10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I used fat free chicken broth instead of water to make up the liquid. I didn't cook it quite as long and added the green peppers at the end as I like my veggies a little crisp. I think this soup is very good for a low cal item. It is easy to make and there is lots of it! The only reason I didn't give it five stars is because it seems to me that no diet item can be perfect!

13 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zilla March 20, 2003

I also used chicken broth in place of the water, and the soup was good but the tomato flavor was a bit overpowering for my taste. Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katanashrp February 19, 2013

I have used this recipe for a long time and love it. If I substitute the soup for 1 meal a day and watch what I eat for the other 2 meals I can lose weight very nicely at about 2 lbs per week which is just right. You can be adventurous with it and put any veggies in it. I roasted the garlic before adding it this last time and it really added a nice flavor to it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mhartman November 12, 2008

Gets a 5 star because it's packed with veggies, easy, tasty. Also because my 6 yo "snuck" a taste while it was cooling and then proceeded to have a full bowl. She consumed her daily fluid needs as it has a bit of a bite for her. Very good and I already have plans to make it a more hearty soup by adding browned burger and rotini pasta to a portion of the leftovers.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ZaarAddict August 30, 2008

A very good soup. I use the low sodium V-8. Also you can make it a meal by adding some cooked chicken tenders, cubed. Then add some corn starch mixed with water to thicken.Served over rice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Plainbil August 17, 2006

Very tasty but quite salty. Will tinker with low salt ingredients next time. That said, I divided it into single servings & use it to take the edge off my appetite. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SusieQusie July 27, 2005

Very good! Had this for lunch today with some crackers and was very content. I offer just one change...which I made for myself. Although low in calories and fat, this is much to high in sodium. I lowered it without compromising the taste by using my " Tastes Like" V-8 Juice which is nothing more than plain tomato juice with Old Bay seasoning. With this recipe, I used sodium-reduced tomato juice...which by it self is blah. Thanks for a nice lunch...say, let's do lunch again some day!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Happy Harry #2 June 13, 2005

Fat free and healthy, very tasty veg soup with lots of variety and a slight spiciness that lends well to additional ingredients like leftover roast or chicken or a sprinkle of parmesan. I enjoyed it as is very much and froze a good bit in individual containers for future lunches. Thanks, CookbookCarrie, this will be a regular at my house!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama January 19, 2005

this soup was great the variations on it are endless. I made a big pot of the basic recipe them divided it into portions and added cooked left over chicken to one,and white beans to the other so now I got 3 different soups from one recipe.I didnt cook it for as long either I wanted it a little crunchy and since it will be reheated ... thanks cookbookcarrie for a great recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ang_can_cook January 07, 2005

This is an excellent vegetable soup! I used canned tomatoes with garlic and thick sauce, and added some extra canned tomatoes I had in the fridge. I also used vegetable broth as some of the liquid (because I had half a can in the fridge) and a can of beef broth for some of it. I finished it off with water. I made it specifically for a friend who was having surgery. I made it and froze it in bags, some for her some for me. Really wonderful soup. I am trying to eat healthy all the time and not think of anything specifically as diet food. This is perfect healthy eating food!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladypit September 25, 2004
V-8 Soup