Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Thanksgiving Tips & Ideas >

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    Make Sides They'll Be Thankful For
    3-Ingredient Appetizers

    3-Ingredient Appetizers

    Fabulously Easy Feast Starters
    Adorable T-Day Sweets

    Adorable T-Day Sweets

    The Kids' Table = The Place To Be
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Utterly Deadly Southern Pecan Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Utterly Deadly Southern Pecan Pie

    Average Rating:

    129 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 129

    Sort by:

    • on November 24, 2012

      Absolutely amazing! Made this for my husband and father-in-law because it is their favorite and it turned out to be my favorite! I signed up specifically to review this recipe. It's a keeper and will be my only pecan pie recipe. I made a Gluten Free Dairy Free crust and it was the crowning glory of our Thanksgiving dinner!

      I tweaked the recipe a bit. As the sugar/corn syrup cooled, I melted the butter in it to absorb some of the warmth before I whisked it slowly into the eggs. Worked like a charm!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2010

      I've been making pecan pie for the holidays for about 35 years. I decided to give this one a try prior to the holidays (would hate to disappoint at Thanksgiving or Christmas). This has become my new pecan pie recipe! I love the gooey-ness of the filling. The smaller the pie plate, the thicker the filling (obviously) which makes it richer!! Amazing what a difference dissolving the sugar makes. Try it, you'll love it...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2010

      This is the 1st pecan pie that anyone in my immediate family has been able to cook in 40 years. It is delicious and easy. LOVED BY ALL! I am now the official "pecan pie maker" for the holidays!! Thank You so much!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2010

      Best pecan pie ever! Everyone loved this. I used a regular crust to make this, not a deep dish and it came out perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2011

      I used this recipe to make pecan pie bars with a sugar cookie crust. WOW!! Easy and wonderful...

      Thank you,

      PS I added a pinch of salt for balance, but that was it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2005

      OH... MY... HEAVENS... This was incredible!! I could not believe it! I love pecan pie and did not think there was anything else you could do to it to possibly make it better! Your recipe didn't mention it, but I melted my butter before I added it..?? I wasn't sure, so that's what I normally do. I used 2 cups of pecans because, frankly, the nuttier, the better! :) Thanks so much for this reciper, it is definetly a KEEPER!!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2013

      My sister had a pie bar around her KrispyKreme tower at her wedding reception and I was asked to contribute 2 pecan pies. I don't even love pecan pie, but met many people I didn't know because they wanted to let me know that they thought the pie was divine. Leftovers of every single pie on the bar, except for the pecan pie, and it was also the very first gone before some were even tried. Had a feeling it might go that way though, because I ended up making FOUR 'test runs' before the wedding, including a chocolate one with 1/2 cup cocoa, and they were all history by day's end. *Instead of vanilla (except in the case of the chocolate pecan pie I made), I used a teaspoon of maple flavoring and a tablespoon of bourbon and I baked all the pies for about 55mins.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2013

      This pecan pie tested great. I baked the pie until the center measured 200F on an instant read thermometer and it turned out wonderfully. I highly recommend cooking the sugar/syrup mixture prior to baking. I would recommend light brown sugar and clear corn syrup so the filling does not get too dark.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2013

      Pecan pie is my husband's very favorite pie. When Thanksgiving rolled around this year, I couldn't find my recipe box so turned to the computer recipes hoping for something that was equal to the pecan pies I have baked for 43 years for him. I not only found a recipe like it, but found a new twist in the boiling of sugars ahead of time. I put in more pecans and mix them in with the filling, as I always have. The results...even thicker and more gooey than ever!! My husband flipped & even had 2 pieces! Two days later and I'm making another! Needless to say, this is it from now on! Thanks P. Crocker!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2013

      Great recipe and if you want make it less deadly here is how I do it. I use the sugar sub instead of sugar and sugar free maple syrup instead of corn syrup. My picky hubby could not tell the difference between the sugar version and the sugar free.: )

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2010

      Think if this pie were a woman, I'd be jealous! My husband looked like he'd died and went to heaven eating this dessert... definitely and "utterly" delicious.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2009

      I guess I can't really rate this particular pie recipe, but I have adapted it into what is now my favorite COCONUT pie in the world! I only changed the corn syrup to all light and omitted the pecans for 2 cups of coconut. I bake 2 regular pies instead of a deep dish, and the coconut "candies" on top to a yummy crust. I also add about a 1/4 tsp. of butter flavoring along with the vanilla & sprinkle cinnamon on the pie crusts before pouring in the mix. It is fantastic!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2009

      Last Thanksgiving my pecan pie was runny so I was on the lookout for a new recipe. This fit the bill! I liked everything about it, it set up well and it was enjoyed by all. And raved about! I added a splash of vanilla to the corn syrup & sugar mix. I also used 2 cups of whole pecans rather than 1 1/2 broken. Like PCrocker, I used 1/2 light and 1/2 dark syrup. This was great, THANKS!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2007

      This was my first time making Pecan Pie and it turned out great! I told all my guests they had to give me feed back because I was no expert and a friend who considers himself a connoisseur of pecan pie said this was excellent! It was easy to make and it set up perfectly. My mixture looked very smooth so I did not strain it. The cooktime had me worried. I went 20 minutes over but think I could have gone 15 and been fine, I just didn't want a runny center. I left my pecans whole because it looks nicer but I can see where it would be easier to slice if the pecans are chopped. Very happy I picked this recipe to be my 1st - everyone loved it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2007

      No wonder this recipe has so many great reviews. This is the best Pecan Pie recipe. The only one I've made that has a firm filling. I did cook mine for 55 minutes. Thanks PCrocker for a terrfic recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2015

      This pie knocked our socks off! I made it as written the first time, and it was amazing!! I decided to try to lessen the sugar a bit to 3/4 cup and add a pinch of salt, and it was still great. This recipe is a keeper. Oh! And I used all light corn syrup, as we did not have any dark. Will have to try 1/2 light and 1/2 dark in the future :) Thank you so much for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2014

      PERFECT!!! The best ever... This is now my favorite pecan recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2014

      Didn't change a thing with this recipe. By far the best pecan pie recipe I've tried.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2014

      Fantastic Pie! This was my first pecan pie. I used 2 cups of pecans because I like my pecan pie on the nutty side. I didn't have dark corn syrup on hand, so I used all light corn syrup and brown sugar instead. I added 1/4 tsp salt to the recipe for balance. I also added a teaspoon of maple extract, and two Tablespoons of bourbon to the wet mixture--the Maple Bourbon Pecan Pie was "utterly deadly"!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2014

      This is by far one of the best pecan pies I have ever made. I made two for a rehearsal dinner and got raves on them. Easy, and delicious..will make this again and again. I'd give it a 10 star if I could. I made it exactly as written and it came out perfect, didn't change a thing. Made my own crust as well. This is truly a winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 7

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Utterly Deadly Southern Pecan Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (155 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 587.9
     
    Calories from Fat 255
    43%
    Total Fat 28.3 g
    43%
    Saturated Fat 7.4 g
    37%
    Cholesterol 108.2 mg
    36%
    Sodium 177.5 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 83.1 g
    27%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 42.0 g
    168%
    Protein 6.3 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes