20 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very simple and held up well. I substituted lemon juice for the milk for a very lemony icing, and it was great. Much simpler than the double boiler/egg varieties.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mudflower April 17, 2010

YUMMY! I could eat this entire batch straight from the mixer! I suggest adding seeds from 1 to 2 vanilla pods for a natural vanilla flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vpboardman_13052879 September 04, 2011

This was a wonderful, simple buttercream! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
septemberhippie August 03, 2009

I love this recipe but I replaced the milk with whipping cream & used much less powdered sugar

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Texas Peach July 29, 2009

5 stars b/c it's idiot proof. I accidentally used 1 cup of milk instead of 1/2 and didnt' notice until after I frosted my cupcakes! I used about 8 1/2 cups of sugar and thought 'wow, it's a tad runnier than I would like'. But I spread it on my cupcakes anyway without incient! And, obviously, I have a ton of leftover frosting. Idiot proof!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rachie P April 24, 2009

This was such a HIT! The party goers loved it! I think this will be one of my staple recipes for cakes. It does tend be on the sweeter side but I added the minimum amount of sugar suggested in the recipe, and it was fine. At least, I don't have to schlep all the way downtown to Magnolia's anymore.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
caroline November 30, 2008

Lovely. I made this to fill a rich chocolate cake and I flavoured it with Boysenberry Juice and it was really nice. Thank you for a good recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*christie September 20, 2008

This is a yummy buttercream frosting. I scaled it down since I only needed some for decorating the top of my cake -- this is the white, peach-tinted and red-tinted frosting on the Mickey Mouse cake I made for my son's 3rd birthday. I will be excited to use this as my basic white frosting from now on. Thanks, ratherbeswimmin'!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susiecat too November 25, 2007

I really liked this! I've only made a handful of buttercream recipes (and no cooked ones) but this is by far my favorite! It's a nice soft consistency and I really like the flavor of the butter. I think the two 9 inch cake estimate is perfect (I've not done cupcakes).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookingofjoy August 11, 2007

I just made this and must say it is the best I've made. I've made many others from cookbooks in the past but this is the tops! Super easy to make. A tip I learned from food network is to always blend any vanilla into the fat of the recipe and it will preserve the vanilla taste. This applies mostly to heated foods but I mixed the vanilla with the butter first out of habit. I always double vanilla in all my recipes which I did here also. I can't stop eating it right from the bowl. De-double-lish !!! Thanks NurseDi!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GreyhoundX3 April 17, 2007
Vanilla Buttercream