Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Utterly Deadly Southern Pecan Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Utterly Deadly Southern Pecan Pie

    Average Rating:

    124 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 124

    Sort by:

    • on November 24, 2012

      Absolutely amazing! Made this for my husband and father-in-law because it is their favorite and it turned out to be my favorite! I signed up specifically to review this recipe. It's a keeper and will be my only pecan pie recipe. I made a Gluten Free Dairy Free crust and it was the crowning glory of our Thanksgiving dinner!

      I tweaked the recipe a bit. As the sugar/corn syrup cooled, I melted the butter in it to absorb some of the warmth before I whisked it slowly into the eggs. Worked like a charm!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2010

      I've been making pecan pie for the holidays for about 35 years. I decided to give this one a try prior to the holidays (would hate to disappoint at Thanksgiving or Christmas). This has become my new pecan pie recipe! I love the gooey-ness of the filling. The smaller the pie plate, the thicker the filling (obviously) which makes it richer!! Amazing what a difference dissolving the sugar makes. Try it, you'll love it...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2010

      This is the 1st pecan pie that anyone in my immediate family has been able to cook in 40 years. It is delicious and easy. LOVED BY ALL! I am now the official "pecan pie maker" for the holidays!! Thank You so much!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2010

      Best pecan pie ever! Everyone loved this. I used a regular crust to make this, not a deep dish and it came out perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2011

      I used this recipe to make pecan pie bars with a sugar cookie crust. WOW!! Easy and wonderful...

      Thank you,

      PS I added a pinch of salt for balance, but that was it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2013

      My sister had a pie bar around her KrispyKreme tower at her wedding reception and I was asked to contribute 2 pecan pies. I don't even love pecan pie, but met many people I didn't know because they wanted to let me know that they thought the pie was divine. Leftovers of every single pie on the bar, except for the pecan pie, and it was also the very first gone before some were even tried. Had a feeling it might go that way though, because I ended up making FOUR 'test runs' before the wedding, including a chocolate one with 1/2 cup cocoa, and they were all history by day's end. *Instead of vanilla (except in the case of the chocolate pecan pie I made), I used a teaspoon of maple flavoring and a tablespoon of bourbon and I baked all the pies for about 55mins.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2013

      This pecan pie tested great. I baked the pie until the center measured 200F on an instant read thermometer and it turned out wonderfully. I highly recommend cooking the sugar/syrup mixture prior to baking. I would recommend light brown sugar and clear corn syrup so the filling does not get too dark.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2013

      Pecan pie is my husband's very favorite pie. When Thanksgiving rolled around this year, I couldn't find my recipe box so turned to the computer recipes hoping for something that was equal to the pecan pies I have baked for 43 years for him. I not only found a recipe like it, but found a new twist in the boiling of sugars ahead of time. I put in more pecans and mix them in with the filling, as I always have. The results...even thicker and more gooey than ever!! My husband flipped & even had 2 pieces! Two days later and I'm making another! Needless to say, this is it from now on! Thanks P. Crocker!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2013

      Great recipe and if you want make it less deadly here is how I do it. I use the sugar sub instead of sugar and sugar free maple syrup instead of corn syrup. My picky hubby could not tell the difference between the sugar version and the sugar free.: )

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2010

      Think if this pie were a woman, I'd be jealous! My husband looked like he'd died and went to heaven eating this dessert... definitely and "utterly" delicious.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2009

      I guess I can't really rate this particular pie recipe, but I have adapted it into what is now my favorite COCONUT pie in the world! I only changed the corn syrup to all light and omitted the pecans for 2 cups of coconut. I bake 2 regular pies instead of a deep dish, and the coconut "candies" on top to a yummy crust. I also add about a 1/4 tsp. of butter flavoring along with the vanilla & sprinkle cinnamon on the pie crusts before pouring in the mix. It is fantastic!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2007

      This was my first time making Pecan Pie and it turned out great! I told all my guests they had to give me feed back because I was no expert and a friend who considers himself a connoisseur of pecan pie said this was excellent! It was easy to make and it set up perfectly. My mixture looked very smooth so I did not strain it. The cooktime had me worried. I went 20 minutes over but think I could have gone 15 and been fine, I just didn't want a runny center. I left my pecans whole because it looks nicer but I can see where it would be easier to slice if the pecans are chopped. Very happy I picked this recipe to be my 1st - everyone loved it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2007

      No wonder this recipe has so many great reviews. This is the best Pecan Pie recipe. The only one I've made that has a firm filling. I did cook mine for 55 minutes. Thanks PCrocker for a terrfic recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2005

      OH... MY... HEAVENS... This was incredible!! I could not believe it! I love pecan pie and did not think there was anything else you could do to it to possibly make it better! Your recipe didn't mention it, but I melted my butter before I added it..?? I wasn't sure, so that's what I normally do. I used 2 cups of pecans because, frankly, the nuttier, the better! :) Thanks so much for this reciper, it is definetly a KEEPER!!! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2014

      Magnificent!<br/><br/>I changed it up a bit to make it Bourbon Pecan Pie by adding 1 Tablespoon bourbon instead of vanilla!<br/><br/>I had some extra filling, so I froze it for next time:)<br/><br/>Clearly the best pecan pie ever!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2013

      BEST PIE MADE 3 IN ONE WEEK. I did how ever sub brown sugar for white

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2013

      I've never made a pecan pie before- but this one was a hit! No trouble with the recipe, used a frozen deep dish crust which was the perfect size. Everyone enjoyed at Thanksgiving this year!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2013

      I too have been making pecan pies for more years than I want to admit. I too decided to mix it up and try this recipe for Thanksgiving. Absolutely delicious !! The best pecan pie I have ever made. I followed the recipe exactly and made no revisions - great recipe. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2013

      The most amazing pecan pie EVER! I made this about a month before Thanksgiving, and on Thanksgiving we had a store bought pecan pie that dulled in comparison. Normally I take a big slice, and this time I could only have two bites of the store bought pie!! After making this recipe, I will never be able to look at any other pecan pie, homemade or store bought, the same! It is so so simple to make, and absolutely delicious. I made this for my boyfriend and his roommates and it was gone in a day, and I've been getting requests to make it ever since! <br/><br/>I followed the steps exactly, but I added the butter to the sugar/corn syrup mix after removing it off the heat so it could melt easier. Then I followed the rest of the steps exactly. At first I only baked it for 30 minutes because it looked ready and the pie crust was starting to brown and I didn't want it to burn. I took it out and realized about an hour later that it definitely needed more time in the oven. I was hesitant about putting it back in the oven after it had sat out for so long, but put it back anyway. After an additional 20-25 minutes in the oven, it turned out perfectly! I definitely recommend leaving it the oven for the recommended time, and next time I will reduce the temperature of my boyfriend's oven because I think it is not completely accurate. Not sure if using a glass pie pan had an affect on the quick browning of the pie crust or not, or if the rack being set one higher than the center position of the oven had to do with it. Regardless, this recipe is amazing and DEFINITELY recommended!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2013

      This recipe was a hit with my Southern family at Thanksgiving. I covered the crust with foil and baked for an hour to get the right consistency.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 7

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Utterly Deadly Southern Pecan Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (155 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 587.9
     
    Calories from Fat 255
    43%
    Total Fat 28.3 g
    43%
    Saturated Fat 7.4 g
    37%
    Cholesterol 108.2 mg
    36%
    Sodium 177.5 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 83.1 g
    27%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 42.0 g
    168%
    Protein 6.3 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites