and more buttery. Also, if you want white icing, use clear vanilla extract. YUMMY!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kimsgems September 21, 2009

Made this to frost cupcakes using a Wilton 1M tip and it worked great. (Following the directions on their website for the spiral.) I only got to 18 cupcakes with 1 batch so next time will make 1.5 batches.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aimeemarie May 17, 2011

Yum! This is a very good buttercream! I used salted butter & 3 cups of powdered sugar, and it came out excellent. I spread it over The Only Chocolate Cake Recipe You'll Ever Need! (Devil's Food) (chocolate cake) that I made in an 9x13 pan, then sprinkled on some mini chocolate chips. :-)

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lola59 January 22, 2011

started making cakes for all the birthdays i go to and i love using this frosting (can't help but give the spoon a lick..), the little bit of salt makes it a little different than the rest. way better than store bought frosting!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~*lil_miss_SBC*~ July 23, 2010

I just have to say thank you, thank you, THANK YOU for posting this recipe. I have been looking for a buttercream recipe for a couple of years now, and they have all failed in some way. They either tasted too much like milk, or were not thick enough, or just blah.. THIS recipe is IT! It is absolutely perfect. Perfect texture, perfect sweetness, and I really like the flavor that the salt adds. I'm so happy my search for a good frosting recipe is over :)

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
becca316 February 12, 2010
Vanilla Buttercream Frosting (From Sprinkles Cupcakes)