18 Reviews

This is, hands-down, my favorite cheesecake recipe. Every time I make it, friends, family, and co-workers comment on how delicious it is. A few changes: I omit the almond extract and add a little extra vanilla extract (only the good stuff), + 1 whole vanilla bean. I also prefer using pecans in the crust. I always bring the eggs and cream cheese to room temperature before blending them and make sure to mix them to the point where there are entirely no lumps. The sour cream topping compliments the cheesecake nicely and beautifully masks any cracks that may occur during baking. Although, I never need to really worry about cracking because I always put a cookie sheet of boiling water on the rack below the cheesecake. Next time, I may experiment with adding some lemon flavoring to the sour cream topping, as it seems they would go well together.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TrueBakerAtHeart247 April 18, 2014

Incredible. My go to special occasion cheesecake!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Taste Tester December 05, 2012

This had great texture -- really smooth and velvety. The almond extract was overpowering though, I'd probably leave it out next time (should have read the reviews before I made it :))

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shasha March 01, 2012

This was so good. I made it for a coworker's birthday, and he wanted to know when I'd be opening my restaurant! After reading the reviews, I stuck to vanilla flavoring only, and it was perfect. I did have trouble every time I have made this with my springform pan leaking walnut oil all over the bottom of my oven. I tried 2 different pans and had the same issue both times. I will put a baking sheet full of water underneath the pan next time. I used reduced-fat cream cheese with no noticeable loss of "yum". I also sprinkled the top with sugar and torched it a la "creme brulee" after the cake was chilled. I used vanilla bean sugar the first time but the seeds scorched badly, so plain sugar would be my recommendation. All in all, the best darn cheesecake I have ever eaten. Thank you so much!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Halima Dances October 30, 2010

Delightful. Low-fat Philly was on sale so I substituted and it still tastes sinfully rich. Not being a huge walnut fan, I used ground hazelnuts and I'm not sure it was the best choice; a little strong. (Update: I made it with roasted ground almonds and it was super. DH requested it as his birthday cake). I particularly love it with freezer mixed berries, defrosted, then warmed with a little sugar syrup. Thanks for a luscious posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elisabetta47 April 13, 2010

This is definitely a keeper in my house! I went off other reviews and didn't use almond extract and I used pecans instead of walnuts. (this is the first cheesecake I have ever made)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Yanni1 February 15, 2009

Yummy! So creamy...I made as directed & also wasn't crazy about the almond extract (which I normally love) so next time I'll sub more vanilla.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katreasanchez December 26, 2008

If I could rate this higher than 5 stars I would! This is a truly SENSUOUS dessert! I didn't like the almond extract either so I added, what else! more vanilla! People actually swoon over this, especially if you drizzle warm raspberry or blueberry preserves over the top. This cheesecake just adds to my already revered status as the culinary goddess that I am!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chefthyme March 14, 2008

Excellent texture, and delicious too. But I didn't like the almond extract, it gave it a funny aftertaste. Next time I'll either omit it or just use more vanilla, because I think the vanilla flavor could have been a little stronger. I used half & half instead of heavy cream, and I used pecans instead of walnuts (personal preference). They made the crust divine!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LeighAnn October 10, 2007

Very good recipe, for the crust I used 1 cup graham crust, 1/2 cup pecan, 3 tbsp sugar, 1/2 tsp cinammon, a pinch of nutmeg and 1/4 cup melted unsalted butter. Also for the filling, the first time I used the vanilla bean, the secound round, I didn't have time to buy the bean, so I used 1 tbsp of vanilla. I used the water bath technique to prevent the cake from cracking. Caked looked and tasted great. I served it with the Warm Double Strawberry Sauce #122067 - DELICIOUS

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cristina Barry April 28, 2007
Vanilla Bean Cheesecake With Walnut Crust