9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Fantastic glaze recipe! It was creamy and thickened up nicely. I cut this recipe in half which made a 1/2 cup of glaze. It was more than enough to cover my mini cinnamon bread loaves! Half of the original recipe is enough to cover a normal sized loaf, in my opinion. I did not change anything and followed directions as they are. It's perfect! Definitely a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DiverseCity January 03, 2015

A very nice glaze recipe. I added 1/2 tsp. almond extract because it was for a blueberry coffee cake and I wanted a little extra flavor to the glaze.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kathy :-( June 06, 2013

Just what I was looking for. I added some cinnamon to compliment the cake I was icing. I'm looking forward to trying it flavored with coffee, almond, and orange extracts. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview December 25, 2012

This is a very good glaze recipe.
It is very buttery and goes well with the amount of sugar, it blends well. Has great flavor.
It has a smooth texture and the amount of time to wait for it to thicken is perfect for drizzling.

I made a cherry vanilla cake and replaced the 1 1/2 tsp of vanilla with 3/4 tsp of grenadine and 3/4 tsp of vanilla. Went perfect with my cake.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Snakewich September 25, 2011

Very yummy. I was looking for a simple glaze for Southern Lady Cake, Southern Lady Cake. I did not have the orange juice the recipe called for and wanted to use orange extract. I figured replacing the vanilla extract with the orange would work. IT DID! The glaze is yummy. So is the cake. I highly recommend it! UPDATE: I went to this glaze again when looking for a glaze recipe for Old Fashioned Coffee Pound Cake, Old Fashioned Coffee Pound Cake. I subsituted cold (strong) coffee for the water. If you are a vanilla-laced (lattee) lover, you will like this glaze.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SweetSueAl March 20, 2011

So yummy and easy! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eclairekat August 18, 2008

Very easy to make. I used almond extract and loved it. A glaze recipe I'll use again and again! Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Garlic Bread May 05, 2008

Very good and had a smooth consistency. I thought that that the powedered sugar stood out a little too much - so I added another tblsp. of butter. Next time I will start off with 1 3/4 cup of sugar and add more as needed.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HoneyBe78 April 18, 2007

Yum, yum, yummy! Made this to drizzle over Grandma Paula's Sour Cream Pound cake and it's perfect! Thanks for the great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TinTN December 23, 2006
Vanilla Butter Glaze