16 Reviews

Wonderful! I made them with my childcare children and they loved them. When I tasted them I was impressed. My usual sugar cookie recipe tastes floury but these are buttery and wonderful. Thanks for the great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
earlybird255 February 14, 2012

Nice, easy cookie to make. Made them for Valentine's Day and they turned out very good. As mine were rolled quite thin I did have to watch them to make certain that they didn't burn. I too, did not get 60 cookies as my heart shaped cutter was rather large. All in all they passed the family taste test and are now saved in my cookbook. Thanks for sharing this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nova Scotia Cook February 16, 2010

This is a very good cookie. I didn't get near 60 cookies, but my cutter was kind of large. The dough is sticky so I would recommend chlling very well before rolling. The flavor is very good and they don't spread when baking.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jillcomeau July 08, 2008

Great Valentine Day cookies! Easy to make and fun as well. Most importantly, they were delicious! thanks! - michelle

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle in Perkasie, PA March 04, 2008

These are wonderful! I made them for Valentine's day and took them to work. They were gone in 5 minutes. I used canned frosting b/c I was stretched for time and they were still fabulous. This is going to the recipe I use for every holiday sugar cookie. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ginaldupree February 25, 2008

This is my new favourite cookie recipe...extremly simple and quick to put together. The cookies were very buttery and rich...but I prefer them rolled out quite thin. I used half the ingredients and made a smaller batch.Following a previous review,I used sprinkles and coloured sugar over the cookies before baking ,instead of the icing.And followed the suggestion of dusting the cookie dough and area quite generously with flour while rolling it out. I made these for DH as part of the Valentine's Day goodies and he LOVED it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Seeprats February 19, 2008

Definitely a keeper !! Simply the best recipe I have used for cut out cookies. I only chilled the dough for 1 hr and it was awesome. Be sure to lighly dust your rolling surface and rolling pin with flour....this will be in our family for many years to come...thank you !!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Keegsmom2001 February 13, 2008

excellent recipe. These cookies are buttery smooth. Rolling them thin helps them melt in your mouth. They are flaky in texture. I didnt ice them, and they were wonderful.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
linrinblue February 11, 2008

I wish I could give this recipe 10 stars. These are the butter cookies of my childhood.I have made so many butter cookie recipes over the years trying to find the perfect butter cookie and this is it. Not to sweet, with simple ingredients, and it holds its shape for cookie cutouts. I make intricate snowflake cutouts with this recipe, for Christmas, and I top them with a chunky sugar crystal. I'am adding this recipe to the recipe book I'm making for my new daughter in-law.Thank You So Much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FlaBeachBuns December 17, 2005

I just made these for Christmas. Very good. I didnt roll them super thin and baked them 12-14 minutes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GwenG December 11, 2005
Valentine Rich Rolled Cookies