Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Vanilla Buttercream Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Vanilla Buttercream

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on April 17, 2010

      Very simple and held up well. I substituted lemon juice for the milk for a very lemony icing, and it was great. Much simpler than the double boiler/egg varieties.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2011

      YUMMY! I could eat this entire batch straight from the mixer! I suggest adding seeds from 1 to 2 vanilla pods for a natural vanilla flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2009

      This was a wonderful, simple buttercream! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2009

      I love this recipe but I replaced the milk with whipping cream & used much less powdered sugar

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2009

      5 stars b/c it's idiot proof. I accidentally used 1 cup of milk instead of 1/2 and didnt' notice until after I frosted my cupcakes! I used about 8 1/2 cups of sugar and thought 'wow, it's a tad runnier than I would like'. But I spread it on my cupcakes anyway without incient! And, obviously, I have a ton of leftover frosting. Idiot proof!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2008

      This was such a HIT! The party goers loved it! I think this will be one of my staple recipes for cakes. It does tend be on the sweeter side but I added the minimum amount of sugar suggested in the recipe, and it was fine. At least, I don't have to schlep all the way downtown to Magnolia's anymore.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2008

      Lovely. I made this to fill a rich chocolate cake and I flavoured it with Boysenberry Juice and it was really nice. Thank you for a good recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2007

      This is a yummy buttercream frosting. I scaled it down since I only needed some for decorating the top of my cake -- this is the white, peach-tinted and red-tinted frosting on the Mickey Mouse cake I made for my son's 3rd birthday. I will be excited to use this as my basic white frosting from now on. Thanks, ratherbeswimmin'!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2007

      I really liked this! I've only made a handful of buttercream recipes (and no cooked ones) but this is by far my favorite! It's a nice soft consistency and I really like the flavor of the butter. I think the two 9 inch cake estimate is perfect (I've not done cupcakes).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2007

      I just made this and must say it is the best I've made. I've made many others from cookbooks in the past but this is the tops! Super easy to make. A tip I learned from food network is to always blend any vanilla into the fat of the recipe and it will preserve the vanilla taste. This applies mostly to heated foods but I mixed the vanilla with the butter first out of habit. I always double vanilla in all my recipes which I did here also. I can't stop eating it right from the bowl. De-double-lish !!! Thanks NurseDi!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2007

      Four stars because I didn't really follow the recipe. I used a cup of butter, 4 cups of powdered sugar, a few splashes of milk, two teaspoons vanilla, and a dash of salt. Using that combination, I give it FIVE stars because it was DELICIOUS and I could not stop eating it!!! It didn't quite make enough to frost all of my cupcakes (despite my nibbling). It did crust very nicely, though. SO GOOD!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2007

      This is so yummy! It is very sweet which is good or bad depending on your tastes, but everyone who ate my cupcakes with this on top said it was delicious! One complaint though...the recipe makes WAY too much for 24 cupcakes! I found that I had at least half the recipe left over, but it keeps for a while so it wasnt too bad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2007

      This is very easy and delicious! I actually used almond extract in the place of the vanilla (I love the flavor of almond)and it was great. I used this with Magnolia Bakery Vanilla Cupcakes for a valentine's party, and they were a hit! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2006

      I didn't like the consistency and found it too sweet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2006

      Crusted wonderfully; It is extremely and unfortunately sweet; I added much less powdered sugar than called for (about half of recipe) to make a nice spreading consistency frosting and then added a pinch of salt to cut the sweetness to the full recipe. It was still so sweet that I gave up on vanilla and added unsweetened cocoa.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2006

      I'd never made buttercream before, but I wanted to make a castle cake for my daughter's 4th birthday party, and after experimenting with canned frosting, I realized I needed a frosting that would create a crust. I found other recipes that called for Crisco (ew!), but this one looked much tastier. I was skeptical about using butter since we live in the deep south, but it worked out fine. It was easy to make, even for an inexperienced baker like me. It was easy to work with and tasted great. I did keep the cake in the fridge so the butter wouldn't melt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2006

      A very creamy and rich frosting. Used this to frost your cupcake Vanilla Buttercream. Thanks Nurse Di. Bullwinkle.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2006

      At first, the thought of all the sugar was not appetizing when I decided to make this for my daughter's birthday cupcakes. I made half a recipe and it was plenty for a recipe of cupcakes (24). If I'm not mistaken, I only used 3 cups of sugar to 1/2 cup of butter and 1/4 cup of milk and it turned out just fine!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2005

      Easy to make and tastes great too. We were looking for a quick and easy buttercream recipe for a last minute birthday cake. This worked out perfect. We used less powdered sugar than it called for, actually. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2005

      The taste of this frosting was really good, once I got it to a consistency suitable for spreading. However, I ended up needing even MORE than 8 cups of powdered sugar in order to make it thick enough to spread and not run. If you ask me, that's a bit too much. So, next time I will decrease the milk a bit. Otherwise, though, this was good. I used it to frost a very chocolatey cake, and my guests really enjoyed it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Vanilla Buttercream

    Serving Size: 1 (1077 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 2265.3
     
    Calories from Fat 848
    37%
    Total Fat 94.2 g
    145%
    Saturated Fat 59.6 g
    298%
    Cholesterol 252.5 mg
    84%
    Sodium 49.9 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 362.6 g
    120%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 352.7 g
    1410%
    Protein 2.9 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites