Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Va Voom Veggie Burgers Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Va Voom Veggie Burgers

    Average Rating:

    51 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 51

    Sort by:

    • on January 04, 2003

      This is much better and more filling than the veggie burgers you buy at the health food store. (And lower in fat too). I actually used 1/2 cup of chickpeas and 1/2 cup of black beans. But that was the only difference. All you vegetarians out there, this should be a staple if your cookbook!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2011

      I had leftover brown rice and decided it was time to try these. Made them exactly as written, even found Pepperidge Farm cornbread stuffing. I threw my Quaker old-fashioned oats in the food processor to make the mixture blend well. Soy sauce added just enough flavor. Very tasty on wheat buns with lettuce, tomato, onion.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2011

      These were really good. I did not use the oats as I only had steel cut on hand and I wasnt sure how that would be. I also did not have stuffing mix so I used garlic flavored croutons and a packet of onion soup mix to season. I also added a couple pinches of crushed red pepper for some spice. I would love to try these with different types of beans. As it is, I tripled the recipe and put some in the freezer for quick lunches later. =) Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2011

      These were amazing - very tasty with a nutty, crunchy texture. I added in grated carrot, mushroom and spring onions, plus added in herbs from my garden including oregano and basil, salt & pepper.
      These would also be lovely with a nice garden salad on the side without having the bread roll as they are quite filling on their own. I would like to try and bake or grill (broil) them next time to avoid shallow frying to ensure the recipe is as healthy and fat free as possible.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2011

      I just received the recipe in my inbox and was excited to try them and I happened to have all the ingredients on hand and decided to make it for lunch! I used Bush's vegetarian baked beans, however, I completely forgot about adding in the oatmeal...they were still amazing! The next time I make them I'll be sure to had the oatmeal!!
      I weighed out the mixture once it was completed and divided evenly into 5 patties....I had mine with ff cheese slice and honey mustard...they are fantastic!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2012

      This is an incredible recipe! The vegetarians and meat eaters in our house all love this. Very filling and so easy. Also for a veggie burger, pretty inexpensive to make. I love that its only a few ingredients. Even better warmed up the next day. Today I am making a batch for the freezer.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2011

      I really wanted to make this recipe but I didn't have oats or cornbread stuffing on hand. I just used a mixture of bread crumbs and cornflake crumbs. I think I might add some red pepper flakes next time for a little kick but my husband enjoyed them as is. Thanks for sharing this recipe. Always looking for a good veggie burger as we are trying to cut back on meat. I used "Mushrooms and Onions Toppers" and it was a nice combination.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2011

      I've had better. I would imagine that Mim Bobeck's idea of blackbeans and chickpeas would be better. Adding more spice will make them better too. For those that do not use canned beans, be sre to use as much water as would be in a can of beans. I found that about a cup of water was good. Definitely edible though.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2011

      I'm happy to have found this recipe. I was skeptical but it is very good as written. I'm anxious to try variations of th basic recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2010

      these are so amazing - i used flavored stuffing as well with the bush's vegetarian baked beans -- they were amazing -- definitely a keeper and i have been turning my friends on to them -- very flavorful as they are -- thanks for sharing

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2010

      I used turkey flavoured stuffing mix and Heinz baked beans in tomato sauce. These are so good and easy. I will be making these again soon. Thanks for the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2010

      Excellent burger! I made mine on the grill and they held up very well without falling apart. I can't wait to experiment with different beans and spices, as I agree with others who've said it could use some more spices, but it's still excellent as is. I recommend making very thin patties so that they cook all the way through. The recipe made 7 good sized burgers for me. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2010

      This is so easy and tasty. I used Teriyaki sauce instead of soy sauce, yum... I cooked some of them and froze the rest. Next time I'll add more veggie in there (I'm thinking to add corn and maybe grated carrot). This is a good basic recipe for veggie burger.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2010

      Unbelievable how this held up SO well. It never even came close to breaking apart. I used crushed Ritz crackers since I didn't have the stuffing on hand, and the flavor was really good. These burgers are so economical. Plus, use no eggs or vege meat so you get natural, plant-based protein. I will be making these again and again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2010

      My husband couldn't eat these, but I loved them, so I'm giving it 5 stars. I think it was a texture thing for him. I used small white beans, oats and ranch flavored croutons. Added the sauted onions and a slice of Cabots 50% reduced fat cheddar. Yummy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2010

      These really were very good like the majority of the reviews state. My combo was Canellini beans, yellow rice, Ponzu instead of soy sauce and all the rest as listed, but I forgot the parsley. So when I sauteed the onions to top the burgers with, I added the parsley to that onion mixture. Perfect.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2010

      Tastes like a real hamburger! I became vegetarian at age 52, and was on a quest to find a really good veggie burger for a year or so. This is it! Although I must admit I'm not sure I'm qualified to review it properly, since I substituted on almost everything based on what I had on hand: white rice instead of brown, pinto beans instead of white beans, wheat bread instead of cornbread stuffing :-D I'll have to follow the recipe more closely next time. But what I made really satisfies me. The key is in frying it properly, waiting to flip the burger until it doesn't fall apart. Excellent recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2010

      Really love this for a low fat/calorie burger. These are what changes I made: Used 1 can butter beans, pureed with some juice, 2 cloves minced garlic, 2 t. Montery Steak Seasoning, 1/2 c. Quaker Oats, less than 1 c. diced fine raw mushrooms and 1 large carrot, shredded fine. I pureed the onions. With the extra veggies this recipe made 7 nice size burgers at about 137 calories, 1 g. fat and 28 carbs each. Thanks for sharing...I will make this often. NOTE: My husband and I could hardly stand each other after we went to bed that night. Maybe that is why they are called VA VOOM burgers...lol

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2010

      I used Bush's Vegetarian Baked Beans, cornflakes instead of oats, and breadcrumbs instead of the stuffing mix. I also added in a bit of barbecue sauce because there was not enough liquid in my beans. We ate these with avocado, cheddar, tomato and lettuce with a dab of barbecue sauce and they were pretty good. Bit more work than my usual veggie burger recipe, but they held together a lot better and I like that the recipe doesn't have eggs, so I don't have to worry about substituting it. I might add some kind of spice mix into the patties in the future, just for a bit more bite. Thanks much!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2010

      I just made these 2 days ago using garbanzo beans, quick oats, and a garlic herb rice mix I had cooked. These were FANTASTIC!! I just whipped up another batch using great northern beans. My entire family from my 1-1/2 yr old, 10 yr old and DH loved them as much as I did...Thanks so much for posting this!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Va Voom Veggie Burgers

    Serving Size: 1 (559 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 112.2
     
    Calories from Fat 4
    89%
    Total Fat 0.5 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 205.1 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.0 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 3.5 g
    14%
    Sugars 0.9 g
    3%
    Protein 5.2 g
    10%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    multigrain cereal

    cornbread stuffing mix

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites