Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Vaniljkakor (Swedish Vanilla Cookies) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Vaniljkakor (Swedish Vanilla Cookies)

    Average Rating:

    35 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 35

    Sort by:

    • on July 21, 2009

      A wonderful treat! They were so simple to make but look and are delicious! I found it easy to just pipe the raspberry jam into the indentation with a little plastic bag. They would be great to serve for company with different jams in them! I like them also because they weren't very sweet, they took more of the sweetness from the jam itself than the cookie. Thank you Wildflour for posting your Grandma's recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2011

      These cookies are perfect!My grandma used to make cookies like these too.Nothing feeds a cooks soul like finding recipes from your childhood and making them for your family.I followed the recipe exactly and used Leah's great tip on piping the jam into the cookies.I'm so glad I found this recipe, I will definitely be making lots at christmas.Beautiful cookies!Thanks for posting wildflour:)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2011

      These are exquisite little cookies - and they are perfect for Christmas. My grandson took one bite and said I had to give them the recipe. They are buttery and just melt in your mouth. I used seedless raspberry jam - my favorite. These are really special.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2011

      I have yet to make anything from this website that I haven't found amazing! I made the recipe just as is only made the cookies larger, so I had to up the cooking time to about 20 minutes. These were delicious, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2011

      So delicious! I made these today, got about 29 cookies out of the dough and filled half with strawberry jam and the other half with blackberry. I offered some to my neighbors and their children to try and I ended up refilling the plate 3 times! I was told by one neighbor, "I'll watch your son, go get more cookies!" There is now 1 left. I'll be making these again tomorrow! Thank you for a wonderful keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2011

      So easy, pretty and most importantly delicious! I had no problem using a spoon to deliver my jam (homemade strawberry/blackberry). Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2010

      These cookies are SO easy and such a hit with everyone. I always have to make extra because whenever someone tastes them, they want a few to take home. The powdered sugar adds the right sweetness. I like to make a variety of jams so i use strawberry, blackberry and raspberry. Thanks for the recipe, its great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2010

      These are wonderful and super easy to make! I used peach perserves and they were yummy! I even did some plain and just topped with the powdered sugar! I whipped these up after school and we had them after supper! I will definitely make again!! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2009

      Made these as part of my Christmas goodie bags for friends and co-workers. They are so good. Light and buttery. I used seedless blackberry Simply Fruit for the jam. They turned out great. Will definitely make these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2008

      I made these cookies to go into tins to give to my neighbors, friends and co-workers. Of course I sampled one...OK 3, and they were awesome! I used raspberry jam and dates and nut mixture in the middle. The compliments will be flying on these!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2008

      Ohhh! These are so good! The icing sugar made them so tender, and the strong vanilla flavour is really nice. Really easy to put together, although I did add maybe 1 Tbsp of water to soften up the dough, as it was kind of crumbly. Other than that minor adjustment, these were such a perfect, dainty little treat! Delicious. I will definitely make these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2008

      This was my favorite cookie this holiday! So yummy, soft and rich. I used plum jelly for the middle. Wow!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2007

      I made these for Christmas. Very light and flaky cookie. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2007

      easy recipe...delightful outcome!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2007

      I made these to take to work tomorrow and I'm not sure they will make it there! A simple, pretty, delicate, and light cookie that brings a smile upon first bite! These would be great on a cookie tray!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2007

      My family loves any cookie that has jam and is shortbread like. These are rich, and melt in your mouth delicious. I didn't fuss over the sifting, I fluffed the flour in the bin, scooped in the measuring cup and scrapped it off with the lid as usual; the dough came out perfect. I used a scant small scoop and got 33 cookies whch I filled with raspberry jam. The baking time was right on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2007

      This is a great recipe. Very easy!! I used blackberry jam and they turned out great! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2006

      I used an substitute of margarine for butter and gluten free flour (Orgran) to substitute the flour therefore my comments are based on the changes I have made. I used the same amounts as called for in the recipe. The gluten free must require an extra egg or perhaps more margarine as it was a bit dry and crumbly. The next day they were starting to fall apart and after a couple of days they had to be thrown out. I am going to try with less sugar next time only because I think I'd be able to get away with it with the jam on the top. Great easy recipe. I will definately make them again with the gluten free flour and try a little more marg with them. I'll post again if it turns out good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2006

      Very good. Followed as instructed and they came out well. I topped some with nuts, chocolate chips , rasberry and strawberry jam. Definitly a keeper. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2006

      I made these yesterday for a dinner my mom is having they are a wonderful cookie so simple. I think the key to them turning out right is to let your butter completely soften. I left mine on the counter for 3 hours in a bowl and then creamed it by itself. Then I added the powdered sugar and creamed it again. With the flour I measured it (2 1/4 cups), sifted it and then measured to get 2 1/4 cups again. I only used the 2 1/4 cups sifted, after sifting it you will have more than that. I think the other key is using a pure high quality vanilla. I make my own but if I did not I would definitely purchase a pure vanilla of good quality it will make a difference with all your cookies not just this one. A very simple cookie with an outstanding taste and a wonderful texture. My dough was moist and a little sticky but easy to work with, not dry or crumbly as others stated. I used a small cookie scoop to scoop it out and then just rounded it with my hands a little. Light, airy, melt in your mouth texture. To get your jam in the indents easier and cleaner, put the jam in a ziploc bag, snip off a small corner and pipe it into the indents. I will be using these for Christmas cookie trays for years to come, thank you for sharing an easy and wonderful cookie. I originally thought I would use almond extract in place of the vanilla and I'm so glad I did not. Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Vaniljkakor (Swedish Vanilla Cookies)

    Serving Size: 1 (725 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1340.4
     
    Calories from Fat 689
    51%
    Total Fat 76.5 g
    117%
    Saturated Fat 47.4 g
    237%
    Cholesterol 269.0 mg
    89%
    Sodium 30.2 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 148.1 g
    49%
    Dietary Fiber 3.5 g
    14%
    Sugars 53.0 g
    212%
    Protein 13.6 g
    27%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes