Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Vanilla Buttercream Frosting Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Vanilla Buttercream Frosting

    Average Rating:

    38 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 38

    Sort by:

    • on April 28, 2005

      I made the frosting today and it turned out tooo sweet. I used 1 cup of powdered sugar, just as called for, but I ended up throwing it away after letting my husband and friend tasted it. I tried the second time without the sugar just butter and marshmallow. It turned out better.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2003

      This was very fluffy and light. A great recipe. From Brewhead

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2010

      Amazing! Loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2010

      Very fluffy frosting. Spreads on very nicely, looks beautiful on a cake, but WAY TOO SWEET.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2010

      BEST.FROSTING.EVER. I have made tons of different frosting and this is by far the best I have ever tasted! It tastes exactly like vanilla ice cream. Yum! Not too sweet, not buttery or gritty, it is perfect! Spreads great too. My new go to recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2010

      Have been looking for a frosting with flavor for my homemade/ decorated cakes. Found one!!!! Love this! It has flavor and is sinfully delicious! Hubby wanted a cake with whipped cream frosting bought from the store for his b-day, but after trying this one he wanted this instead. That is saying a lot!! Thanks for the submit!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2010

      This is such a great butter cream recipe. It is so easy to make. It make it for dark chocolate cake, oreo cookies cupcake and I mix flake coconut for my pineapple coconut cake. AWESOME.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2010

      I'm a frosting hater from way back, but this I love. It was easy-peasy and yummy, too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2010

      This is good and easy for when you need a nice basic frosting. I used unsalted butter as NellieGirl recommended and this was good on Oreo Cookie Cupcakes, but a little heavy for the lightness of those cupcakes but tasty with the Oreos. I will use this again when I need a quick easy white frosting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2010

      MizzNezz, you are SO right...this IS the best!! I have my new favorite frosting forever. It was extremely easy to make. I used this to frost vanilla cupcakes, perfect. The only thing I recommend to others is to use unsalted butter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2010

      Unfortunately neither my boyfriend nor myself liked this frosting. I made it to frost onto a vanilla cake but the flavor was horrible. It tastes like butter and slightly bitter, yet sweet at the same time. The consistency is comparable to a thick whipped butter. I tried refrigerating it then whipping it again but that did not help.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2010

      LOVED IT!!!! Had a very nice texture, and it wasn't too sweet. Will be using this one again and again. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2010

      Awesome! I also used with KittenCal's vanilla cupcakes. Came out wonderful! thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2010

      I do *not* know how to cook or bake and this recipe looked do-able to me. I made it with my 8 year old and her 7 year old friend and it turned out wonderful! Definitely sweet, but not overly sweet. Soooo yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2009

      This is the best! I made this the first time for a 4th of July party, all of our friends and kids loved it I have given this recipe out to several people all with the same results as I had - Not too sweet, easy to work with! next time I will try with Kittencal's marshmallow fluff recipe - Thanks !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2009

      This is a great buttercream frosting. I made for my kids birthdays and everyone loved it. It's a great alternative to your classic buttercream frosting. Just perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2009

      Easy to make and to work with. Doubled the recipe for use with a chocolate triple layer cake. For my tastes this didn't have enough sweetness to balance the large amount of butter, but we enjoyed trying it! Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2009

      I make this all the time and it is wonderful and easy. The kids love licking the bowl clean with this one. I also have used margarine sticks more times than I can count and it comes out great too. I especially like tinting this pink with some red food coloring and frosting it on my Fudgy Chocolate Cupcakes (Or Cake) with some colored sprinkles (jimmies). The kids go crazy over it when I do that.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2009

      I used this to top Chai Latte Cupcakes (From Betty Crocker). Wonderful, Wonderful. I don't need to say more!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2009

      I love this recipe. It's so easy to make and tastes great on cupcakes. I get so many compliments on this frosting. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Vanilla Buttercream Frosting

    Serving Size: 1 (550 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 915.1
     
    Calories from Fat 554
    60%
    Total Fat 61.6 g
    94%
    Saturated Fat 38.9 g
    194%
    Cholesterol 162.6 mg
    54%
    Sodium 489.2 mg
    20%
    Total Carbohydrate 92.3 g
    30%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 70.3 g
    281%
    Protein 1.1 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites