8 Reviews

I'm eating one as I write the review, I like others altered the sugar to just 3/4 Cup I didn't put any fruit in I put 50g of sliced almonds and changed the vanilla essence to vanilla paste YUMMO

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vanillabeannz June 12, 2012

I couldn't believe it when I put Vanilla Biscuits in the search bar and the very recipe I was
looking for appeared. I'm another Kiwi overseas and wanted something
simple and tasty to bake before the girls came round for
coffee. My Mum used to make these all the time.
After
Reading the other reviews I reduced the sugar, only slightly to 2/3 of a
cup. (I use a tea cup, not a coffee mug for measuring and recipes always work pretty well.)
Anyway, they were exactly as I remembered them, crispy on the edges, a bit chewy in the centre, especially when they were warm. Yum!
Thanks for posting this old favourite! ;)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Weeseywoo May 23, 2011

Also a Kiwi overseas, I remember these biscuits fondly and found this recipe after a short search. The only substitution I made was raisins for the sultanas (golden raisins - US). They came out fairly well but way too sweet for my liking. I would reduce the sugar to 3/4 cup next time. I also found that they started to colour around the edges quickly as well which was probably due to the high sugar content. They do have a good texture and flavour though. I think Granny might have had a bit of a sweet tooth (if any!). And Beautiful B.C. - some might take offense at your reference to "Oz". Aussies we ain't!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
_lux_ August 19, 2009

My, My, My! Granny sure knows her cookies! This recipe was amazing! My cookies were crispy, tasty and looked exactly like the picture posted by galaxydreaming. Will be making again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Country Girl825 July 08, 2009

My family LOVES these cookies, I am a kiwi and kudos to the Kiwi Grandma for sharing. I don't know what it is about these biscuits but both my partner and I agree that they remind us of our childhood, I don't know who used to bake them then but this recipe is a keeper. Thanks heaps!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
galaxydreaming June 09, 2008

Eh, maybe something went wrong? These were ok. My sister liked them but nobody else was too crazy about them. 190* F was WAY too low. Was it supposed to be 190*C? After 12 minutes at 190*F, they had yet to cook so I turned it up to 350*F for another 15 minutes. I also added 1 T of Vanilla instead of 1 t so there would be more flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ThatSouthernBelle December 18, 2007

These are wonderful cookie\biscuit. I don't know what to call them, but a great snack. I substituted dried cranberries for the sultanas and they turned out beautiful. Nice buttery flavor and great texture. I'll make these again and double the recipe next time ;) Thanks for this recipe (made for ZWT3) ~V

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vseward (Chef~V) June 03, 2007

Well, too late - Granny's secret is out - this are delicious! Nice and buttery and chewy. Mmmmm. These were so good I barely kept enough of them away from the family so I could get a photo. I substitued frozen chopped cranberries for the Sultanas (mainly because we prefer them) I also used a Pampered Chef's Clay cookie sheet instead of regular metal cookie trays. Think that may have had them spread out a little more than in Perfect Pixies photo. I just separated them while they were still hot and divided them in two. A funny thing though - it wasn't until I was finished preparing the them that I twigged into the mix of Imperial and Metric measurements in the recipe! Just goes to show that we in Canada, and you in Oz use both interchangeabley. Forget this one or the other idea!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Beautiful BC May 28, 2007
Vanilla Biscuits (Cookies)