Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / V-8 Beef Stew Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    V-8 Beef Stew

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on May 03, 2003

      This was a great recipe. I love v-8 juice, so I knew when I saw the title that I would have to try this. I used the hot spicy v-8, so left off the hot pepper sauce, but other than that I didn't change a thing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2011

      This is pretty much how I've been making beef stew for years. Very Good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2011

    • on March 09, 2011

      I always make my beef stew with V8, but a little differently~~thought I would try yours. I like the addition of marjoram & thyme. I did add the 1/2 tsp. of ground cloves that I usually do, try it! I used 2 lbs. of stew meat which we found was plenty, only 1 cup of celery (not a real fan) and a cup of frozen peas at the end. Loved it1

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2009

      Oh my gosh, this is so good! Made this at the request of my son, and had planned on halving the recipe but at the last minute decided to make the entire recipe (and glad I did!), but had to sub a few things. Instead of the V8, water and bouillon granules called for, I used 24 oz V8 (one can regular, one can spicy), 3 cups beef broth, and 15 oz. tomato sauce. Also added 1 1/2 cups mushrooms cause I had some that needed to be used. Ate as is and loved it. My husband doesn't care for stew so I served his over rice which made him happy, too. Froze the leftovers and have been enjoying them ever since. Thanks for a wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2009

      Excellant! I threw in 8 oz. of sour cream at the end, just before serving and I think my family elevated me to sainthood. Thanks for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2007

      I made this today and really liked it. Nice blend of flavors. I don't usually put potatoes over rice, but I did as you suggested and over rice it went. To my surprise, it was good enough to have for lunch and dinner too. Thanks for a very nice meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2007

      This is a delicious beef stew. I added some dried crushed red pepper flakes along with a few drops of Tabasco sauce, Worchestershire sauce and substituted savory for thyme, since I didn't have any. After browing the beef cubes, I placed it in a crockpot, turned it on high and let it cook all day. It is a warm, hearty meal and great on taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2006

      Magnifique!! With or without minor alterations, this is a great recipe that has made my guests want for more. The V-8 sauce is surprisingly good along with the hot sauce (which I have been generous with).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2006

      Very tasty, hearty stew! I added 1 pound fresh mushrooms and small bag of frozen peas with the celery, carrots and potatoes. Served over wide whole-wheat egg noodles for a warming, delicious dinner stew. Thanks for very good recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2006

      Delicious! Had a great flavor! Unfortunatly, I never got to taste how the flavors blended the next day because my friends made sure there were no leftovers left!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2005

      loved this recipe! i used all fresh herbs and had enough left over to have leftovers twice! have to say the leftovers tasted better! will make this again! thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2005

      Great stew! I used dried parsely instead as I didn't have marjoram and it was still good. Thanks for sharing, Bill.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2004

      This recipe is excellent! My family loves it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2004

      This was excellent but it made sooo much my crockpot was full to the top. I had no hot pepper sauce so I added some red pepper flakes. It was great over jasmine rice. Was even better the second day!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2004

      Very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2003

      What a savory blend of spice and V8!! Had to cut recipe in half, didn't have enough meat, but kept the ingredients as given..yummy! Not for everyone, but I also threw in a couple of cubed turnips and had one hearty meal!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for V-8 Beef Stew

    Serving Size: 1 (639 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 822.6
     
    Calories from Fat 417
    50%
    Total Fat 46.4 g
    71%
    Saturated Fat 16.5 g
    82%
    Cholesterol 156.6 mg
    52%
    Sodium 1297.1 mg
    54%
    Total Carbohydrate 55.1 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 8.7 g
    35%
    Sugars 14.4 g
    57%
    Protein 46.4 g
    92%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes