Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / V-8 juice for canning Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    V-8 juice for canning

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on June 20, 2002

      The original V-8 counts tomatoes as a veggie-and they dont have 8 either. Get a life, or a reasonable facsimile of one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2002

      I kept this recipe on my refrigerator for months waiting to get the tomatoes from the garden. I made 14 quarts of this and will make more soon. It really is good! My husband said he liked it better that the store bought! The flavor is teriffic! Thanks Di!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2002

      How can you call this "V-8" when there are only 4 veggies (at the most - 3 if you count tomatoes as a fruit) in the ingredients?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2002

      Thanks for a tasty recipe,we had lots of everthing in the garden,we made 45 quarts of juice.We shared some and now we,ll have enough until next year.My husband adds a drop of tabasco in his glass.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2010

      YummmmEEEE! I am canning 11 pints of this and drinking the last quart as I type (slurp). I wish I'd done as other reviewers and ran it through a food processor before straining, as I would personally like some added pulp - but that in no way detracts from this excellent recipe!
      I added some nasturtium leaves to mimic the watercress that "official" V8 calls for - and a little bit, maybe 1 tsp of sea salt because I'm a hopeless salt addict. But those are just my tweakings and the recipe as written is DEEELicious! More will be made!!
      I'm trying to decide what to do with all my "squeezin's" though - the original tomatoes and veggies. They seem to still have too much flavor and color to just toss in the compost. I'm probably going to freeze them in flat ziplocs and use for flavoring soups or veggin' up my homemade stocks. Thanks Dib!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2003

      Excellent flavour! I added jalapenos for extra bite, and I really appreciate that there's no salt in the recipe. The commercial version is way too salty. I put the cooked mixture in the food processor and then through a coarse strainer for a thicker juice. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2003

      HI DI Thanks for the V 3 Juice my husband loves it. I used a recipe like this last year,i got from a betty crocker cookbook. This was much better and easier. I did leave off the horseradish and added two small jalapenos instead. I'll label it V4 juice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2008

      This is oh so good-I added 1 heaping tsp of celery salt and 5 tsp. canning salt, 1/2 head of cabbage aand 6 carrots and left out the lemon juice. It is really tasty and a great way to use up all those extra veggies in the garden. Next year will try it with beets, parsley and some spinach added.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2007

      awsome. we have huge 3 acre garden great way to make healthy drink. I did add a couple beets to this. perfect

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2013

      This turned out awesome. My husband helped me which made it fun and he did the heavy work! Pouring and lifting! The only change I made was adding a teaspoon of cayenne pepper. We used all fresh produce from our garden. The tomatoes we used were Roma's Will definitely make again! Also we made this outside and used the burner from our turkey fryer which work very well. No mess in the kitchen!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2012

      Amazing!!! I have canned plain tomato juice for years......never again. This is the most delicious recipe! My friends all flipped when they tasted it and I am now the "go-to" person for bloody mary get togethers:-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2011

      Dib's, there were eight ingredients: tomatoes, beets, celery, carrots, lettuce, parsley, watercress, and spinach.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2010

      Will, I opened my fist quart of this juice and it is outstanding. Excellent taste not thick at all, just about perfect.I made a Bloody Mary with this juice and you want to talk about good!I think I only canned 4-6 quarts but I will make many more next year.I can around 60-80 quarts a fall, spaghetti sauce,tomato juice,whole tomato's and stewed.This is a new find and thank you for posting Dib's

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2007

      I'm a big V-8 fan, so no use paying for it at the store when I can make it. It's best to use high juice producing tomatoes, such as "Big Boy"....Roma's work, but provide less juice. I threw in some carrots as well to get rid of my extras from the garden. It was a bit sweet for me, so I added 2 tbsp LB Jamison's chicken flavored soup base. I put the mixture through my juicer a few times instead of using my strainer to save on time. Thanks DiB's for a wonderful recipe. I will use this again and again. Krsi Sue

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2006

      This is a delicious juice-I especially liked the zip from the horseradish. The second batch I tweeked to try to make like the V8 Picante juice we buy for our favorite chili recipe, so I added 1 Tbsp salt, 2 Tbsp sugar and 2-3 Tbsp hot pepper sauce. Also left out the celery. I'm so happy to have this versatile recipe; thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2006

      There is no other thing I can say other than WOW. I was thrilled to find a recipe that did not call for salt, and in this recipe you will never miss it. For a little more zip, I used some jalapenos for half of the green pepper and it was just right for us. I did make a second batch using all cherry and grape tomatoes (yes I had that many) and found that I did not need the sugar for that batch. Thank you DiB's for sharing the recipe. It is one I will make yearly for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2005

      This is one recipe my entire family enjoys. I canned 12+ pint jars of this "V8" juice and let me tell ya, I rate it right up there with the tomato soup I canned. I have been giving the juice to people in my church and neighborhood and they all want more. It's a real quick, on-the-go treat that is healthy, not calorie and carb laden. Thanks for posting this wonderful recipe. Ill be making another batch as the tomatoes ripen.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2005

      I just finished my second batch. It was easy and quite tasty, though I did add a little salt and a little more sugar. Thanks for a great recipe for using all these extra tomatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for V-8 juice for canning

    Serving Size: 1 (7589 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 213.8
     
    Calories from Fat 19
    96%
    Total Fat 2.1 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 88.9 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 47.2 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 13.3 g
    53%
    Sugars 30.8 g
    123%
    Protein 9.5 g
    19%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites