Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / V for Vendetta's - Eggy in a Basket! Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    V for Vendetta's - Eggy in a Basket!

    Average Rating:

    41 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 41

    Sort by:

    • on June 12, 2011

      A nice simple breakfast dish that brings back childhood memories - I used wholemeal/wholegrain bread and toasted one side first in the toaster on crumpet setting and then lightly sprayed a non-stick frypan with oil spray (to cut down saturated fat) put the uncooked side down and put the egg in the whole and also put the cut out bits uncooked side down to brown off and cooked for a few minutes till white was set though my yolk cooked more than I would have liked but only because it broke as it went into the pan but still had a bit of runny yolk to mop up with the cut out bit of toast. Thank you Kosmic Blue for breakfast and averybird for the recommendation, made for I recommend tag game.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2011

      I made this both yesterday and today, and each time it turned out fabulous! I remember trying my hand at this recipe when the movie first came out, but let's just say that it didn't turn out half as good as with this recipe!

      Also, I just wanted to include that I am on a diet. So, I made the following substitutions: low calorie bread, whipped butter, 2% milk, and with egg whites (I used one egg white per basket and it still turned out darned good). I made my husbands with the previous modifications, but I used the egg yolks. We both give the recipe five stars for OUTSTANDING! A must try!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2010

      I'll vouch for this. I love bread toasted on the stove, it's so much better then out of the toaster. So this just made perfect sense one day. Everyone I've made these for loves them. I usually melt some cheese on top once I've flipped the bread.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2009

      Yummy! I grew up eating these - my mom called them "ace in the hole"! We always used a drinking glass to cut out the holes, and the most fun part for us kids was eating the toasted "hole"! :) Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2009

      Very Tasty! I tried cutting out the circles and then buttering the bread - it was a pain. Stick to the recipe and it should be easier to deal with the slices of bread.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2009

      My Dad taught my daughters to make these, but he called them Moonstruck - think from that movie too. I especially like to do two eggs in a large slice of sour dough bread. Sometimes we sprinkle a little grated cheese over the top after they have been flipped. Pretty with a bit of chopped chives or other herbs too.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2009

      This is a fun tasty little meal!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2008

      My girlfriend introduced this recipe to me. We she was a youngen', her father made these and called them "eggs in a nest." Thanks for the reminder because she loved 'em this morning!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2008

      Great way to start any day. Thanks for such an easy and delicious recipe, Kozmic Blue.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2008

      My 10 and 12 year old daughters love to make these. They use different cookie cutters to make the holes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2008

      Delicious and easy way to start the day or a nice light dinner. I love when something so simple is so good. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2008

      I've been making this for ages and it is absolutely delicious (we call it eggy toast). Far better than just plain old eggs and toast. I usually use sliced canadian white instead of wheat, and the kids request this all the time. Thanks for a great recipe, from an excellent movie.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2008

      an excellent movie with an excellent recipe to match! This was super yummy and easy. Thanks for sharing it! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2008

      Years ago, my British stepmother used to make this for a weekend breakfast, only she called it "toad in a hole." This brings back memories... Now I need to make it again! -vicarjane

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2007

      Yummy down to the last bite! My DH is the V4Vendetta fan, and he is the one who looked up your recipe. Now, he's been designated as Saturday's official Eggy in a Basket breakfast chef! The only difference in his Eggy's: he pan-fries the toast on both sides before adding the egg...this way, the bread doesn't have a chance to get soggy! Thanks a bunch (o'eggy's!)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2007

      I love this recipe! I put cheese on mine though >D. Yum yum yum.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2007

      I love it. These were soooo quick and easy to make and tasted GOOD. Truly my kind of cooking!! I will make these again! Thank you for a keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2007

      I've been eating this what we call "egg in a hole" since I was a kid. I'm a baby boomer and my Mom used to make these for us all the time. Now I make them for my DH and myself. They are delish, and it's great to take a trip down memory lane.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2007

      Really tasty, and fun to eat too! I will make this often. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2007

      You just can't go wrong with eggs in a basket. Heck, my bread ripped and the egg went everywhere and I made a mess but darn was it super tasty and satisfying! It's even more pretty if you use different shaped cookie cutters. I'll be having this often!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for V for Vendetta's - Eggy in a Basket!

    Serving Size: 1 (78 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 210.9
     
    Calories from Fat 76
    36%
    Total Fat 8.5 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 2.6 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 279.0 mg
    93%
    Sodium 304.7 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.8 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 2.8 g
    11%
    Sugars 2.6 g
    10%
    Protein 14.8 g
    29%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes