Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Vanilla Bean Cheesecake With Walnut Crust Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Vanilla Bean Cheesecake With Walnut Crust

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on April 18, 2014

      This is, hands-down, my favorite cheesecake recipe. Every time I make it, friends, family, and co-workers comment on how delicious it is. A few changes: I omit the almond extract and add a little extra vanilla extract (only the good stuff), + 1 whole vanilla bean. I also prefer using pecans in the crust. I always bring the eggs and cream cheese to room temperature before blending them and make sure to mix them to the point where there are entirely no lumps. The sour cream topping compliments the cheesecake nicely and beautifully masks any cracks that may occur during baking. Although, I never need to really worry about cracking because I always put a cookie sheet of boiling water on the rack below the cheesecake. Next time, I may experiment with adding some lemon flavoring to the sour cream topping, as it seems they would go well together.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2012

      Incredible. My go to special occasion cheesecake!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2012

      This had great texture -- really smooth and velvety. The almond extract was overpowering though, I'd probably leave it out next time (should have read the reviews before I made it :))

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2010

      This was so good. I made it for a coworker's birthday, and he wanted to know when I'd be opening my restaurant! After reading the reviews, I stuck to vanilla flavoring only, and it was perfect. I did have trouble every time I have made this with my springform pan leaking walnut oil all over the bottom of my oven. I tried 2 different pans and had the same issue both times. I will put a baking sheet full of water underneath the pan next time. I used reduced-fat cream cheese with no noticeable loss of "yum". I also sprinkled the top with sugar and torched it a la "creme brulee" after the cake was chilled. I used vanilla bean sugar the first time but the seeds scorched badly, so plain sugar would be my recommendation. All in all, the best darn cheesecake I have ever eaten. Thank you so much!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2010

      Delightful. Low-fat Philly was on sale so I substituted and it still tastes sinfully rich. Not being a huge walnut fan, I used ground hazelnuts and I'm not sure it was the best choice; a little strong. (Update: I made it with roasted ground almonds and it was super. DH requested it as his birthday cake). I particularly love it with freezer mixed berries, defrosted, then warmed with a little sugar syrup. Thanks for a luscious posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2009

      This is definitely a keeper in my house! I went off other reviews and didn't use almond extract and I used pecans instead of walnuts. (this is the first cheesecake I have ever made)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2008

      Yummy! So creamy...I made as directed & also wasn't crazy about the almond extract (which I normally love) so next time I'll sub more vanilla.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2008

      If I could rate this higher than 5 stars I would! This is a truly SENSUOUS dessert! I didn't like the almond extract either so I added, what else! more vanilla! People actually swoon over this, especially if you drizzle warm raspberry or blueberry preserves over the top. This cheesecake just adds to my already revered status as the culinary goddess that I am!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2007

      Excellent texture, and delicious too. But I didn't like the almond extract, it gave it a funny aftertaste. Next time I'll either omit it or just use more vanilla, because I think the vanilla flavor could have been a little stronger. I used half & half instead of heavy cream, and I used pecans instead of walnuts (personal preference). They made the crust divine!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2007

      Very good recipe, for the crust I used 1 cup graham crust, 1/2 cup pecan, 3 tbsp sugar, 1/2 tsp cinammon, a pinch of nutmeg and 1/4 cup melted unsalted butter. Also for the filling, the first time I used the vanilla bean, the secound round, I didn't have time to buy the bean, so I used 1 tbsp of vanilla. I used the water bath technique to prevent the cake from cracking. Caked looked and tasted great. I served it with the Warm Double Strawberry Sauce #122067 - DELICIOUS

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2007

      I am a die-hard chocoholic that only falls for a cheesecake crammed full of chocolate and its various faithful companions. I would have never taken a second look at this recipe if it hadn’t been for a co-worker, who requested a vanilla-bean cheesecake for her birthday treat. That being said, I have seen the light. This was a truly fantastic and decadent treat that gives the cocoa bean a true run for its money. I will make it again - for sure. And just in case you are considering being frugal and skipping the vanilla bean or using vanilla flavoring instead of pure extract - DON’T do it. I am heartily convinced that using the best organic vanilla bean and vanilla extract I could find was what took this cheesecake over the top and well worth the few extra dollars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2007

      My oh my oh my! I made this for Valentines Day and took to work. Everyone loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2007

      This cheesecake was amazing! I got sidetracked wrapping presents and left the crust in the oven a bit too long,and it was still TDF! I've just started baking cheesecakes and this was only my second one. Everything was perfect, no cracks(I baked in a slight water bath) and it was extremely creamy. Can't wait for an excuse to bake it again! Thanks for this wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2006

      I took this to a family dinner and it was purely wonderful! Even those who weren't nut fans ate it up. The only bad thing was that there wasn't enough because some went back for "just another bite". I used half and half because I thought I had heavy cream, but I didn't, and it was still fine. This was the first time I ever made a cheesecake that called for cream, and honestly I think that's the one thing that gives it it's fantastic texture. The walnut crust really compliments the vanilla and all the flavors are so well balanced that it's perfect-- not too sweet or overwhelming. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2006

      I finally bought vanilla beans and I wanted a special recipe to use them and this was awesome! Silky smooth and so elegant. I may never use the vanilla beans for anything else, lol. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2006

      This is so good. I love the vanilla flavor, my family likes plain cheesecake and this is a few notches above plain. Creamy, silky, smooth, thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2006

      This was to die for. Very smooth. Thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2005

      Fantastic cheesecake! Delicate, smooth and simple. I made this several times for Christmas gifts and it turned out each and everytime. It is easy and satisfies those who neither like peanut butter or chocolate. I also made some with Oreo crust instead for those who do not like nuts and it was a huge hit!! It is not too rich nor sweet but is a delicate slice of heaven.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Vanilla Bean Cheesecake With Walnut Crust

    Serving Size: 1 (228 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 764.5
     
    Calories from Fat 562
    73%
    Total Fat 62.5 g
    96%
    Saturated Fat 30.1 g
    150%
    Cholesterol 226.8 mg
    75%
    Sodium 402.8 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 43.0 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 40.2 g
    160%
    Protein 11.8 g
    23%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vanilla beans

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites